InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
View map of 111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AVRN1
Miami, Fl
Jan 21, 2013

NYC Weekend Getaway

I was very impressed with this Hotel. It is much better in person than on the website. It it beautiful, comfortable, clean, staff is super friendly and attentive. Location cannot be any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of a Badger Graduate
Business
Washington DC
Jun 26, 2013

adequate but not great

Bathroom was the size of a postage stamp, electric plugs were over toilet and there was no place to put bathroom things except a small thin shelf. Room was adequate but not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. I think someone miscounted the stars here. I do not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kumarp
Business
atlanta
May 30, 2013

great location for visitor to nyc

we enjoyed our visit to nyc ,as location was ideal for all sites .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

central park,lincoln center,broadway shows are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Manhattan
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 8, 2013

spring break

Great location, very nice breakfast buffet offer, front desk staff very considerate and kind with our party of 3, concierge helpful and had good restaurant recommendations also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Newsies and Jersey Boys. Both fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandysosew
Business
Dublin>Ireland
Mar 30, 2013

great trip

lovely hotel,great location,a tad expensive.I thought it was a little excessive to be charged so much for using the computers in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great range of restaurants,bars,delis and diners around.The delis are fantastic value and cater for every taste

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott born in NYC
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Mar 29, 2013

Great Location and Staff but Older Hotel

Everything at the Barclay was very nice. Lots of things were overpriced but that's typical of any hotel in NYC. The only complaint was the bathroom. It was super small and the shower was not great. Overall I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2013

Fantastic Hotel for business or pleasure!

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff were courteous, the location is second to none (surrounded by other luxury hotels including the Waldorf Astoria) and the ambiance in the hotel lobby is quite elegant. I'll not only recommend it to others, but will gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time visitor
Business
Kent England
Mar 17, 2013

Lovely Hotel

Staff excellent. Decor beautiful. Bed very comfortable. Room and bathroom spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive to eat and drink in hotel. Several places nearby to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from MD couple
Business
MD
Mar 12, 2013

nice hotel but a little expensive

although it was a little further away from time square than the hotel we use to get, it was a nice hotel well maintained. Watch out for the bar drinks. It can be pricey. $20 for a tiny glass drink barely the size of a shot glass. We ended up with more than $80 for a quick small lunch. The food was good though. It was a nice treat for just a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brendan P
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 4, 2013

No Frills, No Fuss, No Problems

Short stay for weekend with wife and w/o kids; Hotel was clean and everyone was courteous; No one went out of their way, and the only person that was borderline rude to my wife was the bartender at 11pm on a saturday when we stopped back to see if they had any good desserts at the hotel (they don't). But it wasn't a problem, and we headed back out. The only person that was a bit nicer than average was one of the doorman that we ran into a lot and helped get cabs; he was friendly and unassuming, even with modest tips. The room was clean; one odd thing - the clock that had an iphone charger wasn't plugged into the wall, and there was no outlet near the clock. Therefore, didn't work to charge the phone (batteries in clock). Location was good; we spent a lot of our time in village, and wasn't difficult to get to; easy walk to 42nd street station and central park. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but the hotel served it's purpose for our quick NY getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's not too much late night life around the hotel; even though we had a great dinner at Bobby Van's steakhouse, couldn't find a desert/wine location open after midnight for casual scene. If you stay here and are looking for a late night, plan for a cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Newcomer
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 17, 2013

Wonderful NYC Visit

The Intercontinental NY Barclay is a lovely place to stay and is centrally located in the Manhattan area. It was very easy to walk to 5th Avenue, Times Square, Rock Center, and St. Patrick. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and visit while we were in NYC. It was our first time in NYC and we certainly picked the right place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the dining in the Rock Center. Good variety and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top