$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

South Gate
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
KKCD
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
SF, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Good for vacation with family

business and family vacation; nice service; it is good memory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 1, 2009

Really comfortable

I was in town for business for one night and needed a quiet room for sleep and work. The renovated rooms are well laid-out and spotlessly clean. The bed is super-comfortable. The lighting takes some getting used to but is very cool - the lights are on switches that make them fade off. Really enjoyed my stay - probably my 10th time there - will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Location, location...but at a cost!

First room they gave us was on a back street (58th Street)on the 7th floor and it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. They moved us up to the 17th floor the next night which was much better. Surely they've had complaints about noise on the south side of the hotel before, so they should have considered this when assigning our room at check-in, given that this is at least the 4th time in 12 months we've stayed with them...and they knew it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Blue, 158 West 58th St., just across from the 58th street hotel entrance, is great for drinks and hors d'ouvres - tapas. We ordered an assortment and skipped dinner...food was excellent!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Mengkofen
Jul 27, 2008

staff very helpful and friendly, very upscale property, great view, nice rooms

I have been to many JUMEIRAH hotels this was the best and for sure the best hotel in all over New York (Manhattan) i have ever stayed at. The room where big, nice park view in the room that i had and the bar was just an eye catcher. Very nice, up scaled property. Don;t forget the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on 5th Avenue only 2 blocks away.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Auburn
Jun 29, 2008

great location

Staff was great, ameneties were excellent. Location was great. Furniture in room seemed a bit outdated, but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

broadway is a short walk and central park is across the street.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jun 23, 2008

Comfortable, classy room near everything

The Jumeirah Essex House worked out perfect for our first stay in New York. It was a brief trip so it was nice to be right next to Central Park & only a block or so from the subway. The hotel is right next to the New York Athletic Club which really impressed my husband. I was very pleased with the cleanliness & size of our room. I would definitely stay at the Essex again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park steps away.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2008

Never had such luxury

Ok, so my husband and I have been to NYC several times and usually stay with my brother, but this time wanted to have a romantic time in NYC. The location is amazing, only blocks away from times square, rockafeller center, across street from Central park, and fifth avenue!!! Felt like a queen in this safe, beautiful, amazing hotel. My brother came to visit us and couldn't even get past security to ride the elevators unless I came to get him!!! I loved that privacy and privacy because NYC is so full of random people that atleast you have the quiet enviroment of the hotel. The staff was amazing! Will stay again, despite the price, don't be fooled---spend the extra money, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnagie Hall

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Romance and pampering

Romantic hotel overlooking Central Park. Very courteous staff. Luxurious decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park across the street

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Mar 2, 2008

Great Value Hotel on Central Park

25th Wedding annivesary trip....hotel is modern having had a refurbishment...luxury everywhere including flat screen on the wall. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Don't touch the fridge or nuts in the draw though...phew the price. Located with views overlooking the park and a 10min walk to the Broadway show.....We will stay here when we visit next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a day or week travel card from the underground station...cheapest way to travel PLUS Staton Island Ferry is FREE!!!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 2, 2007

Great for bussines helpfyl staff

This is a great hotel for location and staff are very helpfu. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Problems long waits at frort desk no coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great attractions nearby central park, MOMA and shopping

Back to menu Return to top