$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,337 reviews
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
Fantastic

A perfect place to stay. Very friend place to have fun. See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Mar 19, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1337)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 1337
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Althea The Cat
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 28, 2014

Great Location, Average Hotel

The location of this hotel is great - directly across the street from Penn Station/Madison Square Garden. The hotel itself is outdated & tired, but it's clean enough and comfortable enough. My room was surprisingly quiet for a hotel in NYC. If you don't require a luxury hotel, then this place is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Escape1
New York
Dec 23, 2013

Hotel Penn

Was what it was. a place to sleep for an extended weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAMBCHOP 239
FORIDA
Jun 22, 2013

2 DAY STAY MIDTOWN MANHATTAN

THE ROOM WAS A BIT TINY, IT WAS LESS THAN CLEAN. THE SHEETS DID NOT FIT NOR STAY ON THE BED . i WAS NOT IMPRESSED AND IT WAS A NUISANCE BEYOND WORDS. OTHER THAN THAT THE LOCATION IS WHERE THE VALUE IS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay I heart NY
Columbus OH
Apr 8, 2013

this is New York

This is an old well used hotel, It is clean, compact and an international melting pot. If you require a plush spa like hotel-SPEND the big bucks and stay at one, if you are on a budget and want easy acccess to touristville USA-then this is a bargain for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renmario2
Toronto, Canada
Apr 2, 2013

Not great, but has everything you need

Staying at this hotel is a little bit like flying with Southwest or Ryanair. You get good price, a great location, just don't be expecting luxury - and anything that you might want is likely going to cost you additional fees. All that said, the hotel provides what most people going to New York are looking for - a clean room, a perfect central location and a cheap price (compared to other hotels in the area). The staff is fairly rude and to the point, but they get what they need to do done. The room is basic but provides a comfortable bed, TV and a clean bathroom. Aside from this, there was little else I was looking for in my stay, since I was not planning on spending much time at the hotel anyway. If you're coming to see the city and don't want to spend a fortune on the hotel, this is a good option. If you want the hotel to be an experience in and of itself, then try The Hilton or the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Little Dog Daddy
Tennessee
Feb 21, 2013

Great location, accepts pets, but otherwise not so good.

The location is perfect. It is wonderful that we could have our dogs with us in the room. However, the amenities and service were substandard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacom 21
PR
Jan 29, 2013

MCAT Trip

It has a great location but it needs too much improvement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison Square Garden

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacom 21
PR
Dec 13, 2012

Bday Getaway

Needs more refurbishment, room cleaness, and update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jay I heart NY
Columbus OH
Jul 16, 2012

could be cleaned up

I've stayed here twice before. The Penn is in a great location, one of the least expensive hotels in the city and does work with (large tour) groups, however... Why is the nice, large lobby so dark?- In this day and age they should be getting more bang for the buck with the light bulbs. Also why are the room walls so dirty and marked up? The new carpets are nice and the curtains too, so why can't they paint or wash the walls? And with such a young and international clientele I find it hard to believe that the rooms are not wifi accessable included in the room charge. Also the Lindy's located off the lobby needs to step it up, a little more personality from the staff would go along way and could charm the tourists into staying and spending some money-after all isn't that the whole idea?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like crowds, take a different walking route to the times square area often and and you'll always see somrthing new.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Passionate
London
May 29, 2012

Hotel Penn

Hotel and staff, fantastic. I cannot understand why people put such horrible comments. Guess all they did was stay in the hotel. Yes it needs a lick of paint, but like everything that is used so much, you do have wear and tear, very understable. The hotel inspite of being 164 Years old was so central, staff so halpful, even the domestic staff. We had a brillant time in New York. People who wrote horrible comments must be living in dirt places at the moment, hence they were expecting to leave in a palace paying what they did, the hotel did not tie a ball and chain to anyone's leg so they should have checked out and found another hotel. A holiday is what one makes of it, come rain sun storm or tsunami. Our room was cleaned everyday, clean bathrub, clean sheets and very comfy bed - we only spent about 6 hours everyday in our hotel - to sleep and the rest of the time, we visited the interesting spots Big Apple offers - mind you we have travelled the world and have properties in all parts of the world, we have enjoyed all our holidays. People who have complained do not know how to enjoy themselves on a budget - they have no life - they need to learn how to enjoy themselves and get a life. We only live once, here today gone tomorrow. . I have recommend this hotel to others and will stay at the Hotel Penn again. Our great thanks to all at the Hotel Penn. The Ferns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You only need a hotel to rest after an enjoyable day, shower after a great time, satisfaction follows.

Back to menu Return to top