$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,069 reviews
Great location

Not the fanciest hotel, it's older, and the room I got was a bit dark and depressing, but the... See full review

  • Louise C.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Nice location

Nice place and great location if you're looking to spend 99 of your time exploring nyc. See full review

  • Luke BBBBBB
  • Jan 14, 2015
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1069)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 1069
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina M.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Awesome trip

This hotel was very convenient and priced well. It was close to all major attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arsenio R.
Business
SAN JUAN
Jan 6, 2015

New York Christmas Vacations

The room acquired 519-A was not very comfortable. There was no table and chair available to sit and review our vacation plan. The ventilation system did not work quite properly, actually we turn it off because the room was unusually warmer even though its was winter outside. The TV and Cable and room heater shared two electric outlet , the three could not be connected at the same time. Not enough outlets for charging cells and tablets in the whole room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adina L.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Family vacation

Great Localization, need to improve the cleaning service. They did not give room services every day of the stay in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca M P
Business
Raquette Lake
Dec 29, 2014

Mother/Daughter Trip to the City!

My mom and I stayed here for three nights in December 2013 right before I flew back to Mexico where I was working at the time. The location is fantastic. Check-in was horrendous. Easily a 90-minute line. The rooms are old, but they are kind of cool because the outer doors look like refrigerator doors from the 1960s. The rug was gross. But whatever! It was a great hotel given the price, and the location couldn't have been better. My mom really liked our room because it had a bathtub. I guess that's common in the US, and I'm just not used to it anymore, but she really liked it (we are both American). The front desk staff were so rude. I asked for help about my shuttle to the airport, and one lady literally refused to help me. When she saw me writing down her name, she ripped her name tag off and stormed away. That was the worst part about our trip. When I stayed in NYC again in July 2014, I would have stayed here again, but it was all booked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bangoai
Business
Honolulu
Dec 29, 2014

good experience

This is my first time ever in NY, everything is huge! and this hotel is in awesome location, just walk down 5 minutes to Time Square from the hotel . We book a city tour right at the hotel services and very enjoy to watch the rain became snow falling down to the river, it's so beautiful! we also walk 5 minutes to the Empires Building and went up to the top. It was lost of fun. I just don't like the door of my room, it look like a coffin cover.. it scare me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca M P
Business
Raquette Lake
Dec 20, 2014

Mother/Daughter Trip to the City!

My mom and I stayed here for three nights in December 2013 right before I flew back to Mexico where I was working at the time. The location is fantastic. Check-in was horrendous. Easily a 90-minute line. The rooms are old, but they are kind of cool because the outer doors look like refrigerator doors from the 1960s. The rug was gross. But whatever! It was a great hotel given the price, and the location couldn't have been better. My mom really liked our room because it had a bathtub. I guess that's common in the US, and I'm just not used to it anymore, but she really liked it (we are both American). The front desk staff were so rude. I asked for help about my shuttle to the airport, and one lady literally refused to help me. When she saw me writing down her name, she ripped her name tag off and stormed away. That was the worst part about our trip. When I stayed in NYC again in July 2014, I would have stayed here again, but it was all booked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy12
Business
UK
Dec 17, 2014

Great Position

The hotel is very well placed for a good time but the hotel is a bit tired and needs renovation and updating. Internet now $10 per day and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bangoai
Business
Honolulu
Dec 17, 2014

good experience

This is my first time ever in NY, everything is huge! and this hotel is in awesome location, just walk down 5 minutes to Time Square from the hotel . We book a city tour right at the hotel services and very enjoy to watch the rain became snow falling down to the river, it's so beautiful! we also walk 5 minutes to the Empires Building and went up to the top. It was lost of fun. I just don't like the door of my room, it look like a coffin cover.. it scare me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grogser
Business
Kildare
Dec 4, 2014

Dreadful

I have stayed in this hotel omn several occasiona and I always say I will not return really because 1) The staff are so rude 2) The hotel is not very clean 3) The rooms have mould on the ceilings which is not good to be breathing in. 4) I was charged for wifi €15 per night I wasnt asked do I want this I was just told when I was checking in to hand over my credit card. 5) I also had to pay $5 per bag that I had left with the baggage holder in the hotel I have never experience this before oh and this was no included in there usual tip. 6) There is also not enough amenities in the room. 7) I always had to buy toilet paper and shower gel even though it was provided for in the past. I know this hotel has a great location, however, I would never go back here again. I know 6 couples who are going to New York in two weeks and they asked me would I recommend the hotel and I said not on your nelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jersey Gardens is the best mall/outlet for bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend traveler1
Business
San Juan, PR
Nov 30, 2014

Good Location

The hotel is only for sleeping. It has excelente location. Although, you can see right away is not a five star hotel. Would stay again, just because of the location and cleanliness. This hotel needs a general makeover desperately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building is very near. Time Square and Rockerfeller Plaza is about 20-25 min. walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top