$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Hotel Plaza Athenee

5 stars
View map of 37 East 64th Street, New York, NY 10065

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza Athenee

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGM1960
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 29, 2013

Great hotel on Upper east side

Very nice people work at Hotel Plaza Athenee. Hotel is exceptioanally clean and comfortable. It sits on a wonderful street in a resedential neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many nice dining spots within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retina Doc
Business
North Carolina
Jun 3, 2013

Simply the best

I have been staying at this hotel for nearly 20 years. It does not get any better - perfect size, perfect neighborhood, perfect staff, perfect city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison Avenue is a delight

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelDoc01
Business
Seattle
Apr 17, 2013

Best 5 Star Deal in Manhattan

Welcome to the Plaza Athenee! You have stumbled across a real treat, and will not be disappointed. These rooms are some of the largest you will ever find in NYC. And the location - walking distance to Central Park, Barney's NY, FAO Shwartz, and the Vacheron Constantine store make it pretty well situated for anything you need to see, do, or buy! For a price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lolly150
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 15, 2013

Plaza Athenee

Doesn't get much better. The staff are over the top, accommodating and friendly. Room elegant and comfortable. Room service food excellent. Location perfect. Very safe. Highly recommend! Can not wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alice's Tea Cup Le Pain Quotitian

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MK World Traveller
Business
Chicago
Apr 12, 2013

Business plus pleasure trip

Superb boutique hote. Spotless rooms, daily turn-down, ect. Staff is plentiful, experienced and helpful. Quiet, perfect upper east side experience near to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like cigars, Club Macanudo is just one block away. One of the only remaining places for the public in NY in which one can purchase and enjoy a fine, premium Cigar. (63 Street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buddy Best
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Dec 17, 2012

A Xmas Weekend in New York

Good Hotel. The room was clean. Absoluitely no view: they put us in a room a back of Hotel, but I was a "one-nighter", so I didn't care. Staff was nice and obliging. Emily wanted a massage on short notice (on a Saturday, yet) and they obliged--for $286, which must be a new world record. On balance, it was a nice experience, although I prefer the Regency (which was not available, or priced out of sight).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While it is nice to be in New York City just before Xmas, everybody thinks so too, so it is a madhouse and very costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R Squared
Business
Pasadena California
Jul 27, 2012

Short Business Trip

The hotel was a nice diversion from the typical midtown hotel. My impression was that the restaurant was generally frequented by local neighborhood residents and few hotel patrons. While the food was good, the atmostphere was a bit geriatric. No bar no atmosphere. The business center was something that was under construction while I was there, so its lack of availability was a bit of an inconvenience. Regardless, I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mgrl
Business
Mexico city
Jul 5, 2012

Plaza Athenee

Excelent in evry aspect, the only thing i shall sugest is better menu in the restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
timsunrise
Business
sunrise fl
Apr 29, 2012

outstanding experence

first i want to say i had wonderful time at nyc. the hotel was first rate. i sent several email to the hotel and each respond quickly and gave me the answer i requested. Mr. Sebastian Wurst the Hotel Manager and staff was great! one request was to have my pillowcase monogramed and it was done. paid extra but worth it. At anytime i can have my room cleaned. it always done within few hours. Each time i came back it was done. The room was superior king and its amazing! 16th floor with corner unit that had great view of nyc. the room was clean and also newly remodeled. The location was perfect, quiet but close to shop,food and subway. Once again staff was helpful nice its truely five star. Next time i visit i will stay that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

in hotel dining is very personal and quiet. if you need to save money walk just two block east to Lexington Avenue you can find many places to eat and shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2Wire
Business
Stamford, CT
Apr 3, 2012

Great week-end in NYC

Location was on a nice quiet street.The entire staff was friendly and made you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top