InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
View map of 111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kanga1102
Business
Piedmont, SC
Mar 12, 2014

Perfect location, luxurious

The hotel was beautiful and the room comfortable. I love staying in historic hotels that have a cozy feel to them. It is wonderful that, even with the shades drawn, I knew where I was because it didn't look like every other hotel in the chain. The location was perfect - a few short blocks from Grand Central, which made the subway very accessible. The staff was incredibly helpful as well - hailing a cab was a simple matter of talking to the doorman. I'm a native NYer living in SC, and I will be using this hotel the next time I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have an unfilled hour? Take the short walk to Grand Central! It's not usually something people think to do in NYC, but it is a work of art, inside and out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heberuru
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 9, 2014

Great Option

Great Hotel, Great Location. Will definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Room Service Awesome Thai Restaurant and Really Cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abarb
Business
MA
Feb 27, 2014

nice place to stay

The location was great. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We are going back again in 3 weeks and so glad I booked it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarabeths for brunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flossy Fearnley
Business
Portsmouth, England
Feb 24, 2014

New York break

Great hotel in a good location, staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant a bit pricey as was the mini bar but plenty of places to eat nearby. Would recommend Ruby Tuesday,s in Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try walking the High Line from the Meat Packing district, well worth it on a sunny day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cyclo touring
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Feb 2, 2014

Perfec stay in NYC!

Excelent hotel midtown, close to many attractions. We love the service, especially the Conciergerie, where Dominic and Julieta were very attentive and helpful. Classic hotel with large rooms, clean. Sure we will be there again next time in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Doune & Reade one block distance, in Lexington X 47th St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiesbaden Bob
Business
Orange Park, FL
Dec 23, 2013

Great location for Broadway and the UN

This property is a classic that has been well preserved and renewed. With one small oddity...unlike most hotels with almost instant hot water, this shower can take a few minutes to warm up. The bed was the most comfortable we have experienced. The staff was helpful and on top of any request. Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid the worst of the street noise. During the evening rush to dinner and the theatre, rely on the doormen to get you a cab rather than wandering around the street trying to flag one down. It may take some time to get a cab, but let the doorman get it--and then tip him. Or, ask them to flag a "black car" and negotiate a price with the perfectly legal limo driver and you will probably be on your way more quickly for just a few dollars more than a yellow cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Unless you really feel like paying through the nose for your morning bagel or eggs and bacon, go out the front door of the hotel, turn left, turn right at the corner and have breakfast cooked to order at the deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bensie
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 16, 2013

Holiday Visit

I've been staying at the "Barclay" for over 30 years . I miss the "Bird Cage", but the place, the bar and the dining room are still 4.0. One disappointment was witnessing a somewhat surly busman in the dining room at Saturday brunch...not to us but to the hostess who asked him to make up a table. I thought that was a busman's job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballenero
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
Dec 1, 2013

Great vacation

It's our fourth year in a row at the Intercontinental Barclays and we love it. Home away from home. Perfect location for our needs and we lacked for nothing. Heartily recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MateoInTexas
Business
Texas
Dec 1, 2013

Adjoining Family rooms at the Barclay Interconinental

A wonderful stay. Very accommodating staff (the 2nd half of our family arrived a day after us, but 'no problem' putting us in adjoining rooms. Concierge gave us great advice a number of times and we felt as if his choices were tailored to us and not his standard goto places. We like to have a nightcap at the bar, and it's a nice bar, but caution on the prices, even for a pair of chards. We rate this hotel highly - thank you Orbtz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ethos at 51st and 1st Ave - fabulous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayRay Huang
Business
Shanghai
Nov 14, 2013

Great location for everything

I stayed here during my business trip to NYC. The room was great with super high bed that you have to literally climb on it. Bathroom is small but I can live with it in NYC. Location is great. It is only a couple blocks from the Grand Central Station and couple streets away from 5th Ave. I enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top