InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
View map of 111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Venus Rock Hobbit
Business
Chino Hills, CA
Apr 27, 2014

Very nice for a single

Nice room with good amenities, the toilet was awkwardly placed in the bathroom however, kind of wedged between the sink and the door. Walls were a little thin, I heard way too much going on in the room next door. I got a weird cut on my hand from something poking out of the mattress topper! But all in all I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Thinbags
Business
South Wales
Apr 23, 2014

Lovely Hotel in Mid town Manhatten

We were greeted by very friendly staff. Our check in was quick and stress free. Our room was spotlessly clean and well decorated and furnished. A lovely big walk in closet with iron and ironing board and extra bedding. Facilities were excellent with an in house business centre and gift shop. The restaurant was very pleasant and served delicious food. We were situated at the back of the hotel and heard no traffic noise at night, which is a great bonus. The bed was huge and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The room temperature was easy to control and the bathroom always well stocked with provisions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Fast Trak upgrade for the Empire State building is well worth the extra money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee of lovely Charleston
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 29, 2014

Faboulous time with friends in the city

You could not ask for a better NYC location, the service was impeccable, the room was lovely, and breakfast was a delight. Faboulous experience. I was visiting friends and taking a class at NYU (great combination) Strongly recommend, great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When in NYC you must try the dining experience of Eataly located at 200 5th Ave. There are 27 Eataly stores in the world 10 of which are located in Italy. Down the street is ABC Carpet and Home, a NYC icon. Happy Travels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DidiInVenice
Business
Venice, FL
May 5, 2014

Great get away to NYC!

Very classy and clean NYC location! Just a walk, cab ride or subway trip away from everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elinor
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 14, 2007

Very nice

The room was adequate for three adults. The room was clean and towels were enough for each person. The bathroom was not very large but we managed. The toilet paper roll holder was broken and the staff did not attempt to fix but just replaced so it fell off again. I would definitely recommend the hotel especially for two people in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Double decker tour bus, hop on hop off stop around the block providing excellent opportunity to see New York City and get on and off as you please.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
May 11, 2010

Graet stay for Manhatten visits

Wonderfull adress for staying in New York. Easy access, great rooms and good service levels. Grey busline tours stop around the corner, metrostation at 2 blocks. Shops at 5th av. and Rockefeller 5 min walk. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wild Ginger at 51st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felina
Business
Ireland/Dublin
Aug 30, 2010

Amazing stay (2 girls in their 20s)

Hi everyone :o), I came to NYC for the first time in my life in May 2010 with a good friend. We enjoyed the stay very much! Fell in love with the city immediately :o) .. The hotel staff was very nice. The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable and the room was very quiet which is helpful after a long day in the city. Very good location. Approximately 15 mins walk to Times Square. Enjoy your stay! :o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pdizzle
Business
Ontario, Canada
Dec 30, 2011

Awesome stay

The hotel is perfectly positioned for a tourist in Manhattan. The rooms look a little bit dated but the staff keeps them clean and tidy. All of the staff were exceptional. The price was really good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yasser
Business
Sonoma, CA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Location

The place is good and has a great location. The only issue is the Staff they are not friendly at all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geoffreye
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Winter in NYC

Look, the rooms are small, but the location is great. And the staff at both the front desk and the concierge station was phenomenal. Amenities in the room were old. There was a small tube tv, a phone with a cord by the toilet that looked like it was installed at least 2 decades ago, and no outlet by the bed (I have a CPAP that has to be plugged in at night... the friendly staff got me an extension cord.) Nonetheless, we were in the room for nothing but sleeping, so none of that mattered. If you are looking for updated features and large, comfy areas, then the standard rooms at the ICBarclays are not for you. But for location and a great staff, this place was on point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is less than a mile away, and easily surpasses the hype.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top