$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 EAST 48TH ST, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
248 reviews
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014
Great vacation value!!!

Great location close to Grand Central Station and subways, walk to 5th Ave, cozy diners within 2... See full review

  • MrSept1966
  • Apr 25, 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.9744
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 13.00, MI; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.80, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 248
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa HS
Springfield, IL
May 26, 2014

Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The location was close to the family we visited but also close to Grand Central Station, 30 Rock and the American Girl Store. Room service was 24 hour and breakfast buffet was open at convenient time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little sandwich/breakfast place on Lexington at 48th

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Thinbags
South Wales
Apr 23, 2014

Lovely Hotel in Mid town Manhatten

We were greeted by very friendly staff. Our check in was quick and stress free. Our room was spotlessly clean and well decorated and furnished. A lovely big walk in closet with iron and ironing board and extra bedding. Facilities were excellent with an in house business centre and gift shop. The restaurant was very pleasant and served delicious food. We were situated at the back of the hotel and heard no traffic noise at night, which is a great bonus. The bed was huge and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The room temperature was easy to control and the bathroom always well stocked with provisions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Fast Trak upgrade for the Empire State building is well worth the extra money

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GUY531
Chicago
Mar 31, 2014

birthday celebration

We went for my daughter's 21st birthday to nyc. the rooms are really nice. The location is great and the staff very nice and helpful. the hotel lobby is a little dated but that is a very minor issue. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abarb
MA
Feb 27, 2014

nice place to stay

The location was great. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We are going back again in 3 weeks and so glad I booked it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarabeths for brunch

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cyclo touring
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Feb 2, 2014

Perfec stay in NYC!

Excelent hotel midtown, close to many attractions. We love the service, especially the Conciergerie, where Dominic and Julieta were very attentive and helpful. Classic hotel with large rooms, clean. Sure we will be there again next time in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Doune & Reade one block distance, in Lexington X 47th St.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballenero
Montevideo, Uruguay
Dec 1, 2013

Great vacation

It's our fourth year in a row at the Intercontinental Barclays and we love it. Home away from home. Perfect location for our needs and we lacked for nothing. Heartily recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MateoInTexas
Texas
Dec 1, 2013

Adjoining Family rooms at the Barclay Interconinental

A wonderful stay. Very accommodating staff (the 2nd half of our family arrived a day after us, but 'no problem' putting us in adjoining rooms. Concierge gave us great advice a number of times and we felt as if his choices were tailored to us and not his standard goto places. We like to have a nightcap at the bar, and it's a nice bar, but caution on the prices, even for a pair of chards. We rate this hotel highly - thank you Orbtz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ethos at 51st and 1st Ave - fabulous

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javaman73
Indianapolis, Indiana
Nov 11, 2013

Great location

We had a good room on the 4th floor. It was clean and was standard American hotel size, which was larger than I was expecting in Manhattan. Lots of honking clear through the night, but we got used to it and got a good sleep both nights. A room higher up might be better if you're a light sleeper. This hotel is within easy walking distance of Grand Central Station, which makes pretty much everything in Manhattan easily accessible. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Going to the Statue of Liberty? Buy tickets online well in advance. They sell out entirely very early in the morning.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dazzatronix
London, UK
Sep 9, 2013

Excellent hotel

Clean, superb location, good food, great bar, helpful staff. What more could you ask for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMVA
Alexandria VA
Aug 15, 2013

Not Bad

Sometimes I wonder if using Orbiz will cause the person to be shoved in a corner lower floor. Bed was clean, room was spacious for NY, but I can't get over the extra charge for wi-fi. Room walls are thin, I heard the person door coughing! Many hotels I have stayed at (e.g., Boston, Chicago, CA and Europe) all have provided their guests free access as part of the hotel fee. Didn't have to contact anyone, it was a place to sleep and shower, it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top