InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 East 48th St, New York, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
170 reviews
Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The... See full review

  • Melissa HS
  • May 26, 2014
Great vacation value!!!

Great location close to Grand Central Station and subways, walk to 5th Ave, cozy diners within 2... See full review

  • MrSept1966
  • Apr 25, 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrien F.
Business
Singapore
Sep 4, 2014

Right in the middle of everything!!

Friendly customer service throughout my stay. In town for business, and some light exploring. Walking distance to main attractions. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NyMB820
Business
Westchester, new york
Aug 4, 2014

One night stay

When I made the reservation I was told the hotel did not offer room service or mini bars since the hotel was closing for renovation at the end of August. However, they failed to mention that the hotel also did not have in-room entertainment. The hotel its self is in an ok location, and the lobby is stunning. However, the rest of the hotel was a total disappointment. The hotel rooms were what I would expect from a two-star motel. I was so disappointed. That being said, I will try the hotel after renovations and see if it rises up to the standard that their name usual conveys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BG visitor
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Jun 30, 2014

convenient, comfortable, quiet and elegant

This was our first stay at the Barclay and I booked it rather late so was very pleasantly surprised at how nice it was for the price. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, and it was quiet. The TV, shower, etc. were all up-to-date and worked well. No long waits for elevators, and staff were helpful and friendly when asked. The city maps available at the concierge desk made navigating city transportation a breeze. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reasonable expectations
Business
Worldwide
Jun 2, 2014

Very poor example of an intercontinental

I stay at many hotels (including Intercontinentals around the world) and his hotel disappoints in many ways. I was promised a VIP reception and package & also a room upgrade (I am also a IHG Gold member) but from the moment I checked in, everything was very poor. The staff attitude was very arrogant and condescending and I felt extremely unwelcome. The room was tiny, poorly furnished, tired and in need of updating. The bathroom was barely big enough to stand in and was quite unclean in many areas (hair & dust behind toilet, door and under sink). I waited nearly 2 hours for luggage and some packages to come to my room - in the end I had to go done and bring them myself. I tried calling the 'instant service' on the phone several times and they either never answered, transferred me to another never answered extension or just left me waiting. Unacceptable in a so called ''upmarket' hotel, never mind an intercontinental. IIHG please note: there is no club lounge and breakfast for one at $40 plus is outrageous. Try the 2 restaurants 50 feet away for much better service and quality and cheaper price. I do not recommend this hotel in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pao2011
Business
Austin, TX, USA
May 28, 2014

Paper Thin Walls

We heard the couple next door going at it all night. We thought that for $300 a night we'd have better sound proofing but no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the Barclay bar has some organic cocktails

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa HS
Business
Springfield, IL
May 26, 2014

Absolutely Fabulous.

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, but the bathroom is a bit small- but it was built in 1926! The location was close to the family we visited but also close to Grand Central Station, 30 Rock and the American Girl Store. Room service was 24 hour and breakfast buffet was open at convenient time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little sandwich/breakfast place on Lexington at 48th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobby12001
Business
Mt. Pleasant, SC
May 26, 2014

Great stay

We stayed at the Intercontinental Barclay at mid town east. It was close to Times Square and we walked to Central Park, Rockefeller Center, the theater district, shopping on 5th avenue. The staff was helpful with suggestions on restaurants. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caffe Linda is a great little Italian restaurant that has excellent dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMac
Business
PA
May 6, 2014

Check in waiting list

Hotel's check in time is at 3 pm. I arrived for check in after 3 pm and the receptionist informed me that i was on a "waiting list" for check in. She asked me for my tel # and informed that she will call me when a room was available. Upon inquiry, she stated that since the housekeeping was falling behind, my room was "not ready". To add to that, she could not give me any time frame when my room will be ready. I waited for almost an hour in the hotel lobby without any courtesy shown by the hotel authorities for their inefficiency. I had to re-approach another receptionist who finally got me a room. It was a very unpleasant experience, considering the fact that in spite of charging top dollars for my room and after a tiring trip, I was kept waiting in the lobby. The hotel staff were very inefficient and did not show any courtesy to correct their lack of professionalism. I will not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DidiInVenice
Business
Venice, FL
May 5, 2014

Great get away to NYC!

Very classy and clean NYC location! Just a walk, cab ride or subway trip away from everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee of lovely Charleston
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 29, 2014

Faboulous time with friends in the city

You could not ask for a better NYC location, the service was impeccable, the room was lovely, and breakfast was a delight. Faboulous experience. I was visiting friends and taking a class at NYU (great combination) Strongly recommend, great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When in NYC you must try the dining experience of Eataly located at 200 5th Ave. There are 27 Eataly stores in the world 10 of which are located in Italy. Down the street is ABC Carpet and Home, a NYC icon. Happy Travels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top