$522 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Hotel Plaza Athenee

5 stars
37 East 64th Street, New York, NY 10065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
36 reviews
My favorite hotel in NYC

I'm very happy to return here. It's perfectly located and understated hotel with exceptional... See full review

  • Julia G
  • Jul 21, 2014
Fabulous. Amazing

This hotel always makes you feel like royalty. Very very special See full review

  • Grb super stud
  • Apr 2, 2014
Well-respected grand European style boutique hotel in Manhattan
Following a recent multimillion dollar renovation, guests relish staying at the "new" Hotel Plaza Athenee. It is elegant, extremely comfortable, and understated, but pampers guests with outstanding service. Located in a quiet, atmospheric tree-lined residential street on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, guests at Hotel Plaza Athenee can live life like a local New Yorker in the surroundings of many traditional New York townhouses.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Guests feel like they are staying in an authentic New York neighborhood
  • Complimentary use of the business and fitness centers
  • Exclusive use of the luxurious four-suite spa
Hotel Plaza Athenee Rooms
Each of the 142 rooms at the Hotel Plaza Athenee is individually styled to the highest standards.  Find a comfortable sitting area along with plasma televisions with access to 300 channels and on-demand movies to keep the most ardent viewer entertained. Deep soaking tubs, marble baths, and dual sinks mean that guests are able to spread out in the bathroom. Climb into a turned-down bed and sleep between luxurious Italian Sferra linen sheets at night. Contemporary furnishings, a sitting area, writing desks and sensitive lighting provide an atmosphere to suit most occasions. The suites have living rooms and full kitchenettes that are ideal for a long stay. For an ideal spot to relax after a busy day or a romantic encounter, choose a suite with an enclosed terrace. For even more atmosphere, select one with an outdoor balcony and relax while enjoying the twinkling lights of the Manhattan skyline. All Hotel Plaza Athenee guests feel pampered while staying at this fine hotel, but for ultimate pampering, consider staying in one of the two presidential suites, which are truly palatial.
Things To Do:
  • Central Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (0.9 mi/1.4 km) 
  • Times Square (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Ground Zero Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Bloomingdale's Department Store (3.4 mi/5.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking facilities available for a fee
  • Pets are allowed in the property with a $125 per stay pet fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7666 -73.9683
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
JFK International Airport.
Area description
Prime location on the fashionable Upper East Side of Manhattan, 5 blocks to Midtown Manhattan, Located on a quiet, tree-lined street surrounded by the lovely townhouses of East 64th Street One block from Central Park Madison Avenue, considered by many as the best shopping street in New York City, is just steps away from the hotel, Walking distance to the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Whitney Museum and the Frick Collection, Walking distance to Barney's, Bloomingdale's and Bergdorf Goodman Department stores. 12 miles from LaGuardia Airport, 16 miles from JFK and 23 miles from Newark Liberty Airport. The closest subway stations to the hotel are: 4, 5, 6, N, R, W trains at 59th Street and Lexington F and V trains at 63rd and Lexington N, R, W trains at 5th Avenue.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza Athenee also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Plaza Athenee Rooms

Classic King
King bedded room with writing desk, 2 chairs and occasional table, marble bathrooms, plasma TV and CD player or ipod docking station. The style is classic European elegance. Some classic rooms have a pantry. These rooms are located on floors 2-4 and the average size is 320 sq ft (30 sq meters).
Superior King
Well appointed king-bedded guestroom featuring new dcor with a European townhouse feel. Fabrics are in either a cinnamon and yellow scheme or a more muted grey, beige and mint green palette. French Beaux-Arts furnishings, plasma TV, CD player or ipod docking station and marble bathrooms, some with stall shower. Some Superior rooms have a pantry. These rooms are located on Floors 2-16 and the average size is 330 sq ft (31 square meters). These rooms have interior and city views.
Deluxe King
King bedded luxury guestroom with sweeping city skyline views or front facing views overlooking the residences of a quiet, tree-lined street. These guestrooms are newly renovated and feature the sumptuous dcor of a European townhouse, French Beaux-Arts furnishings, plasma TV, CD player or ipod docking station, marble bathrooms, some with stall shower and dual sinks. Fabrics are in either a cinnamon and yellow scheme or more muted grey, beige and mint green palette. These rooms are located on floors 3-16 and the average size is 365 square feet (34 square meters).
Classic Suite
Spacious One Bedroom Suite at 670 sq ft (62 sq meters). Elegant European townhouse dcor with front facing views of the residences on this tree-lined street. Master bedroom, separate living room with hardwood floors, fully equipped kitchenettes with microwave, stove, refridgerator and coffeemaker. Master bathroom with dual sinks, separate shower and deep soaking tub and additional half bathroom off the living room area, plasma TV's, Ipod docking stations.
Executive King
King bedded room with writing desk, 2 chairs and occasional table, marble bathrooms, plasma TV and CD player or ipod docking station. The style is classic European elegance. These rooms are located on floors 2-4 and the average size is 295 sq ft (27.4 sq meters).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Park Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.2 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.2 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.2 mi
  • Barney's: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.2 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.2 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.2 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.2 mi
  • Barney's: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.2 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lever House: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.6 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.6 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.6 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.6 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.7 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.7 mi
  • Broadway: 0.7 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.7 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Arabelle" is the stunning backdrop for modern American cuisine. This elegant gold-domed room with murano glass and brass chandeliers combines a touch of Europe and Asia. The chiffon colored walls with murals of pagodas and faux conservatory windows create a serene and soothing mood. This highly rated Zagat restaurant features creative, seasonal menus including Seared Ocean Striped Bass, Maine Lobster Salad and Herb Roasted Loin of Lamb. Sunday brunch is an event not to be missed. Guests enjoy a buffet of steamed lobster, chilled shrimp, salads and sliced meats then order off of the Entree menu and are treated to a dessert buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza Athenee

