$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160 Central Park South, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, Texas
Mar 23, 2010

Great location

This was a good hotel. The location of the hotel was close to a lot of fantastic landmarks and shops. Central Part was across the street, 5th avenue was about 3-5 blocks, columbus circle was 2 blocks away, subway was 2 blocks away. Times Square was a walking distance. The showers however were a bit smaller than other hotels I've stayed in. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, Md
Apr 5, 2011

Romantic weekend

No bottle opener in the room upon arrival and hot water in shower sporatic at best. The hotel itself was beautiful, great location and the staff was very helpful. This was my 8th trip to NY and my girlfriends first. We had a great time.I would definitely stay at this hotel again, it was great laying in bed hearing the horse drawn carriages on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton,FL
Nov 1, 2010

Good location & beautiful rooms

Hotel location is fantastic,room is beautiflly equiped with all needs. However there was no view other than looking at four walls outside my room. Also for hotel in this magintude there should be airport shuttle so you do not have to deal with NY taxi cap. I do recommend staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

time squar and broadway are within short nice walking destance and central park is cross the road.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 7, 2010

Met expectations

We chose the hotel based on the reviews posted in [...] as well as our liking the area and they were fully accurate as to the location, staff and hotel facilities which were top rate and good value for the amount charged in NYC. We did choose a very bad evening to stay since the next day was the NYC Marathon that caused problems in terms of finding a cab to get to the airport but the hotel staff was very helpful in resolving this difficult obstacle via the back door. On the other hand the excitement with that event at your front door would normally far offset that limitation in our case in which we needed to get to the airport late Sunday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something on vacation
Business
Michigan
Apr 3, 2010

Excellent Value - Excellent Location

Outstanding hotel....beautiful, art deco and refurbished...great family and business hotel! Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palada
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Oct 5, 2011

Christina frond desk was great

The view was grea, the bed, etc, the only problem was the closed to small, and they not replace the glass, plate etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The double than tax

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila PA
Feb 4, 2010

Great Location and Staff

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trot7
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Slightly run down

We've been coming to the Essex House for years, but this is the first time since 2009. It's a bit more run-down than it was before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GJDavis
Business
London, UK
Mar 28, 2012

NOT 5 star. Valuables got "lost"

Pretty poor. First room was dirty and the shower didn't drain so was left standing in a pool of dirt. Room was really small. When I called to complain was transferred to an endless ringing phone which no one picked up. Eventually changed room and left a valuable pen in the old room. Security could not find it and so it was "lost". The lobby was gorgeous but unfortunately that's where the luxury stops. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top