$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
73 reviews
Excellent NY Hotel

The room was spacious and inviting The hotel is well located and the staff was super accomodating... See full review

  • Anquan
  • Sep 29, 2014
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

SOUTHGATE Bar & Restaurant
SOUTHGATE, our modern tavern, offers a variety of specially crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TAMR
Business
Lexington.KY
Apr 12, 2014

Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2007

Perfect location

Essex House is a beautiful hotel across street from Central Park and within walking distance of theatre district and 5th avenue shopping. Our room had recently been redone and was very comfortable and well appointed. Room was spacious by NYC standards. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service and hotel restaurant prices were ridiculous but there are variety of eating establishments within short walk of hotel entrance. La Parisienne Coffee House which is around the corner on 7th Ave had good food, reasonable prices and quick service (cash only).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Essex House offers complimentary 'house car' which will provide transportation to locations within 10 blocks of the hotel. this would include most of the theatre district and 5th Avenue shops. Service is on a first come, first serve basis so was often unavailable when we needed it. Taxis were cheap with fare of $4-$6 to most theaters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GotToGoThere
Business
Cheshire
Jan 9, 2010

Couldn't Fault It

The location is great, right opposite central park and close to subway stations to get you to most places. There are plenty of places to get breakfast nearby for those who can't afford or are not willing to pay the hotels extortionate prices. The staff were friendly apart from a young guy (who was hired to stand near the elevator to direct people left or right because all elevators didn't go to all floors), he seemed to find it difficult to break a smile. The rooms were great with plenty of space and cleaned everyday and turned down every evening. You can make use of a free safe deposit box. We didn't make use of any of the hotel amenities such as the gym or restraunts so can't comment on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yetts
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great hotel

We had a great time. Perfect location, big room, anything needed was close by. Will return for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Minetta tavern, great burgers, awesome ambiance open till 2 am. Great to go after the theatre. Staton Social, trendy, great restaurant. Tapas style

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lupus
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Million-Dollar View

My wife and I enjoyed our 3 nights at Jumeirah Essex House from the first to the last minute. We had booked a room with Central Park view and that we got. It was a nice and recently renovated room, however, it was on the fifth floor and we were looking at the trees. So I asked for a room on a higher floor and the hotel accommodated us with a great room on the 14th floor overlooking the whole park. Perfect. Internet is not free. South Gate, the hotel restaurant, is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrossian in the landmark Alwyn Court building for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raffy
Business
New York, NY
Mar 14, 2012

Romantic Escape

It was the great value and pampering we expected. My only suggestion is that a small easy chair should be placed in the room for reading / watching TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young fellow
Business
White Plains, NY 10607
Jul 2, 2012

A satisfying (exhilarating) experience.

My wife, grandkids and I enjoyed our stay at your hotel, notwithstanding the fact that we were inconvenienced by the power being shut down and us not being ble to get in and out of our rooms without the aid the hotel security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
13chairs
Business
Foster Cityy
Jun 11, 2012

Classic Hotel

This is a classic well appointed hotel right on Central Avenue Parkway. Our room was large and well appointed with all the amenities. The staff was extremely pleasant and ready to please. The location made touring New York a breeze. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book a room with a view of the Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
Business
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet lagged
Business
Lancs UK
Jan 3, 2013

Superb location.

As none city people who like to dip our toes in to the hustle an bustle occasionally we chose Essex House for its proximity to Central Park to allow for escape time. It was perfect for accessing the city, being only a few blocks from Time Square, 5th Avenue etc while allowing for a stroll around the Park to wind down from the madness of New York. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. After reading reports about the size of rooms in New York I was expecting a tiny room. This is not the case. Very comfortable rooms, which after all are only a base. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maze at Gordon Ramsay's. great food in a relaxed setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top