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr.critical
Business
tn
Mar 26, 2012

great location

Bathrooms are exceptionally small. Hotel restaurant is expensive. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great neighborhood restaurants within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh99999
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 19, 2012

Great hotel

Would highly recommend this hotel. The amenities are great, the staff are friendly, and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tessy
Business
South Florida
Oct 24, 2011

weekend get away

excellent service and location, we were upgraded but rooms are a tad small but clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillipe...Best chinese food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ankit
Business
Glendale, AZ, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Value for money

the experience was amazing. The hotel was perfect, the staff was friendly. The only problem was that the room given had no view and there was very bad reception. But overall the hotel and location is very good. Also be prepared to pay for bell room service and room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 12, 2011

Nice Hotel

The hotel has gone through a nice renovation and to our surprise they upgraded us to a 'superior room' but my room wasn't ready. Instead, I was 'upgraded' to a room that was opposite a laundry and a linen's room and the doors were banging all night long. After I brought this to the attention to the front desk, they changed my room for my final night. The gym is nice and hotel is close to Central Park if you are a jogger. the area is very nice and good restos close by. Also within walking distance of Metropolitan Museum for 'Savage Beauty' exhibit for Alex McQueen. Get there early because the crowds are insane!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Warning: Don't eat in the hotel restaurant - Dinner for two = $`128.00 and breakfast for cereal, juice, and tea came to $78.00 and the wait staff hovers like a helicopter and all four of them thought I was going to hand out bills like a U.A.E. prince.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 28, 2011

A pleasant discovery

First time I stayed at this East Side hotel.[...]Was very pleased. I had to make a quick trip into NY on business. Spotless, very comfortable, nicely-appointed rooms. Very quiet. Helpful staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAB
Business
Virginia
May 28, 2011

Perfect Choice

We chose Plaza Athenee for it' s location (near NY Prebyterian Hospital). The accommodations, staff, services, cleanliness and food at this hotel were extraordinary. Rooms were extremely quiet. Room service food was exceptional. Not one criticism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Atlantic Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris
May 9, 2011

Bad Start

Arriving at the hotel after an 8 hour flight, we are given a room with a window that looks on to the side of 2 other buildings with all their air conditioners and very little light in the room. As we were here for 7 nights we said this wasn't good enough and were given another room with a queen size bed which was too small for the 2 of us. Next day, I insist on changing or I leave the hotel with the consequences for the hotel [...]. We finally were given a nice room. Conclusion, at this price you shouldn't have to push so hard [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison and 5th at your doorstep

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brassman
Business
ny and ca
Apr 23, 2011

Old world charm and quiet sophistication

my wife and I got away for an elegant uptown dinner shopping and museum and romantic evening . We were greeted with propriety and reserved graciousness. the staff was very accomodating in an authentic unhurried way. The hotel was full however we felt like we were private guests. The hotel is on 64th st and remains in a quiet location steps from shopping on Madison Ave.Museums and the Park. We had a light snack at the restaurant and dined at Daniel a block away. Everyone at the hotel was discreet , respectful , charming and smart. i will return to this hotel sooner than i thought. Old world charm and sophistication and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

daniel is an exceptional restaurant one block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gorcamp
Business
Toronto, ON
Mar 29, 2011

Spring Break

Our four day stay at the Plaza-Athenee was as close to perfect as one could expect. We needed two rooms, preferably adjoining. We arrived early the day of check-in and found we had adjoining rooms and one was ready and waiting. The other was ready by noon. It was a good start and we were very impressed. The rooms were all that could be expected for a luxury hotel. Everything worked and everything was extra clean -- and they were large by NYC standards. The staff at the hotel was very friendly. There was no 'attitude' anywhere. Our names were remembered and used by the staff that we encountered more than once. The location was ideal -- upper east side -- a safe neighborhood within walking distance to museums, galleries, good shopping and restaurants. We had a great week and would return to that hotel whenever we have the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For stays longer than a few day, a NYC Subway card (MetroCard) is an ideal purchase. It provides unlimited use of subways and buses and will save many steps and much time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top