$305 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160 Central Park South, -, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2008

Never had such luxury

Ok, so my husband and I have been to NYC several times and usually stay with my brother, but this time wanted to have a romantic time in NYC. The location is amazing, only blocks away from times square, rockafeller center, across street from Central park, and fifth avenue!!! Felt like a queen in this safe, beautiful, amazing hotel. My brother came to visit us and couldn't even get past security to ride the elevators unless I came to get him!!! I loved that privacy and privacy because NYC is so full of random people that atleast you have the quiet enviroment of the hotel. The staff was amazing! Will stay again, despite the price, don't be fooled---spend the extra money, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnagie Hall

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Romance and pampering

Romantic hotel overlooking Central Park. Very courteous staff. Luxurious decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park across the street

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 2, 2008

Great Value Hotel on Central Park

25th Wedding annivesary trip....hotel is modern having had a refurbishment...luxury everywhere including flat screen on the wall. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Don't touch the fridge or nuts in the draw though...phew the price. Located with views overlooking the park and a 10min walk to the Broadway show.....We will stay here when we visit next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a day or week travel card from the underground station...cheapest way to travel PLUS Staton Island Ferry is FREE!!!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 2, 2007

Great for bussines helpfyl staff

This is a great hotel for location and staff are very helpfu. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Problems long waits at frort desk no coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great attractions nearby central park, MOMA and shopping

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Arab elegance continues New York finery

Recently remodelled rooms were elegant. We asked for and got an upgrade which was outstanding. Didn't try the restaurant nor athletic facilities. Lobby areas still grand. Couldn't quite figure out the lighting in the room as we didn't need a baggage handler to take us to our room and show us the new high tech mood modifying system. But we managed. Facing central park south we thought the room might be noisy, but on the 17th floor it was perfectly quiet. Lobby was a bit congested on this busy weekend. Long line at check in with only two clerks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park South is a grand location for strolls in the Park, cafes, restaurants, and elegant shopping. No bargains though. Breakfast at Sarabeths, one block directly East was worth going back.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 12, 2007

Excellent choice

The room was perfect in every way. The bed was incredibly comfortable. I found the business center staff particularly attentive and helpful. I plan to stay at the Essex House for all of my future New York trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is a short walk from Times Square. The subway is conveniently nearby.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2007

Perfect location

Essex House is a beautiful hotel across street from Central Park and within walking distance of theatre district and 5th avenue shopping. Our room had recently been redone and was very comfortable and well appointed. Room was spacious by NYC standards. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service and hotel restaurant prices were ridiculous but there are variety of eating establishments within short walk of hotel entrance. La Parisienne Coffee House which is around the corner on 7th Ave had good food, reasonable prices and quick service (cash only).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Essex House offers complimentary 'house car' which will provide transportation to locations within 10 blocks of the hotel. this would include most of the theatre district and 5th Avenue shops. Service is on a first come, first serve basis so was often unavailable when we needed it. Taxis were cheap with fare of $4-$6 to most theaters.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2007

Perfect location

Essex House is a beautiful hotel across street from Central Park and within walking distance of theatre district and 5th avenue shopping. Our room had recently been redone and was very comfortable and well appointed. Room was spacious by NYC standards. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service and hotel restaurant prices were ridiculous but there are variety of eating establishments within short walk of hotel entrance. La Parisienne Coffee House which is around the corner on 7th Ave had good food, reasonable prices and quick service (cash only).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Essex House offers complimentary 'house car' which will provide transportation to locations within 10 blocks of the hotel. this would include most of the theatre district and 5th Avenue shops. Service is on a first come, first serve basis so was often unavailable when we needed it. Taxis were cheap with fare of $4-$6 to most theaters.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 25, 2007

Great Location - Great Hotel

The Essex House was almost perfect for our recent stay in NYC. The staff was excellent from the doorman to the Concierge and the Housekeeping staff, everyone went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and we were always greeted by any staff member we passed by. We had a one bedroom suite with an interior view, and even though it would be nice to have a park view, this 14th floor room was so quiet that we had the luxury of sleeping in much later than we normally do. The large (600 square foot) suite was newly decorated and had the charm of the original historic hotel, along with beautiful art deco styled furniture and contemporary sink and luxurious marble shower. The bed was very comfortable with nice duvet and linens. The soft fluffy robes were like those in the finest spas. The sophisticated lighting mood controls could be accessed from the wall buttons or telephone system. The livingroom had a sofa sleeper, chair and large desk along with a walk in closet and large built in dresser with a safe, minibar and lots of storage. My wife and I felt that this was one of the nicest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The location was also perfect for us. On the edge of central park, it was a shortwalk to the Time Warner Center, which had great restaurants and shopping as well as Fifth Avenue for shopping and the Upper East Side for great restaurants. It was only a 20-25 minute walk to the Theaters in the Time Square area, with the crowds that made us glad we were staying on Central Park South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The minibar prices are outrageous, there is a newsstand on 7th avenue and 58th street that has cold soda for $1

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 21, 2007

Grat Location

The Essex House is right across the street from Central Park just a few steps away from Park benches shady tree and a chance to observe native N.Yorkers & fellow tourist, you are also within walking to famous shopping and Museums..a subway stop just around the corner. WE stayed in a newly renovated room with the most comfortable bed and luxuious sheets and down comforter, there was work desk but not a comfy chair for casual sitting(although there was a space for one and it might be added I meant to ask ) Next time I would request a Park view or any view room, ours looked onto a brick wall. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with Hotel matters and other personal difficulties we encountered. It was a great New York experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top