$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 EAST 48TH ST, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
248 reviews
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014
Great vacation value!!!

Great location close to Grand Central Station and subways, walk to 5th Ave, cozy diners within 2... See full review

  • MrSept1966
  • Apr 25, 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.9744
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 13.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.80, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 248
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMac
Business
PA
May 6, 2014

Check in waiting list

Hotel's check in time is at 3 pm. I arrived for check in after 3 pm and the receptionist informed me that i was on a "waiting list" for check in. She asked me for my tel # and informed that she will call me when a room was available. Upon inquiry, she stated that since the housekeeping was falling behind, my room was "not ready". To add to that, she could not give me any time frame when my room will be ready. I waited for almost an hour in the hotel lobby without any courtesy shown by the hotel authorities for their inefficiency. I had to re-approach another receptionist who finally got me a room. It was a very unpleasant experience, considering the fact that in spite of charging top dollars for my room and after a tiring trip, I was kept waiting in the lobby. The hotel staff were very inefficient and did not show any courtesy to correct their lack of professionalism. I will not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donzai
Business
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Mar 25, 2014

intercontinental hotel

The experience was excellent.. The only issue was having to pay for Internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to subway & Grand Central station to go anywhere.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayRay Huang
Business
Shanghai
Nov 14, 2013

Great location for everything

I stayed here during my business trip to NYC. The room was great with super high bed that you have to literally climb on it. Bathroom is small but I can live with it in NYC. Location is great. It is only a couple blocks from the Grand Central Station and couple streets away from 5th Ave. I enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wilson gets adopted
Business
pittsburgh
Aug 26, 2013

Bella the cancer sniffing dog

My dog and I appeared on FOX & Freinds and stayed at The Barclay, all went very well, hotel is beautiful, good location. Rooms are well appointed, but small bathroom and small room, but it is an old hotel. . Good room service. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of a Badger Graduate
Business
Washington DC
Jun 26, 2013

adequate but not great

Bathroom was the size of a postage stamp, electric plugs were over toilet and there was no place to put bathroom things except a small thin shelf. Room was adequate but not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. I think someone miscounted the stars here. I do not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony frequent traveller
Business
Boston
Jan 16, 2013

Perfect businessman's lodging

Nice open lobby when you walk in, and very quick staff at the Registration desk. Great location for mid-town business meetings, and close to Grand Central for a commute in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Ron
Business
Chicago
Nov 12, 2012

Small, but nice, quiet room

We asked for king size bed, but were told that "those rooms are reserved." So was ours, but through outside travel service, not directly with hotel. Rate was probably better, but no opportunity to upgrade to larger room. Small room with queen-size bed was comfortable and quiet. Internet service often went down, which was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan to walk to Broadway shows since cabs are hard to find during "theater rush hour". Most theaters are 10 to 15 blocks from hotel.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yasser
Business
Sonoma, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Great Location

The Loction is one of the bast you can get. Great for its value...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmjesquire
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 24, 2012

Excellent size room for NYC

Nice sized rooms for NYC hotels. Friendly staff. Room service food was good. Everything you would expect out of a 4* hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient to shopping.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MagnusP
Business
Oslo, Norway
Mar 26, 2012

Very convenient and good hotel, with great location

Friendly and nice atmosphere, both in th lobby and in the rooms. Not particularily modern, but still gives the impression of quality. The bathroom in my room could need a certain face-lift, but it was clean and nice anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top