$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160 Central Park South, -, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raoul12
Couples
Connecticut
Apr 10, 2012

Great Stay

The staff was competent and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable and the location is excellent. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GJDavis
Family
London, UK
Mar 28, 2012

NOT 5 star. Valuables got "lost"

Pretty poor. First room was dirty and the shower didn't drain so was left standing in a pool of dirt. Room was really small. When I called to complain was transferred to an endless ringing phone which no one picked up. Eventually changed room and left a valuable pen in the old room. Security could not find it and so it was "lost". The lobby was gorgeous but unfortunately that's where the luxury stops. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MExtravel
Family
México
Mar 22, 2012

Great Location

Best location in NY, great hotel, not the best housekeeping service... an excellent experience overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marea one block away... perfect dinning

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trot7
Couples
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Slightly run down

We've been coming to the Essex House for years, but this is the first time since 2009. It's a bit more run-down than it was before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lilliane
Business
Mexico
Mar 18, 2012

My experience at the Jumeirah Essex House

Well,first night I stayed in a room facing the air conditioning system and it was like being in an airplane all night. I asked for another room and I was moved to a room facing 58 street, where they say the noise will be solved, but those rooms are smaller than the one I paid for. Using the air conditioning inside the room was very noisy like broken, the hotel is a bad refurbished old pit. Not comming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raffy
Couples
New York, NY
Mar 14, 2012

Romantic Escape

It was the great value and pampering we expected. My only suggestion is that a small easy chair should be placed in the room for reading / watching TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lupus
Couples
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Million-Dollar View

My wife and I enjoyed our 3 nights at Jumeirah Essex House from the first to the last minute. We had booked a room with Central Park view and that we got. It was a nice and recently renovated room, however, it was on the fifth floor and we were looking at the trees. So I asked for a room on a higher floor and the hotel accommodated us with a great room on the 14th floor overlooking the whole park. Perfect. Internet is not free. South Gate, the hotel restaurant, is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrossian in the landmark Alwyn Court building for lunch or dinner.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yetts
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great hotel

We had a great time. Perfect location, big room, anything needed was close by. Will return for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Minetta tavern, great burgers, awesome ambiance open till 2 am. Great to go after the theatre. Staton Social, trendy, great restaurant. Tapas style

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blanton
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great Weekend Getaway

Great location just across the street from Cental Park. Restaurants in walking distace or a short cab ride. Close to shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Phillipe restaurant was absolutely great food and a short cab ride away.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palada
Couples
Miami, FL, EEUU
Oct 5, 2011

Christina frond desk was great

The view was grea, the bed, etc, the only problem was the closed to small, and they not replace the glass, plate etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The double than tax

Back to menu Return to top