InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
View map of 111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Jun 22, 2008

Very Good Location

Hotel is great because of its Midtown Manhattan locale. However, some rooms are better than others. This was our 4th time at the hotel and our room was very spacious but the decor was not as nice as the last room we had when we previously stayed at the hotel. The hotel is great but needs to improve its Check In/Check Out processes in order to increase efficiency for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th and Madison Avenues are only 2 blocks west from the hotel.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 6, 2007

The Barclay was lovely!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Intercontinental Hotel (Barclay) in New York. It's on the East Side in Midtown, several blocks north of Grand Central Station. The room was very clean and well appointed. It was not especially large, but the space was used very well. The bed was comfortable (there were plenty of pillows), and the bathroom was clean--we had no issues with the water pressure in the shower. The weather was quite warm in NY when we were there (in July), and the AC in the room worked perfectly. The staff at the hotel were unfailingly polite and helpful--very professional and eager to assist. The restaurant in the hotel was extremely expensive so we did not eat there, but there were several more affordable places in the neighborhood for breakfast, etc. Overall, a great hotel experience--highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Midtown New York on the East Side is an outstanding area for shopping, dining, and sight-seeing--it's a very convenient part of town to stay!

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
magig
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 15, 2009

excellent

I've been to New York at least ten times and stayed at different hotels each time. I would definitely come back to the Intercontinental Barclay. The staff was very friendly and offered some extra accomodations they thought we might need. The rooms were very clean and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 14, 2007

treated with respect

I found the hotel to be very hospitable, very courteous and very respectful. I have never experienced such service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks over to 5th avenue and shopping

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 4, 2008

Very Impressive Hotel

The Intercontinental The Barclay in New York City was in an excellent location for our trip to New York City. From the time we entered the impressive lobby the feeling was one of comfort. The room was very clean and comfortable. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff, from the Cleaning Ladies to the Bell Captains on duty. Everyone had a smile and a Friendly attitude. I would recommend the hotel and would not hesitate to book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oxford Restaurant which is two blocks away has an amazing cook that makes your breakfast within minutes. Reasonable and Tasty.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sheffield Village
Jul 6, 2008

Great LocationThe

Intercontinental Hotels are our favorites and the Barclay is no exception. The location is super-close to shopping, Times Square and Central Park. The room and bathroom were small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 15, 2007

Good Hotel

The room was a small but it was clean and very comfortable. The location was also very conveinient, very close to Grand Central Station. I was really satisfied this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several Shushi Bar near this hotel.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olemissgirl
Business
Lafayette, LA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Beautiful hotel in midtown

we have recently made the intercontinental our hotel of choice wherever we travel and the ic Barclay does not disappoint. We were in town for the us open and the hotel was well prepared with directions to transportation, information, etc. Fabulous martinis in the lobby bar! Downside: I'm a club member, and was offered a room upgrade and late checkout, but as far as I could tell, there was no club level. I could be wrong, and we wouldn't have been able to take much advantage of it anyway, but it's always nice to enjoy the club level at other ic properties. Also, we had to pay $8.95 for 15 minutes of Internet access in the business center and an additional $1.35 to print a b&w page. You can, however, print boarding passes for free. All in all, highly recommended if you don't need to be in the middle of the hustle & bustle...it's about a 10 minute walk to times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Azalea next door to the gershwin theatre is a great spot for lunch or dinner. Italian with some very special menu items. The pear & gorgonzola souffle appetizer is amazing!

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bedsidem
Business
Basking ridge,NJ
Jan 30, 2011

Intercontinental Barclayys Hotel NYC

they did a great job

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fallcity
Business
St.Louis
Sep 15, 2009

Incredible for New York, Very large,Very

It was just perfect. No hassle check in and both rooms were perfect. I had made two reservations in New York just to check it out and I really messed up by not staying at this hotel(second was hotel dream and what a disappointment in every area). The staff was SO incredibly helpful and what a gorgeous building and room. Very nice location with a full service deli and convenience shop less than a block away open 24hrs. Just Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top