$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

South Gate
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Christmas Trip Traveller
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2011

Great looks but not really livable

The hotel looks really elegant. The lobby area offers an afternoon tea as well as a bar and is staffed by at least 10-12 people to help with whatever your needs might be. The convenient location is a bonus since it is very close to bus and subway lines as well as the Central Park carriages (both horse-drawn and bike). The room appears equally elegant but it has some real issues with regard to actually using the room. - The bed is very comfortable and there are an abundance of pillows of varying sizes and firmness. - Dispite the thermostat being set at 68 degrees, the temperature in the room at night ranged from 68 degrees to 76 degrees. - Internet is an extra $15/day/device. If you have two computers, you should expect to pay $30/day. If you have one computer but you use it both wired and wireless, you can expect to also pay $30/day since the hotel considers these to be separate machines. Yes, you can negotiate with the front desk but in a hotel of this quality, I expected free internet. - The internet cable is 12" long. It is 36" to the kneehole in the desk so you cannot use the wired connection without banging your knees on the cabinet. - We had a junior suite which included a pull-out couch. While our reservation indicated 3 people staying in the room, there was no blanket for the sofabed. It took over an hour for the blanket to be delivered. - Once the sofabed was pulled out, the room was reduced to narrow alleys for walking. - If you wanted to watch TV on the beautiful large TV from the couch, everything was great. If you wanted to watch TV from the bed, you had to rotate the screen around to get the remote to work and to see the screen. This is laid out such that if someone needs to go past the TV, say to get to the bathroom, the TV screen must be moved because there is not enough room to walk past it with the sofabed out. - There is no way to make the room dark. Lights are controlled primarily from the door albeit there is a mood light built into the bed's headboard. If one wants to read, one has to get out of bed to turn off the lights. Once all the lights are off, the lightswitches act as nightlights. Nice idea, but this leaves the room fairly well illuminated with no way for a guest to darken the room. The phone also randomly lights up and it is quite bright. - Showers should not require an intelligence test to use. They should also provide ample hot water. I had the hot water maxed but still found the water tepid. - The toilet has a phone next to it right at elbow level. It's on the same side as the toilet paper roll so it kept getting knocked off the hook. - There is no coffee pot in the room nor a refridgerator. - One maid service got us 3 large, wonderful towels and 5 sets of hand towels and washcloths. Another maid service got us 5 large towels and two sets of hand towels and washcloths. The bottom line is that if you are looking for a hotel that in beautiful, this is a great hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that is functional, this is a very expensive hotel that gives less thought to the guest's use of the room than a mid-priced hotel. I'm not sure that it met our needs well enough for us to pay this much money again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Christmas Trip Traveller
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2011

Great looks but not really livable

The hotel looks really elegant. The lobby area offers an afternoon tea as well as a bar and is staffed by at least 10-12 people to help with whatever your needs might be. The convenient location is a bonus since it is very close to bus and subway lines as well as the Central Park carriages (both horse-drawn and bike). The room appears equally elegant but it has some real issues with regard to actually using the room. - The bed is very comfortable and there are an abundance of pillows of varying sizes and firmness. - Dispite the thermostat being set at 68 degrees, the temperature in the room at night ranged from 68 degrees to 76 degrees. - Internet is an extra $15/day/device. If you have two computers, you should expect to pay $30/day. If you have one computer but you use it both wired and wireless, you can expect to also pay $30/day since the hotel considers these to be separate machines. Yes, you can negotiate with the front desk but in a hotel of this quality, I expected free internet. - The internet cable is 12" long. It is 36" to the kneehole in the desk so you cannot use the wired connection without banging your knees on the cabinet. - We had a junior suite which included a pull-out couch. While our reservation indicated 3 people staying in the room, there was no blanket for the sofabed. It took over an hour for the blanket to be delivered. - Once the sofabed was pulled out, the room was reduced to narrow alleys for walking. - If you wanted to watch TV on the beautiful large TV from the couch, everything was great. If you wanted to watch TV from the bed, you had to rotate the screen around to get the remote to work and to see the screen. This is laid out such that if someone needs to go past the TV, say to get to the bathroom, the TV screen must be moved because there is not enough room to walk past it with the sofabed out. - There is no way to make the room dark. Lights are controlled primarily from the door albeit there is a mood light built into the bed's headboard. If one wants to read, one has to get out of bed to turn off the lights. Once all the lights are off, the lightswitches act as nightlights. Nice idea, but this leaves the room fairly well illuminated with no way for a guest to darken the room. The phone also randomly lights up and it is quite bright. - Showers should not require an intelligence test to use. They should also provide ample hot water. I had the hot water maxed but still found the water tepid. - The toilet has a phone next to it right at elbow level. It's on the same side as the toilet paper roll so it kept getting knocked off the hook. - There is no coffee pot in the room nor a refridgerator. - One maid service got us 3 large, wonderful towels and 5 sets of hand towels and washcloths. Another maid service got us 5 large towels and two sets of hand towels and washcloths. The bottom line is that if you are looking for a hotel that in beautiful, this is a great hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that is functional, this is a very expensive hotel that gives less thought to the guest's use of the room than a mid-priced hotel. I'm not sure that it met our needs well enough for us to pay this much money again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
Dec 7, 2010

Met expectations

We chose the hotel based on the reviews posted in [...] as well as our liking the area and they were fully accurate as to the location, staff and hotel facilities which were top rate and good value for the amount charged in NYC. We did choose a very bad evening to stay since the next day was the NYC Marathon that caused problems in terms of finding a cab to get to the airport but the hotel staff was very helpful in resolving this difficult obstacle via the back door. On the other hand the excitement with that event at your front door would normally far offset that limitation in our case in which we needed to get to the airport late Sunday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
Dec 7, 2010

Met expectations

We chose the hotel based on the reviews posted in [...] as well as our liking the area and they were fully accurate as to the location, staff and hotel facilities which were top rate and good value for the amount charged in NYC. We did choose a very bad evening to stay since the next day was the NYC Marathon that caused problems in terms of finding a cab to get to the airport but the hotel staff was very helpful in resolving this difficult obstacle via the back door. On the other hand the excitement with that event at your front door would normally far offset that limitation in our case in which we needed to get to the airport late Sunday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton,FL
Nov 1, 2010

Good location & beautiful rooms

Hotel location is fantastic,room is beautiflly equiped with all needs. However there was no view other than looking at four walls outside my room. Also for hotel in this magintude there should be airport shuttle so you do not have to deal with NY taxi cap. I do recommend staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

time squar and broadway are within short nice walking destance and central park is cross the road.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton,FL
Nov 1, 2010

Good location & beautiful rooms

Hotel location is fantastic,room is beautiflly equiped with all needs. However there was no view other than looking at four walls outside my room. Also for hotel in this magintude there should be airport shuttle so you do not have to deal with NY taxi cap. I do recommend staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

time squar and broadway are within short nice walking destance and central park is cross the road.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bijou Baby
Nashville, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Perfect in Many Ways

I was very car sick when I checked in. The staff took very good care of me and got me comfortable. Love being near the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bijou Baby
Nashville, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Perfect in Many Ways

I was very car sick when I checked in. The staff took very good care of me and got me comfortable. Love being near the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top