$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet lagged
Lancs UK
Jan 3, 2013

Superb location.

As none city people who like to dip our toes in to the hustle an bustle occasionally we chose Essex House for its proximity to Central Park to allow for escape time. It was perfect for accessing the city, being only a few blocks from Time Square, 5th Avenue etc while allowing for a stroll around the Park to wind down from the madness of New York. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. After reading reports about the size of rooms in New York I was expecting a tiny room. This is not the case. Very comfortable rooms, which after all are only a base. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maze at Gordon Ramsay's. great food in a relaxed setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opalos
Business
Argentina
Jun 22, 2012

Nice simmer times

Great location, friendly staff? I had a wonderfull experiencia. Gong around is easy. Nice restaurants, bar theaters in the area and the always refreshing green of the famous park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rest from the nosy city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Scougalls
Business
Essex House Hotel
Oct 25, 2012

Trip of a lifetime

Perfect location for central park and short walk to broadway and times square. Hotel was lovely and staff were very helpful but restaurant, room service and bar prices very expensive. Would definately recommend buying the New York Pass, we had a 3 day pass with bus tours included and we seen all the main attractions plus a few we may not have considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTo and E
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 4, 2013

birthday weekend

Great location. Nice rooms. Friendly and attentive staff. No coffee maker in room. Barking dogs down the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer reviewer
Business
Upstate NY
Dec 22, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel

Great location, walked everywhere (theater, great restaurants, shopping), excellent room and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Location, location...but at a cost!

First room they gave us was on a back street (58th Street)on the 7th floor and it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. They moved us up to the 17th floor the next night which was much better. Surely they've had complaints about noise on the south side of the hotel before, so they should have considered this when assigning our room at check-in, given that this is at least the 4th time in 12 months we've stayed with them...and they knew it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Blue, 158 West 58th St., just across from the 58th street hotel entrance, is great for drinks and hors d'ouvres - tapas. We ordered an assortment and skipped dinner...food was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan3121
Business
CA
Sep 11, 2011

A day in NYC

I took an overnight flight from LA to NY and came NY about 8 am.I requested a window seat,but i did't get it and bassicly i can say that Delta is not so good (to LA i was flying with Virgin and little details made this trip much more nice).In JFK i was trying to call carvel car company to give them number of my voucher - it took about 40 min (on line was that my call is very important for them...i don't recomend to use carvel, it took us about 2 hours to get to the hotel and driver wanted to pay me cash (i payed in advance) first, after he wanted tips very much and money for tools (we did't pass them). So i came to the hotel about 11 20 -11 30 and wanted to take a shouwer and go to a meeting, but my room was not ready and went to meeting and came about 1 pm - my room was ready.It is a good hotel very good lokaited,everything is nice, the only thing i did not like was sensetive mini bar (if you touch something it charges atomaticlly to your room), specialy if want to put your stuff in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 15, 2007

The remodeled rooms were ...

The remodeled rooms were beautiful and the staff and room service first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, Texas
Mar 23, 2010

Great location

This was a good hotel. The location of the hotel was close to a lot of fantastic landmarks and shops. Central Part was across the street, 5th avenue was about 3-5 blocks, columbus circle was 2 blocks away, subway was 2 blocks away. Times Square was a walking distance. The showers however were a bit smaller than other hotels I've stayed in. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, Md
Apr 5, 2011

Romantic weekend

No bottle opener in the room upon arrival and hot water in shower sporatic at best. The hotel itself was beautiful, great location and the staff was very helpful. This was my 8th trip to NY and my girlfriends first. We had a great time.I would definitely stay at this hotel again, it was great laying in bed hearing the horse drawn carriages on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top