$314 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

South Gate
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Fineman
Los Angeles
May 8, 2013

A wedding to remember

Thank you so much to the staff of the Essex House. What a beautiful property! The art deco details, the service. the room. Everything was beautiful. And the location is not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyn Diner for celebrity sightings and great food!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warrenton, Va.
May 17, 2010

perfect location..superior service

I want to thank both the hotel management and [...]for allowing me to change my length of stay due tospecial circumstances. It gave me a good feeling about both. Gratefully, Marion Poynter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GotToGoThere
Cheshire
Jan 9, 2010

Couldn't Fault It

The location is great, right opposite central park and close to subway stations to get you to most places. There are plenty of places to get breakfast nearby for those who can't afford or are not willing to pay the hotels extortionate prices. The staff were friendly apart from a young guy (who was hired to stand near the elevator to direct people left or right because all elevators didn't go to all floors), he seemed to find it difficult to break a smile. The rooms were great with plenty of space and cleaned everyday and turned down every evening. You can make use of a free safe deposit box. We didn't make use of any of the hotel amenities such as the gym or restraunts so can't comment on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Jul 18, 2007

Great position

A top class hotel. Check-in took too long but that was due to a new system not yet mastered. The restaurant is a beautiful room and the food is excellent if quite expensive. The position on Central Park South is perfect for walking in the park and the shopping avenues. The air conditioning was set rather too fierce for me. It was chilly in the foyer bar. But I will certainly be returning there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I bought a weekly bus pass at $24 great value and fun.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jan 5, 2010

unbeatable price and perfect location

I used to live in the City and now travel back about 4 times a year. Each time I visit, I try a new hotel looking for the perfect one (location, clean, staff) I have found it in the Essex House. WOW talk about location...next to Central Park ( I mean accross the street!)I love to shop and this hotel is just about 8 blks from Saks and Bloomies and only 4 blocks from 57th where Chanel, YSL, Dior and Gucci are. It is also close to a shopping ctr where there is a faboulous Whole Foods, also walking distance to an array of fine restaurants like Tao on 57th and great breakfasts places as well....this hotel has it all and for a reasonable price. Down the street is the Ritz and Im sure it costs a ton more but probably looks the same inside!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bergdorfs around the corner!!! Saks and Bloomingdales a short nice walk!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Auburn
Jun 29, 2008

great location

Staff was great, ameneties were excellent. Location was great. Furniture in room seemed a bit outdated, but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

broadway is a short walk and central park is across the street.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Arab elegance continues New York finery

Recently remodelled rooms were elegant. We asked for and got an upgrade which was outstanding. Didn't try the restaurant nor athletic facilities. Lobby areas still grand. Couldn't quite figure out the lighting in the room as we didn't need a baggage handler to take us to our room and show us the new high tech mood modifying system. But we managed. Facing central park south we thought the room might be noisy, but on the 17th floor it was perfectly quiet. Lobby was a bit congested on this busy weekend. Long line at check in with only two clerks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park South is a grand location for strolls in the Park, cafes, restaurants, and elegant shopping. No bargains though. Breakfast at Sarabeths, one block directly East was worth going back.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wagnerite
Connecticut
May 2, 2010

Great for a night at the opera.

We live in Connecticut, and often visit the Met. We prefer matinees - since we can take the train, and see the opera, without the need to stay overnight. This year, the only Wagner opera at the Met didn't have a matinee, so we had to attend an evening performance. We chose the Essex because it was only a ten-minute walk from Lincoln Center, and because it offered some (relatively) low cost rooms for those of us who weren't interested in the view. Our room was clean, modern, and at the back of the hotel, looking out onto some interesting rooftops. It was pleasant to walk back to the hotel after a very good performance of Holländer, and then spend an hour in the bar, people-watching and sipping on our Riesling. Just like Bayreuth. Recommended for operagoers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a perfect base, if you are attending an evening performance at Lincoln Center.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
May 11, 2007

accomodating diners

the restauant staff was very understanding about my family's dining restrictions and prepared food to order not available on the menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street from central park. theatre district with walking distance.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2008

Never had such luxury

Ok, so my husband and I have been to NYC several times and usually stay with my brother, but this time wanted to have a romantic time in NYC. The location is amazing, only blocks away from times square, rockafeller center, across street from Central park, and fifth avenue!!! Felt like a queen in this safe, beautiful, amazing hotel. My brother came to visit us and couldn't even get past security to ride the elevators unless I came to get him!!! I loved that privacy and privacy because NYC is so full of random people that atleast you have the quiet enviroment of the hotel. The staff was amazing! Will stay again, despite the price, don't be fooled---spend the extra money, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnagie Hall

Back to menu Return to top