InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
View map of 111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Great hotel

Nice location, great hotel one of the better ones in nyc. I loved it! See full review

  • rocku
  • Jan 12, 2015
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Property features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Nearby attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Restaurant & Lounge
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, the Barclay's restaurant offers an atmospheric dining space and lounge. Enjoy an organic breakfast buffet in the morning and a menu of shared and full plates during the day and evening.
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The Barclay's gin-themed bar is inspired by the spirit's popularity in the 1920s, when the hotel first opened, but evokes a swank '60s atmosphere that reflects the Barclay's long-held position as the hotel of choice for business movers and shakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pao2011
Business
Austin, TX, USA
May 28, 2014

Paper Thin Walls

We heard the couple next door going at it all night. We thought that for $300 a night we'd have better sound proofing but no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the Barclay bar has some organic cocktails

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reasonable expectations
Business
Worldwide
Jun 2, 2014

Very poor example of an intercontinental

I stay at many hotels (including Intercontinentals around the world) and his hotel disappoints in many ways. I was promised a VIP reception and package & also a room upgrade (I am also a IHG Gold member) but from the moment I checked in, everything was very poor. The staff attitude was very arrogant and condescending and I felt extremely unwelcome. The room was tiny, poorly furnished, tired and in need of updating. The bathroom was barely big enough to stand in and was quite unclean in many areas (hair & dust behind toilet, door and under sink). I waited nearly 2 hours for luggage and some packages to come to my room - in the end I had to go done and bring them myself. I tried calling the 'instant service' on the phone several times and they either never answered, transferred me to another never answered extension or just left me waiting. Unacceptable in a so called ''upmarket' hotel, never mind an intercontinental. IIHG please note: there is no club lounge and breakfast for one at $40 plus is outrageous. Try the 2 restaurants 50 feet away for much better service and quality and cheaper price. I do not recommend this hotel in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris and Dave
Business
Wintersville, Ohio
Sep 21, 2009

A warm, pleasant, and clean hotel

We visited New York with friends to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversery. We attended a perfformance of Billy Elliot, rode a "hop on and off tour", Had dinner with another friend in East Village, and shopped. Everything was excellent, including the weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,Co
Mar 12, 2009

Something you should know before staying

Something you should know before staying here. You would think that after you already paid for your room through Orbitz you would be done paying for the hotel or only have to pay the usual $100.00. not the case here. I arrived at the hotel where they promptly asked for my credit card. I asked what would be charged and they said $100.00 per night. So if you stay a week they will be charging you $700.00 dollars on top of the several hundred you already paid. If you have a budget this wont work. I ended up having to eat room service every day because they took all my spare money I had brought for eating,Site seeing etc. This I think is a really horrible way to run a hotel not to mention it ruiened my entire trip. I had to stay inside the hotel the entire time because I didn't have money to do anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMac
Business
PA
May 6, 2014

Check in waiting list

Hotel's check in time is at 3 pm. I arrived for check in after 3 pm and the receptionist informed me that i was on a "waiting list" for check in. She asked me for my tel # and informed that she will call me when a room was available. Upon inquiry, she stated that since the housekeeping was falling behind, my room was "not ready". To add to that, she could not give me any time frame when my room will be ready. I waited for almost an hour in the hotel lobby without any courtesy shown by the hotel authorities for their inefficiency. I had to re-approach another receptionist who finally got me a room. It was a very unpleasant experience, considering the fact that in spite of charging top dollars for my room and after a tiring trip, I was kept waiting in the lobby. The hotel staff were very inefficient and did not show any courtesy to correct their lack of professionalism. I will not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geo.
Business
NY
Nov 1, 2011

NOT RECOMMENDED

I understand it's NYC, but for 400$ a night, you expect AT LEAST a free parking to the hotel and a free swimming pool. In fact I paid 400$ for a room that is on the small side, averagely clean, with nothing special in it, plus i paid 70 $ for parking. Too much. For this price you can have a suite with a jacuzzi in it and in bed breakfast in a fine hotel. NOT RECOMMENDED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
parkland florida
Sep 24, 2012

mrs and mr.sidney cohen

not good, hotel sent someone in our room while we were out,came back about 100 am and was locked out of room, then called securty they came 10minutes came up opened door for us,then came up again and gave us new cards to get in. they shouldhave given free room. when we go back we will not go to this hotel again unless we get free room. hotel beautiful. hotel made mistake and responsible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pittsburgh123
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 11, 2013

Needs renovation

The room we had needed to be renovated. Not up to typical Intercontinental standards. The bed was worn out and the bathroom was extremely small with a tiny toilet. I also discovered that because the reservation was booked at a discount and prepaid that they did not issue their frequent guest points - I understand the reasoning but it cost them so little and it seems cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of a Badger Graduate
Business
Washington DC
Jun 26, 2013

adequate but not great

Bathroom was the size of a postage stamp, electric plugs were over toilet and there was no place to put bathroom things except a small thin shelf. Room was adequate but not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. I think someone miscounted the stars here. I do not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamesN
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 14, 2007

Family Challenging

The Intercontinental Hotel (don't say Barclay to the taxi drivers, or they'll head downtown) has a great midtown location and impressive lobby, but lacks most of the comforts. The hotel itself is relatively old, even though an attempt has been made to 'modernize' the (small) bathroom. Since this had the only mirror in the room, we had numerous space/scheduling problems in the mornings when everyone was trying to get ready. But by far the biggest disappointment came from the noise of the adjoining room. The door that spearated the two rooms didn't adequately muffle the sounds of our neighbor's conversations, which made it difficult to sleep sometimes when they came back at 2AM from a night of obvious revelry. All things considered, I'll probably never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is conveniently located near reasonable dining and shopping districts.

Back to menu Return to top