$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,215 reviews
birthday weekend

I've stayed here before and it's a great place to stay if you want to be centrally located and plan... See full review

  • Jon W.
  • Jun 28, 2015
Great wknd getaway

Check in was great friendly staff and slept really well. See full review

  • Jean Paul S.
  • Apr 22, 2015

Experience the best of midtown at the Hotel Pennsylvania New York. Don't let the hotel's grand lobby fool you; the hotel strives to create a quiet and comfortable experience for their guests. The decor is modern with unique historic accents that date back to the building's opening in 1919. It can be hard to find accommodations that are truly pet friendly, but the hotel staff loves their canine guests. During the Westminster Dog Show, the hotel offers a slew of dog amenities like grooming and fitness areas, an on-site relieving area and the city's biggest indoor dog spa.

Highlights

Good food is integral in any getaway, so enjoy five on-site dining options. The Statler Grill offers specialty meals like juicy New York steaks and the freshest in seafood. Book a reservation early because people from all over New York City flock to the doors of this iconic restaurant. City Perk offers quick options to guests who are short on time but want something delicious to refuel with. Wet your whistle with a hot cup of joe or quell your rumbling belly with an on-the-go snack before heading out for some fast-paced New York sightseeing. Keep the family happy with legendary NYC hot dog's at Nathan's or beloved Tim Horton's pastries.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 1215
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
2.8

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linda F.
Business
N/A
Jun 24, 2015

Very dissappointed w/room & Desk personel

Celebrating a 1st vacation for my 17 year old grand daughter my 69 th birthday day ,my sisters 70 th birthday,also my daughters get away .The hotel main floor was awesome, the rooms are dated stuffy and not very clean. the view through dirty windows was 3 brick walls (10 th floor) . Went to the service desk and was offered a different room but would have to do it @ 1:00 pm only the next day. We had lots to see and not much time besides if they had a better rooms why were we given the one we had..We had to request towels everyday .The location was a blessing easy in and out to airport w/luggage...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sally
Business
N/A
Jun 6, 2015

Family trip

Hotel in an ideal location and perfect if you are looking for a room to use as a base for sightseeing. Hotel room was clean, we had plenty of hot water and clean towels daily. Decor was tired. Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muzzer momma
Business
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

New York,

Went to New York with my granddaughter,we had a great time site seeing,and shopping of course,hotel Pennsylvania was in a great location opposite Madison square gardens, a little noisey at times didn't really bother us to much, we found the staff very helpful and friendly, not the cleanest of hotels could do with a makeover but to be honest it was good value for money, would possibly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NUBYA S.
Business
N/A
May 22, 2015

Untidy Rooms

Unfortunately the rooms, especially the bath, were really untidy. There were a lot of stains on the walls. We had to be transferred from one room to another because the first room had mice in it! Hopefully the Hotel's management can read the reviews as they have to address these ASAP! The staff though were good. Location was excellent - close to everything. It would be great though if guests could avail of free WIFI for real.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol S.
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Great holiday

Hotel was very basic,,but was clean and fresh towels each morning.great location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AYMAN A.
Business
Cairo
May 5, 2015

Awesome for family trips

Not bad. Great location. For shopping and dinning if you want to see manhatten

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nidal S.
Business
N/A
Apr 19, 2015

Family

The hotel not organized,long line for check in, room dirty, linen very dirty and smells, the room over all very old furniture and painting, heater air conditioning not working. The staff uncooperative. It was very bad experience for me my booking was for 3 nights I left the hotel from 2nd night. I do not advice any body to go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harry B.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Great location

Great location but that's all the good I could say bout this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deborah W.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Great location. Definitely go back.

We had a great stay. Although the rooms need a bit of a do up our room was super clean. The location is fab and we found the staff very helpful and friendly. The wifi was a bit hit and miss, however, that could have been our end and not theirs. We look forward to returning soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pedro m.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

good family trip

nice staff,hotel well located ,rooms could used fixing , new t.v. would not hurt,even a radio inside the romos.housekeeping staff very nice and pro, as well as the front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top