$287 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluetang11
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jun 19, 2013

Apart from the location, not so good...

First I would like to say the location is excellent. Apart from that, I would not recommend the hotel to my friends. For my stay, I am arriving early @8 am , so I call them and let them know ahead of time we wish to have early checkin "if possible". The person on the phone, was kinda rude, saying this hotel don't do early checkin, if the room is available, then we can check in. It's understandable, but I explain to him I just want him to make a note, so if there's room available, they can accommodate. The tone is not friendly at all. I then told the person it's my 10 year anniversary weekend with my partner. If there's any room at higher floor that would be nice. He said sure, i'll add to the note. When we arrive, we were able to checkin early. We did not expect room upgrade or anything as we will be out and about most time anyway. Not a word from the front desk person saying Happy Anniversary or anything like that. I bet no notes were added to the computer at all. The Room itself its ok. Bed is comfortable. Then it comes the washroom. When you take a shower, you're standing in 1 feet of water, the water doesn't drain properly. It takes 15 mins to drain after each shower. I went to the front desk and let them know on our way out. They said they will send someone. But when we take a shower at night, the drain is blocked like before. At this point, I didn't brother asking them again. As we are only staying 2 nights. When we check out, we left the luggage with them for the day. After they handed us the tag, our luggage is left on luggage cart for over 12 mins unattended while the bell boy run around helping other people. Anyone could have walk up and pick up our luggage. Since we have some valuable items and a vintage hermes bag, we waited till they push the cart somewhere. I don't think this hotel can be 5 stars base on staff and the fact that you need to stand in 1 feet of dirty water when you shower. The staff did not really care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAF1234
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 29, 2013

Too expensive for location/Access to taxis

The hotel was clean and nice but it had very little in the way of amenities and it is virtually impossible to catch a cab from the hotel. Not even the bellman could hail one. We were late for a show despite going out to hail a cab an HOUR before show time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Fineman
Business
Los Angeles
May 8, 2013

A wedding to remember

Thank you so much to the staff of the Essex House. What a beautiful property! The art deco details, the service. the room. Everything was beautiful. And the location is not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyn Diner for celebrity sightings and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTo and E
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 4, 2013

birthday weekend

Great location. Nice rooms. Friendly and attentive staff. No coffee maker in room. Barking dogs down the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet lagged
Business
Lancs UK
Jan 3, 2013

Superb location.

As none city people who like to dip our toes in to the hustle an bustle occasionally we chose Essex House for its proximity to Central Park to allow for escape time. It was perfect for accessing the city, being only a few blocks from Time Square, 5th Avenue etc while allowing for a stroll around the Park to wind down from the madness of New York. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. After reading reports about the size of rooms in New York I was expecting a tiny room. This is not the case. Very comfortable rooms, which after all are only a base. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maze at Gordon Ramsay's. great food in a relaxed setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Scougalls
Business
Essex House Hotel
Oct 25, 2012

Trip of a lifetime

Perfect location for central park and short walk to broadway and times square. Hotel was lovely and staff were very helpful but restaurant, room service and bar prices very expensive. Would definately recommend buying the New York Pass, we had a 3 day pass with bus tours included and we seen all the main attractions plus a few we may not have considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
Business
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young fellow
Business
White Plains, NY 10607
Jul 2, 2012

A satisfying (exhilarating) experience.

My wife, grandkids and I enjoyed our stay at your hotel, notwithstanding the fact that we were inconvenienced by the power being shut down and us not being ble to get in and out of our rooms without the aid the hotel security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opalos
Business
Argentina
Jun 22, 2012

Nice simmer times

Great location, friendly staff? I had a wonderfull experiencia. Gong around is easy. Nice restaurants, bar theaters in the area and the always refreshing green of the famous park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rest from the nosy city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
13chairs
Business
Foster Cityy
Jun 11, 2012

Classic Hotel

This is a classic well appointed hotel right on Central Avenue Parkway. Our room was large and well appointed with all the amenities. The staff was extremely pleasant and ready to please. The location made touring New York a breeze. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book a room with a view of the Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top