$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
77 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

SOUTHGATE Bar & Restaurant
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raoul12
Connecticut
Apr 10, 2012

Great Stay

The staff was competent and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable and the location is excellent. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opalos
Argentina
Jun 22, 2012

Nice simmer times

Great location, friendly staff? I had a wonderfull experiencia. Gong around is easy. Nice restaurants, bar theaters in the area and the always refreshing green of the famous park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rest from the nosy city

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Scougalls
Essex House Hotel
Oct 25, 2012

Trip of a lifetime

Perfect location for central park and short walk to broadway and times square. Hotel was lovely and staff were very helpful but restaurant, room service and bar prices very expensive. Would definately recommend buying the New York Pass, we had a 3 day pass with bus tours included and we seen all the main attractions plus a few we may not have considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTo and E
Massachusetts
Feb 4, 2013

birthday weekend

Great location. Nice rooms. Friendly and attentive staff. No coffee maker in room. Barking dogs down the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer reviewer
Upstate NY
Dec 22, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel

Great location, walked everywhere (theater, great restaurants, shopping), excellent room and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Location, location...but at a cost!

First room they gave us was on a back street (58th Street)on the 7th floor and it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. They moved us up to the 17th floor the next night which was much better. Surely they've had complaints about noise on the south side of the hotel before, so they should have considered this when assigning our room at check-in, given that this is at least the 4th time in 12 months we've stayed with them...and they knew it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Blue, 158 West 58th St., just across from the 58th street hotel entrance, is great for drinks and hors d'ouvres - tapas. We ordered an assortment and skipped dinner...food was excellent!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan3121
CA
Sep 11, 2011

A day in NYC

I took an overnight flight from LA to NY and came NY about 8 am.I requested a window seat,but i did't get it and bassicly i can say that Delta is not so good (to LA i was flying with Virgin and little details made this trip much more nice).In JFK i was trying to call carvel car company to give them number of my voucher - it took about 40 min (on line was that my call is very important for them...i don't recomend to use carvel, it took us about 2 hours to get to the hotel and driver wanted to pay me cash (i payed in advance) first, after he wanted tips very much and money for tools (we did't pass them). So i came to the hotel about 11 20 -11 30 and wanted to take a shouwer and go to a meeting, but my room was not ready and went to meeting and came about 1 pm - my room was ready.It is a good hotel very good lokaited,everything is nice, the only thing i did not like was sensetive mini bar (if you touch something it charges atomaticlly to your room), specialy if want to put your stuff in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 15, 2007

The remodeled rooms were ...

The remodeled rooms were beautiful and the staff and room service first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McAllen, Texas
Mar 23, 2010

Great location

This was a good hotel. The location of the hotel was close to a lot of fantastic landmarks and shops. Central Part was across the street, 5th avenue was about 3-5 blocks, columbus circle was 2 blocks away, subway was 2 blocks away. Times Square was a walking distance. The showers however were a bit smaller than other hotels I've stayed in. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search