$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet lagged
Lancs UK
Jan 3, 2013

Superb location.

As none city people who like to dip our toes in to the hustle an bustle occasionally we chose Essex House for its proximity to Central Park to allow for escape time. It was perfect for accessing the city, being only a few blocks from Time Square, 5th Avenue etc while allowing for a stroll around the Park to wind down from the madness of New York. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. After reading reports about the size of rooms in New York I was expecting a tiny room. This is not the case. Very comfortable rooms, which after all are only a base. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maze at Gordon Ramsay's. great food in a relaxed setting.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan3121
Business
CA
Sep 11, 2011

A day in NYC

I took an overnight flight from LA to NY and came NY about 8 am.I requested a window seat,but i did't get it and bassicly i can say that Delta is not so good (to LA i was flying with Virgin and little details made this trip much more nice).In JFK i was trying to call carvel car company to give them number of my voucher - it took about 40 min (on line was that my call is very important for them...i don't recomend to use carvel, it took us about 2 hours to get to the hotel and driver wanted to pay me cash (i payed in advance) first, after he wanted tips very much and money for tools (we did't pass them). So i came to the hotel about 11 20 -11 30 and wanted to take a shouwer and go to a meeting, but my room was not ready and went to meeting and came about 1 pm - my room was ready.It is a good hotel very good lokaited,everything is nice, the only thing i did not like was sensetive mini bar (if you touch something it charges atomaticlly to your room), specialy if want to put your stuff in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 15, 2007

The remodeled rooms were ...

The remodeled rooms were beautiful and the staff and room service first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, Texas
Mar 23, 2010

Great location

This was a good hotel. The location of the hotel was close to a lot of fantastic landmarks and shops. Central Part was across the street, 5th avenue was about 3-5 blocks, columbus circle was 2 blocks away, subway was 2 blocks away. Times Square was a walking distance. The showers however were a bit smaller than other hotels I've stayed in. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLAalum01
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location - Clean Rooms!

This hotel was one of the best ones I've stayed in in NY. Great location - walking distance to 5th Avenue and across the street from Central Park. Rooms were clean and big for NY style. Bed was very comfortable. No street noise in room but you did hear neighbors door slams and talking in hallway which was the only annoying thing. Bathrooms great - big and clean. Room service was ok- way expensive for the amount of food. Not amazing quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Le Pain Quotidien for great breakfast/brunch food! on 58th street -one block from hotel.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, Md
Apr 5, 2011

Romantic weekend

No bottle opener in the room upon arrival and hot water in shower sporatic at best. The hotel itself was beautiful, great location and the staff was very helpful. This was my 8th trip to NY and my girlfriends first. We had a great time.I would definitely stay at this hotel again, it was great laying in bed hearing the horse drawn carriages on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton,FL
Nov 1, 2010

Good location & beautiful rooms

Hotel location is fantastic,room is beautiflly equiped with all needs. However there was no view other than looking at four walls outside my room. Also for hotel in this magintude there should be airport shuttle so you do not have to deal with NY taxi cap. I do recommend staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

time squar and broadway are within short nice walking destance and central park is cross the road.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 7, 2010

Met expectations

We chose the hotel based on the reviews posted in [...] as well as our liking the area and they were fully accurate as to the location, staff and hotel facilities which were top rate and good value for the amount charged in NYC. We did choose a very bad evening to stay since the next day was the NYC Marathon that caused problems in terms of finding a cab to get to the airport but the hotel staff was very helpful in resolving this difficult obstacle via the back door. On the other hand the excitement with that event at your front door would normally far offset that limitation in our case in which we needed to get to the airport late Sunday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something on vacation
Business
Michigan
Apr 3, 2010

Excellent Value - Excellent Location

Outstanding hotel....beautiful, art deco and refurbished...great family and business hotel! Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palada
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Oct 5, 2011

Christina frond desk was great

The view was grea, the bed, etc, the only problem was the closed to small, and they not replace the glass, plate etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The double than tax

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila PA
Feb 4, 2010

Great Location and Staff

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top