$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver colorado
Apr 25, 2011

a wonderfulexperience .

near central park, reasonable dining within a two block radius. room well decorated & modern ; hotel staff helpful & polite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to catch specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 17, 2011

Not very good. Service stinks

Nice room. Horrible service. Housekeeping poor tv and Internet did not work. Hotel knew itbwas our 35lth anniversary and they said and did nothing. Plumbing blocked. Shower head flew off. Don't bother staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 5, 2011

Love this hotel!

Ran the More Half-Maratho on Sunday. This hotel is so conveniently located right across the street from Central Park. The staff could notbe nicer or more knowledgeable. The bar is great. The hotelrooms are spacious and extremely clean. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great inexpensive restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, Md
Apr 5, 2011

Romantic weekend

No bottle opener in the room upon arrival and hot water in shower sporatic at best. The hotel itself was beautiful, great location and the staff was very helpful. This was my 8th trip to NY and my girlfriends first. We had a great time.I would definitely stay at this hotel again, it was great laying in bed hearing the horse drawn carriages on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2011

If you are looking for quality

From the second you enter the door, you are in a place of taste and style. I travel quite a bit and it does not get better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Christmas Trip Traveller
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2011

Great looks but not really livable

The hotel looks really elegant. The lobby area offers an afternoon tea as well as a bar and is staffed by at least 10-12 people to help with whatever your needs might be. The convenient location is a bonus since it is very close to bus and subway lines as well as the Central Park carriages (both horse-drawn and bike). The room appears equally elegant but it has some real issues with regard to actually using the room. - The bed is very comfortable and there are an abundance of pillows of varying sizes and firmness. - Dispite the thermostat being set at 68 degrees, the temperature in the room at night ranged from 68 degrees to 76 degrees. - Internet is an extra $15/day/device. If you have two computers, you should expect to pay $30/day. If you have one computer but you use it both wired and wireless, you can expect to also pay $30/day since the hotel considers these to be separate machines. Yes, you can negotiate with the front desk but in a hotel of this quality, I expected free internet. - The internet cable is 12" long. It is 36" to the kneehole in the desk so you cannot use the wired connection without banging your knees on the cabinet. - We had a junior suite which included a pull-out couch. While our reservation indicated 3 people staying in the room, there was no blanket for the sofabed. It took over an hour for the blanket to be delivered. - Once the sofabed was pulled out, the room was reduced to narrow alleys for walking. - If you wanted to watch TV on the beautiful large TV from the couch, everything was great. If you wanted to watch TV from the bed, you had to rotate the screen around to get the remote to work and to see the screen. This is laid out such that if someone needs to go past the TV, say to get to the bathroom, the TV screen must be moved because there is not enough room to walk past it with the sofabed out. - There is no way to make the room dark. Lights are controlled primarily from the door albeit there is a mood light built into the bed's headboard. If one wants to read, one has to get out of bed to turn off the lights. Once all the lights are off, the lightswitches act as nightlights. Nice idea, but this leaves the room fairly well illuminated with no way for a guest to darken the room. The phone also randomly lights up and it is quite bright. - Showers should not require an intelligence test to use. They should also provide ample hot water. I had the hot water maxed but still found the water tepid. - The toilet has a phone next to it right at elbow level. It's on the same side as the toilet paper roll so it kept getting knocked off the hook. - There is no coffee pot in the room nor a refridgerator. - One maid service got us 3 large, wonderful towels and 5 sets of hand towels and washcloths. Another maid service got us 5 large towels and two sets of hand towels and washcloths. The bottom line is that if you are looking for a hotel that in beautiful, this is a great hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that is functional, this is a very expensive hotel that gives less thought to the guest's use of the room than a mid-priced hotel. I'm not sure that it met our needs well enough for us to pay this much money again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 7, 2010

Met expectations

We chose the hotel based on the reviews posted in [...] as well as our liking the area and they were fully accurate as to the location, staff and hotel facilities which were top rate and good value for the amount charged in NYC. We did choose a very bad evening to stay since the next day was the NYC Marathon that caused problems in terms of finding a cab to get to the airport but the hotel staff was very helpful in resolving this difficult obstacle via the back door. On the other hand the excitement with that event at your front door would normally far offset that limitation in our case in which we needed to get to the airport late Sunday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton,FL
Nov 1, 2010

Good location & beautiful rooms

Hotel location is fantastic,room is beautiflly equiped with all needs. However there was no view other than looking at four walls outside my room. Also for hotel in this magintude there should be airport shuttle so you do not have to deal with NY taxi cap. I do recommend staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

time squar and broadway are within short nice walking destance and central park is cross the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bijou Baby
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Perfect in Many Ways

I was very car sick when I checked in. The staff took very good care of me and got me comfortable. Love being near the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top