$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Hotel Plaza Athenee

5 stars
View map of 37 East 64th Street, New York, NY 10065

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza Athenee

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kitchen Dude
Business
Virginia, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Graet weekend getaway!

From the minute that we arrived ,everything was as it was supposed to be. Room was ready. Staff was great. Couldn't have asked for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If using Amtrak from Penn station, get the cab to drop you at the 31st and 8th avenue entrance. It will save a lot of walking in the terminal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr.critical
Business
tn
Mar 26, 2012

great location

Bathrooms are exceptionally small. Hotel restaurant is expensive. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great neighborhood restaurants within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh99999
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 19, 2012

Great hotel

Would highly recommend this hotel. The amenities are great, the staff are friendly, and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tessy
Business
South Florida
Oct 24, 2011

weekend get away

excellent service and location, we were upgraded but rooms are a tad small but clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillipe...Best chinese food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ankit
Business
Glendale, AZ, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Value for money

the experience was amazing. The hotel was perfect, the staff was friendly. The only problem was that the room given had no view and there was very bad reception. But overall the hotel and location is very good. Also be prepared to pay for bell room service and room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 12, 2011

Nice Hotel

The hotel has gone through a nice renovation and to our surprise they upgraded us to a 'superior room' but my room wasn't ready. Instead, I was 'upgraded' to a room that was opposite a laundry and a linen's room and the doors were banging all night long. After I brought this to the attention to the front desk, they changed my room for my final night. The gym is nice and hotel is close to Central Park if you are a jogger. the area is very nice and good restos close by. Also within walking distance of Metropolitan Museum for 'Savage Beauty' exhibit for Alex McQueen. Get there early because the crowds are insane!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Warning: Don't eat in the hotel restaurant - Dinner for two = $`128.00 and breakfast for cereal, juice, and tea came to $78.00 and the wait staff hovers like a helicopter and all four of them thought I was going to hand out bills like a U.A.E. prince.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 28, 2011

A pleasant discovery

First time I stayed at this East Side hotel.[...]Was very pleased. I had to make a quick trip into NY on business. Spotless, very comfortable, nicely-appointed rooms. Very quiet. Helpful staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAB
Business
Virginia
May 28, 2011

Perfect Choice

We chose Plaza Athenee for it' s location (near NY Prebyterian Hospital). The accommodations, staff, services, cleanliness and food at this hotel were extraordinary. Rooms were extremely quiet. Room service food was exceptional. Not one criticism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Atlantic Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris
May 9, 2011

Bad Start

Arriving at the hotel after an 8 hour flight, we are given a room with a window that looks on to the side of 2 other buildings with all their air conditioners and very little light in the room. As we were here for 7 nights we said this wasn't good enough and were given another room with a queen size bed which was too small for the 2 of us. Next day, I insist on changing or I leave the hotel with the consequences for the hotel [...]. We finally were given a nice room. Conclusion, at this price you shouldn't have to push so hard [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison and 5th at your doorstep

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brassman
Business
ny and ca
Apr 23, 2011

Old world charm and quiet sophistication

my wife and I got away for an elegant uptown dinner shopping and museum and romantic evening . We were greeted with propriety and reserved graciousness. the staff was very accomodating in an authentic unhurried way. The hotel was full however we felt like we were private guests. The hotel is on 64th st and remains in a quiet location steps from shopping on Madison Ave.Museums and the Park. We had a light snack at the restaurant and dined at Daniel a block away. Everyone at the hotel was discreet , respectful , charming and smart. i will return to this hotel sooner than i thought. Old world charm and sophistication and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

daniel is an exceptional restaurant one block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top