$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 EAST 48TH ST, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
248 reviews
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014
Great vacation value!!!

Great location close to Grand Central Station and subways, walk to 5th Ave, cozy diners within 2... See full review

  • MrSept1966
  • Apr 25, 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.9744
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.80, MI, SE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 13.00, MI, NE; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rhinos
Minneapolis, MN
May 25, 2009

Wife Happy Birthday

Great for my wife's first trip to NYC on her big birthday. Hotel is isolated from busy areas and we walked/or short cab ride everywhere we wanted in Manhattan. We walked to all shopping up 5th & 6th Aves, Madison Ave, and to Central Park. We walked to Times Square, but it is far enough away from that craziness to provide a quite night sleep. It is real close to Grand Central Station/subway we used to go to Staten Island and Bronx (Yankee Stadium) very easily. Hotel was very clean, they were touching up paint - good to see it being maintained. Bed was very comfortable. Our room was larger than anticipated. Had no problem getting early check in and holding our bags for late departure. My wife loved the hotel and location, we'd go again and recommend to friends/family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of breakfast options nearby, we did not eat at the hotel. Just blocks to Rockefeller Plaza / NBC - we caught the TODAY show outdoor concert.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olemissgirl
Lafayette, LA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Beautiful hotel in midtown

we have recently made the intercontinental our hotel of choice wherever we travel and the ic Barclay does not disappoint. We were in town for the us open and the hotel was well prepared with directions to transportation, information, etc. Fabulous martinis in the lobby bar! Downside: I'm a club member, and was offered a room upgrade and late checkout, but as far as I could tell, there was no club level. I could be wrong, and we wouldn't have been able to take much advantage of it anyway, but it's always nice to enjoy the club level at other ic properties. Also, we had to pay $8.95 for 15 minutes of Internet access in the business center and an additional $1.35 to print a b&w page. You can, however, print boarding passes for free. All in all, highly recommended if you don't need to be in the middle of the hustle & bustle...it's about a 10 minute walk to times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Azalea next door to the gershwin theatre is a great spot for lunch or dinner. Italian with some very special menu items. The pear & gorgonzola souffle appetizer is amazing!

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harlingen, Texas
Jun 12, 2011

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Great staff.

This has to be one of the best in Manhattan. Great staff, especially Jose at the front desk. This was the first visit to Manhattan for two members of the party. Did the "normal" tourist attractions, i.e., Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Ground Zero, Times Square, Central Park. Rode the double decker bus and the subway. Great experience. The hotel was the best part of getting back after a long day. The beds were SOOO comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm not sure what is meant by money savers re restaurants, but most dinners were between 18 and 25.00 at restaurants near the hotel. Don't do the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island in one day. Too exhausting because of long lines.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MARRERO, LA
May 11, 2008

Very Friendly Hotel Staff

We enjoyed our stay at The Barclay New York. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive to all our needs. It is very close to 5th Ave and Park Ave as well as the Broadway district. Will definitely be back to visit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque
Jul 8, 2008

My review of InterContinental THE BARCLAY NEW YORK

Great environment, perfect location, really nice stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central station is really close. Just a short walk and you will be connected with almost everything in NYC

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brazilian Friend 4
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 8, 2013

Perfect stay

Have no retouched needs. Amazing time at the most confortable and cozy stay. Congratulations to all the employees for all atention and kindness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Madame Sakura
Pennsylvania
Jul 6, 2011

Classic & Elegant Stay, GREAT Service!!

We stayed as family, one small toddler girl for two nights on weekend. The hotel has excellent service with professional manners and friendly care to both adults and for a child. The room was classic setting with nice single cup making coffee maker, amenities helped our grooming needs well, and entire hotel hall was quiet and smelled nice flower aroma! We LOVED their breakfast beffet; all organic ingredients and fresh food yet, elegant presentation. The restaurant staffs were all professional, elegant and friendly. The location is great and all near by nice & elegant Park Ave for business needs, Madison Ave & 5th Ave for shopping. A few taxies were always waiting in the front entrance for the guests convenience and bell service was professional. We LOVE to come back to THE BARCLAY InterContinental hotel for everything we need in NYC next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, upscale yet convenient walking distance restaurants are in Midtown East on Park, Madison and 5th Ave! But during the spring/summer, for gentlemen, refrain from your shorts and sandals for some elegant Frensh/Italian restaurants/cafes. They have dress code - no shorts.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 15, 2007

Good Hotel

The room was a small but it was clean and very comfortable. The location was also very conveinient, very close to Grand Central Station. I was really satisfied this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several Shushi Bar near this hotel.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sheffield Village
Jul 6, 2008

Great LocationThe

Intercontinental Hotels are our favorites and the Barclay is no exception. The location is super-close to shopping, Times Square and Central Park. The room and bathroom were small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore
Oct 26, 2009

Extremely nice stay

Wonderful experience. Great location, nice low-key service, high-quality hotel. Everything we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top