InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
View map of 111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Get there
Business
Evansville, IN
Feb 13, 2013

Superb treatment

Our recent stay at the Intercontinental New York Barclay was like a dream come true. We had a large fabulous suite with every amenity possible. The staff went to great lengths to see that everything was right and showed us hospitality that would rival any hotel in the world. We would definitely recommend The Barclay to our friends and to anyone who enjoys being pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pittsburgh123
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 11, 2013

Needs renovation

The room we had needed to be renovated. Not up to typical Intercontinental standards. The bed was worn out and the bathroom was extremely small with a tiny toilet. I also discovered that because the reservation was booked at a discount and prepaid that they did not issue their frequent guest points - I understand the reasoning but it cost them so little and it seems cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rasta man
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 1, 2013

Fabulous weekend refresher in the heart of town.

Comforatble, convenient, smart hotel perfect for a long (or short) weekend in the city. Close to everything Manhattan and yet quiet and restful. the late bar is not too crowded but friendly, the staff are all attentive and knowledgable. It helps if you know your way around Midtown because there are so many places to eat, shop, and browse that you may miss out if not careful The room service was a bit sparse but responded to our urgings about replenishing the towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at Geoffrey Zakarian's restuarant just around the corner.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
resflicka
Business
Washington D.C.
Jan 23, 2013

Comfortable, but pricey

If you're looking to spend enough money to feed a small nation and still be charged for wifi, this is the hotel for you. Beyond the general costs, this hotel is beautiful, comfortable, and located only a ten minute walk from Times Square. The people were friendly and accommodating. You're going to spend a lot in New York no matter what, this is certainly a cheaper option with, still, very nice digs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scotty's Diner! Fast, yummy, cool diner atmosphere.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RosieM
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 23, 2013

Decent hotel in Midtown East

Hotel rooms were good size. I had a room with 2 double beds. It was spacious for an NYC htoel. However, the bathrooms are small and could use some renovating. Subway is only 2 blocks away. Fairly quiet neighborhood with easy access to/from LaGuardia airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AVRN1
Business
Miami, Fl
Jan 21, 2013

NYC Weekend Getaway

I was very impressed with this Hotel. It is much better in person than on the website. It it beautiful, comfortable, clean, staff is super friendly and attentive. Location cannot be any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony frequent traveller
Business
Boston
Jan 16, 2013

Perfect businessman's lodging

Nice open lobby when you walk in, and very quick staff at the Registration desk. Great location for mid-town business meetings, and close to Grand Central for a commute in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaetana
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Jan 15, 2013

very nice

I was pleasantly surprised. I did not expect to check into my room as my arrival was at 8a.m. I was immediately checked into a room and a bit of an upgrade. The room was remarkably large ...NYC rooms aren't known for their size. The pillow top bed was luxurious as were the wonderful linens. There was a welcome plate with dates, fruit and bottled water...nice touch. Kuerig coffee maker was very easy. The location was great for sights uptown or downtown. The staff,,, very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Discounts to museum are available on line.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brazilian Friend 4
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 8, 2013

Perfect stay

Have no retouched needs. Amazing time at the most confortable and cozy stay. Congratulations to all the employees for all atention and kindness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEJ
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 7, 2013

Great Value!

Clean, comfortable, good location and good value. Definitely would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avra Greek Restaurant on 48th has very good seafood.

Back to menu Return to top