$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 EAST 48TH ST, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
248 reviews
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014
Great vacation value!!!

Great location close to Grand Central Station and subways, walk to 5th Ave, cozy diners within 2... See full review

  • MrSept1966
  • Apr 25, 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.9744
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.80, MI, SE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 13.00, MI, NE; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
mexico
May 11, 2010

i really like it

i really slept so well, nice, and comfortable, a classic style and so near to the fifth avenue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is around

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holland
May 11, 2010

Graet stay for Manhatten visits

Wonderfull adress for staying in New York. Easy access, great rooms and good service levels. Grey busline tours stop around the corner, metrostation at 2 blocks. Shops at 5th av. and Rockefeller 5 min walk. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wild Ginger at 51st

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bekycaz
Indian Trail, NC
May 4, 2010

New York, New York

Loved the HOTEL, very nice and staff was friendly. Felt like "Pretty Woman" staying here. I really didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bardock
waterloo, ontario
Apr 28, 2010

Very Nice

would have been great if someone reminded us that we needed to call for shuttle service 24hra in advance...as I didn't know and I lost 30$$$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bardock
waterloo, ontario
Apr 28, 2010

Very Nice

would have been great if someone reminded us that we needed to call for shuttle service 24hra in advance...as I didn't know and I lost 30$$$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Mar 28, 2010

InterContinental The Barclay New York

Great hotel. Nice clean rooms. Very expensive services (i.e. room service, phone, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Mar 28, 2010

InterContinental The Barclay New York

Great hotel. Nice clean rooms. Very expensive services (i.e. room service, phone, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monmouth Beach, NJ
Feb 27, 2010

The Good, the bad and the Ugly..

I liked this hotel b/c of the friendly staff. What I didn't like was when I asked a person at the front desk where a Verizon store was, she told me it was 2 streets away. So, during a big snowstorm, I left to find that there was no store. In fact, it was 10 blocks away. I had a big dinner that night and by the time I got back to my room, I was soaked through. Also, there was no coffee in my room when I got there. I had to take some off the cart in the hall. Then, they print in theri info book about the hotel that complimentary coffee with be served in the lobby from 6 to 7 a.m. and so I dressed and went downstairs only to be told that they haven't done that in years, so I think they should revise their info. Also, I think a periodic check should be made of the remotes in the rooms. Mine was dead and so was my son who was in the room next door. Other than that, my two nights, 3 days spent in the hotel during a big snowstorm was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants are nearby.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monmouth Beach, NJ
Feb 27, 2010

The Good, the bad and the Ugly..

I liked this hotel b/c of the friendly staff. What I didn't like was when I asked a person at the front desk where a Verizon store was, she told me it was 2 streets away. So, during a big snowstorm, I left to find that there was no store. In fact, it was 10 blocks away. I had a big dinner that night and by the time I got back to my room, I was soaked through. Also, there was no coffee in my room when I got there. I had to take some off the cart in the hall. Then, they print in theri info book about the hotel that complimentary coffee with be served in the lobby from 6 to 7 a.m. and so I dressed and went downstairs only to be told that they haven't done that in years, so I think they should revise their info. Also, I think a periodic check should be made of the remotes in the rooms. Mine was dead and so was my son who was in the room next door. Other than that, my two nights, 3 days spent in the hotel during a big snowstorm was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants are nearby.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ffld Cty, Connecticut
Feb 18, 2010

Barclay NY - It's all about the staff

The Barclay is well situated for enjoying mid-town Manhattan. The facility is solidly mid tier, 4 stars is a bit of a stretch. I was very impressed by the service, from concierge (11 Madison Park reservations) to the bell Captain and doormen I received 5 star treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top