$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blanton
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great Weekend Getaway

Great location just across the street from Cental Park. Restaurants in walking distace or a short cab ride. Close to shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Phillipe restaurant was absolutely great food and a short cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MExtravel
Business
México
Mar 22, 2012

Great Location

Best location in NY, great hotel, not the best housekeeping service... an excellent experience overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marea one block away... perfect dinning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raoul12
Business
Connecticut
Apr 10, 2012

Great Stay

The staff was competent and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable and the location is excellent. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opalos
Business
Argentina
Jun 22, 2012

Nice simmer times

Great location, friendly staff? I had a wonderfull experiencia. Gong around is easy. Nice restaurants, bar theaters in the area and the always refreshing green of the famous park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rest from the nosy city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Scougalls
Business
Essex House Hotel
Oct 25, 2012

Trip of a lifetime

Perfect location for central park and short walk to broadway and times square. Hotel was lovely and staff were very helpful but restaurant, room service and bar prices very expensive. Would definately recommend buying the New York Pass, we had a 3 day pass with bus tours included and we seen all the main attractions plus a few we may not have considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTo and E
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 4, 2013

birthday weekend

Great location. Nice rooms. Friendly and attentive staff. No coffee maker in room. Barking dogs down the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer reviewer
Business
Upstate NY
Dec 22, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel

Great location, walked everywhere (theater, great restaurants, shopping), excellent room and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Location, location...but at a cost!

First room they gave us was on a back street (58th Street)on the 7th floor and it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. They moved us up to the 17th floor the next night which was much better. Surely they've had complaints about noise on the south side of the hotel before, so they should have considered this when assigning our room at check-in, given that this is at least the 4th time in 12 months we've stayed with them...and they knew it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Blue, 158 West 58th St., just across from the 58th street hotel entrance, is great for drinks and hors d'ouvres - tapas. We ordered an assortment and skipped dinner...food was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan3121
Business
CA
Sep 11, 2011

A day in NYC

I took an overnight flight from LA to NY and came NY about 8 am.I requested a window seat,but i did't get it and bassicly i can say that Delta is not so good (to LA i was flying with Virgin and little details made this trip much more nice).In JFK i was trying to call carvel car company to give them number of my voucher - it took about 40 min (on line was that my call is very important for them...i don't recomend to use carvel, it took us about 2 hours to get to the hotel and driver wanted to pay me cash (i payed in advance) first, after he wanted tips very much and money for tools (we did't pass them). So i came to the hotel about 11 20 -11 30 and wanted to take a shouwer and go to a meeting, but my room was not ready and went to meeting and came about 1 pm - my room was ready.It is a good hotel very good lokaited,everything is nice, the only thing i did not like was sensetive mini bar (if you touch something it charges atomaticlly to your room), specialy if want to put your stuff in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 15, 2007

The remodeled rooms were ...

The remodeled rooms were beautiful and the staff and room service first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top