$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,030 reviews
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
Great location and good price for New York!

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location and good price for New York! The only odd thing was I had to... See full review

  • odri
  • Aug 29, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1030)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 1030
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grogser
Business
Kildare
Dec 4, 2014

Dreadful

I have stayed in this hotel omn several occasiona and I always say I will not return really because 1) The staff are so rude 2) The hotel is not very clean 3) The rooms have mould on the ceilings which is not good to be breathing in. 4) I was charged for wifi €15 per night I wasnt asked do I want this I was just told when I was checking in to hand over my credit card. 5) I also had to pay $5 per bag that I had left with the baggage holder in the hotel I have never experience this before oh and this was no included in there usual tip. 6) There is also not enough amenities in the room. 7) I always had to buy toilet paper and shower gel even though it was provided for in the past. I know this hotel has a great location, however, I would never go back here again. I know 6 couples who are going to New York in two weeks and they asked me would I recommend the hotel and I said not on your nelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jersey Gardens is the best mall/outlet for bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend traveler1
Business
San Juan, PR
Nov 30, 2014

Good Location

The hotel is only for sleeping. It has excelente location. Although, you can see right away is not a five star hotel. Would stay again, just because of the location and cleanliness. This hotel needs a general makeover desperately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building is very near. Time Square and Rockerfeller Plaza is about 20-25 min. walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wifeandkids
Business
new york
Nov 24, 2014

great location poor comfort

Not so clean, not comfortable room, no view (from 16th floor!) , dirty towels... but hotel's location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ellen
Business
Ireland
Nov 15, 2014

Great Location

I wasnt sure what to expect from this hotel after reading a lot of the reviews posted. I was pleasantly surprised, the lobby area was nice with lots of seating. Our room was on the 16th floor and was perfectly acceptable apart from the fact that it needed a lick of paint. The door to the room was a little strange - looked like it was made of green metal and reminded me of a prison door. The location of the hotel was fantastic - right beside Macys and close to Empire State and we were within walking distance of all the main attractions. I would stay in the Pennysylvania again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

visit the 24 hour Tick Tock Diner on nearby 34th street for great breakfast at reasonable price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vinchenzospoonjanja
Business
London
Aug 27, 2014

Not the best.

This hotel has a great location. The room we had needs some serious attention. It was more like a dormitory than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KerryB
Business
Scotland
Aug 25, 2014

Not good

After a long flight from the UK I walked in to the hotel thinking this looks beautiful! Got to the check in desk and was sorely disappointed! The lady was more interested in her computer and taking our credit card incase of damages! Never got eye contact, hardly understood what I was being told/asked! This was the main experience with most of the front desk staff and some were even rude when asked about wifi! As a large hotel I expected much better customer service but the staff seem disinterested in that! The rooms are also in severe need of updating and proper cleaning! We walked in to a crisp left over from the last guest on the floor! Gross! The only saving grace in this hotel was the staff who manned the shops and restaurants, there we received proper customer service and friendliness! Also the doormen were great and helpful. Rest of staff need serious customer service training to be the face of the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location and so close to lots of main attractions! Empire State Building and Maddison square gardens right on your door step

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dario from Chicagoland
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2014

Sightseeing trip in NYC

One basically pays for the location, unless your favorite window view is another wall and hotel windows...But that's not that important since one would be out all day, and in some cases, most of the night anyway...The room was the basic one needs to sleep and rest....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One word: Halal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svgh
Business
dallas, tx
Jul 13, 2014

Great vacation in NY

Great location. It was a bit noisy because the room was above the AC units, and it did not make a difference if it was even 17th floor. I reccomend the hotel if you only use it to sleep. Be aware that the internet is not free there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ceicilia09
Business
boston
Jul 6, 2014

overall its good

We stayed for 2 night here. Nice location but the room need more upgraded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nayar
Business
Tennessee
Jun 19, 2014

A big NO !

suffocating rooms, Stinking bathrooms, No maintanance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top