$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160 Central Park South, -, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet lagged
Couples
Lancs UK
Jan 3, 2013

Superb location.

As none city people who like to dip our toes in to the hustle an bustle occasionally we chose Essex House for its proximity to Central Park to allow for escape time. It was perfect for accessing the city, being only a few blocks from Time Square, 5th Avenue etc while allowing for a stroll around the Park to wind down from the madness of New York. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. After reading reports about the size of rooms in New York I was expecting a tiny room. This is not the case. Very comfortable rooms, which after all are only a base. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maze at Gordon Ramsay's. great food in a relaxed setting.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bijou Baby
Couples
Nashville, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Perfect in Many Ways

I was very car sick when I checked in. The staff took very good care of me and got me comfortable. Love being near the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Warrenton, Va.
May 17, 2010

perfect location..superior service

I want to thank both the hotel management and [...]for allowing me to change my length of stay due tospecial circumstances. It gave me a good feeling about both. Gratefully, Marion Poynter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Long Island, NY
May 10, 2010

A very happy camper!

As a native New Yorker I was looking for a unique way to spend a weekend with my wife for a 'milestone' birthday celebration. I decided to make the Essex House the cornerstone of a really wonderful NYC experience and it did not disappoint. I booked a central park view room and the view was like nothing else in the world. The room was beautifully appointed and the staff very attentive to our every need. Among many, many others, the nicest touches were a complimentary NY Times daily and, don't laugh, a full size umbrella in the closet. While fortunately we did not need it this weekend there have been many times in the past when this would have been very handy to have. Those small touches really go a long way to well traveled guests and were very welcome. We arrived in the City Friday, walked through the Park to the Met, took in the Picasso exhibit (a must see) and had dinner at Citrus on the upper west side (very good). Saturday was breakfast at the Brooklyn Diner on 57th, a matinee performance of South Pacific and dinner at Porter House in the Time Warner Center. I highly recommend all! I was actually able to register for a 4 mile run in the Park Sunday morning. Having raced in the Park before, there is nothing like walking out of the Essex House and up to the starting line. Fabulous! After checking out we did some shopping and took in one of the many street fairs that day and then back to Long Island. It was the Essex House that was the center of our perfect weekend and brought all these wonderful experiences right to our doorstep. Great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wagnerite
Couples
Connecticut
May 2, 2010

Great for a night at the opera.

We live in Connecticut, and often visit the Met. We prefer matinees - since we can take the train, and see the opera, without the need to stay overnight. This year, the only Wagner opera at the Met didn't have a matinee, so we had to attend an evening performance. We chose the Essex because it was only a ten-minute walk from Lincoln Center, and because it offered some (relatively) low cost rooms for those of us who weren't interested in the view. Our room was clean, modern, and at the back of the hotel, looking out onto some interesting rooftops. It was pleasant to walk back to the hotel after a very good performance of Holländer, and then spend an hour in the bar, people-watching and sipping on our Riesling. Just like Bayreuth. Recommended for operagoers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a perfect base, if you are attending an evening performance at Lincoln Center.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JF33813
Family
Lakeland, FL
Apr 4, 2010

Great location, helpful staff!

We stayed there for 7 days this last time so I feel like I can speak with a better understanding of what makes it so great. First, the obvious - a great location at the south end of Central Park...just beautiful and steps to just about everything. Less obvious is the staff. Several times they were helpful in unobtrusive manners from lending us two large umbrellas, no questions asked when both of ours blew up at the same time, to sending up two bandages when my daughter developed blisters on her feet from all of the walking. There was no "attitude" just great service. My daughter, who is slightly autistic, was visiting New York for the first time and the staff was just wonderful without making her feel like the "strange" kid. I apologize for going on but the hotel's staff made it special. Yes, I would highly recommend Jumeriah Essex House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli is a must visit. If you have never gone before, be aware that part of their shtick is that the sandwiches, which are divine, are huge...no, I mean two-three people per sandwich huge...that said, I love the food and ambience...must visit it!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something on vacation
Family
Michigan
Apr 3, 2010

Excellent Value - Excellent Location

Outstanding hotel....beautiful, art deco and refurbished...great family and business hotel! Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
McAllen, Texas
Mar 23, 2010

Great location

This was a good hotel. The location of the hotel was close to a lot of fantastic landmarks and shops. Central Part was across the street, 5th avenue was about 3-5 blocks, columbus circle was 2 blocks away, subway was 2 blocks away. Times Square was a walking distance. The showers however were a bit smaller than other hotels I've stayed in. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Durham, NC
Mar 2, 2010

New York Trip

Ideal location with walking access to Lincoln Center, dining, theaters, shopping and Central Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phila PA
Feb 4, 2010

Great Location and Staff

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GotToGoThere
Couples
Cheshire
Jan 9, 2010

Couldn't Fault It

The location is great, right opposite central park and close to subway stations to get you to most places. There are plenty of places to get breakfast nearby for those who can't afford or are not willing to pay the hotels extortionate prices. The staff were friendly apart from a young guy (who was hired to stand near the elevator to direct people left or right because all elevators didn't go to all floors), he seemed to find it difficult to break a smile. The rooms were great with plenty of space and cleaned everyday and turned down every evening. You can make use of a free safe deposit box. We didn't make use of any of the hotel amenities such as the gym or restraunts so can't comment on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top