InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
170 reviews
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014
Great vacation value!!!

Great location close to Grand Central Station and subways, walk to 5th Ave, cozy diners within 2... See full review

  • MrSept1966
  • Apr 25, 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeannaBB
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 26, 2012

Fabulous Stay

Perfect...no problems. what do you mean my text is too short?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Leave early!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brazilian Friend 4
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 8, 2013

Perfect stay

Have no retouched needs. Amazing time at the most confortable and cozy stay. Congratulations to all the employees for all atention and kindness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
Mar 28, 2011

nyc

The hotel was very nice, great service, and good and a good room. The price was perfect and couldn't have been a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rasta man
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 1, 2013

Fabulous weekend refresher in the heart of town.

Comforatble, convenient, smart hotel perfect for a long (or short) weekend in the city. Close to everything Manhattan and yet quiet and restful. the late bar is not too crowded but friendly, the staff are all attentive and knowledgable. It helps if you know your way around Midtown because there are so many places to eat, shop, and browse that you may miss out if not careful The room service was a bit sparse but responded to our urgings about replenishing the towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at Geoffrey Zakarian's restuarant just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Venus Rock Hobbit
Business
Chino Hills, CA
Apr 27, 2014

Very nice for a single

Nice room with good amenities, the toilet was awkwardly placed in the bathroom however, kind of wedged between the sink and the door. Walls were a little thin, I heard way too much going on in the room next door. I got a weird cut on my hand from something poking out of the mattress topper! But all in all I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
volcano, hawaii
Jul 13, 2009

great easy professional service

I didn't know what to expect from on-line hotel/air packages. This was my fikrst, and I certainly was pleased. The flights had excellent connections and friendly staff. The hotel was immaculate and inviting. The room was huge and had a wonderful white comforter i an immaculate bed. Great buffet for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask and you will receive from the Barclay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Aug 27, 2010

This is NOT a 4 star hotel!!!

If you're looking for a 4 star hotel in New York City, please skip this hotel and choose The W. The costs of The W isn't that much more and you'll actually get what you see on their site. The room that I stayed in at Intercontinental was called a King bed suite. The room advertised online and via telephone was not what I saw when I arrived to the hotel. On the hotel's site (which has since been changed and the bathroom photo is now gone) there was a photo of a large bathroom with marble floors and walls, a grand looking vanity, and a huge spa tub. There were also photos showing a 1 bedroom suite with "antique" decor. I thought the amount of space and this magnificent bathroom would be too hard to pass up, so before I made a final decision to book the room, I called the hotel just to verify that what I was seeing was the same thing that I'd be getting. The person at the front desk verified everything and I booked directly with the hotel because the King suite isn't offered on other internet sites. When I arrived to NYC I was so excited and I couldn't wait to see my room. When I walked into the room I was extremely disappointed and I felt like I had been on the show Punked. The "antique" look on the internet is really showing you that everything is actually old. But, not old as in antique, but old as in everything comes from the 1960's and is made to mimic items from the 18th century. The word "everything" includes the carpet. The carpet was old, filthy and had a mildew odor. The couch and chairs were old. The wallpaper was old. The TV was old (4 star hotels have flat screens). The bathroom was terrible and not at all as it was pictured. There were marble floors, but the space was small and there was certainly not a spa tub. There wasn't a vanity, but instead there was a white pedestal sink. I was extremely disappointed. After touring this wretched place I decided to pay a visit to the front desk to ask for some of my money back. The worker told me that he couldn't accommodate my request, but told me that the hotel gets the same complaints everyday. I was also told that he's been asking his manager to take the photos down because it's unfair to guests. Since the front desk wouldn't help me I called the hotel groups 800 number. They wouldn't give me anything either, but they forced the hotel manager to contact me, which didn't happen until I got back home. The hotel manager understand my frustration and decided to give me $100 for each night of stay, which came up to $300. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't dare give this 4 stars. If I would give it any rating, it would be 3 stars and that's only because of the amount of space in the suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,Co
Mar 12, 2009

Something you should know before staying

Something you should know before staying here. You would think that after you already paid for your room through Orbitz you would be done paying for the hotel or only have to pay the usual $100.00. not the case here. I arrived at the hotel where they promptly asked for my credit card. I asked what would be charged and they said $100.00 per night. So if you stay a week they will be charging you $700.00 dollars on top of the several hundred you already paid. If you have a budget this wont work. I ended up having to eat room service every day because they took all my spare money I had brought for eating,Site seeing etc. This I think is a really horrible way to run a hotel not to mention it ruiened my entire trip. I had to stay inside the hotel the entire time because I didn't have money to do anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top