$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,042 reviews
Taking my 7yr old son on a holiday

Loved it & I certainly woukd stay here again .. Loved the hotel loved NYC & love the USA. ❤️ See full review

  • Leah long legs
  • Dec 21, 2014
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1042)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 1042
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonathan p.
Business
East Rutherford
Dec 21, 2014

last minute stay

the check in line for the room was very long and not enough staff members to helps all the customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoanG
Business
Scotland
Dec 14, 2014

Hotel Pennslyvania

Hotel is in an excellent Central location - near to Empire State Building, Macy's & Madison Square Gardens. Hotel lobby is spectacular but rooms are outdated and need a major freshen up. They were clean though. Staff at check-in were very abrupt and disinterested!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building right behind hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FOXY LADY
Business
LONDON
Dec 3, 2014

horrible room

Both myself and friend was pleasantly surprised how lovely the hotel looked upon entering. Our room was something else. The room was dingy. We did not get one good night sleep all day and night the room was filled with the noise of the elevator going up and down. The bath cracked rusty taps and fittings water took ages to heat up.I could go on and on....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OrbitzUser2014
Business
Chicago
Nov 23, 2014

Great Location, horrible hotel

Hotel was in a perfect location with just a short walk to time square. The lobby was amazing, but it all goes downhill from there. The room barely fit the two beds. Now that is understandable for its location, but it doesn't make up for all of the other problems with the place. The bathroom door wouldn't shut or lock, the shower couldn't be turned off, when the shower was on it was like showering with razor blades, no ventilation in the bathroom led to a pool of water on the floor, and to top it off the heater didn't work. We were told there was a gym, but not able to find it until our last day because the staff didn't even know where it was. Overall, would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shan cao
Business
boston
Nov 21, 2014

good location, bad amenities

the location is good. but the amenities are old! the room is too small. i will not book again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5heryl
Business
scotland
Nov 20, 2014

great location

The location couldn't have been better, but the rooms need to be updated and decorated, though they were clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elixes
Business
Ireland
Nov 19, 2014

Great place to rest ur head

Amy Lavine the woman at the tourist desk was the only good experience I had with the staff as I did not encounter any other members at all just at check in where the man just asked for my card n that was it, the hotel was quiet and old in our room great place for me as I only needed a place to sleep not stay in there was no kettle tea coffe sugar or water nothing in the room but where it is situated made up as it was five minits from everywhere I wanted to be:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5heryl
Business
scotland
Nov 15, 2014

Great location

The reception was nice, but the rooms are basic. One staff member in particular could do with a lesson in customer service. But if you're just there to sleep, you have a train station across the road, subway station next door, an airport bus that stops 2mins away, Macys 2mins away, Times square a 5min walk away, the Empire state building round the corner and you have Madison square gardens across the road. location, location, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a map and use the subway 30 seconds to the right of hotel $2.50 anywhere, and use the airport bus $16 to JFK and its every 30 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clyon
Business
Rio linda california
Sep 25, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania. Manhattan

We booked this hotel in June for September. Arrived from a cruise on Sunday with two other couples and checked in at 11.00. Paid $5 per bag to leave luggage till we could access the rooms at 3.00. Hotel clerk lead us to believe we had reserved three rooms on the 6th floor. However when we arrived at 3. The rooms were not available. Another hotel clerk found three rooms on 14th floor but only one was ready. We had spent 4 hours sightseeing and were ready to unpack, rest, and get ready for dinner. Bottom line, this hotel is not on top of its cleaning and turnover of rooms. Second room was available at 3.30. Third room by 5.30. Totally screwed up our plans for this 3 day extension to our cruise. In addition, the window was stuck open in our room, I called three times on the first day, but they did not fix it until Tuesday. This is an old hotel, apart from our aforementioned problems, we could say it had the feel of old time New York, but dirty carpets and slow housekeeping will deter us from staying here again despite the good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miriam the best
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect location

Perfect location and great view of the Empire State, Nothing else, rooms really old, and doesnt have wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top