$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,214 reviews
birthday weekend

I've stayed here before and it's a great place to stay if you want to be centrally located and plan... See full review

  • Jon W.
  • Jun 28, 2015
Great wknd getaway

Check in was great friendly staff and slept really well. See full review

  • Jean Paul S.
  • Apr 22, 2015
With over 1 million guests each year we are trademarked the Worlds most popular hotel - a great location doesnt have to Be out of reach hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and our surprisingly affordable rates Leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city -each day Our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous NYC Locales within minutes - unbelievable location - unbeatable.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 1214
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kulio
Business
N/A
Jun 7, 2015

Hotel under repair

The hotel was under construction so I got one of the older rooms. It looked like a room in a nursing home. The location was great because it's near Penn Station. I'm sure when the hotel Is updated it will look better. Also the check in line was super long. They should have had more staff at check in. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Girls trip

The hotel is historically old with no updates but our rom was clean, the water was hot, towels were clean. The location was excellent! Easy to walk to tons of stuff and a quick can ride to the rest . Check Ina me out was fast and efficient. Great value. We were 3 friends and asked for a rollaway instead he upgraded us to a huge albeit old room with three double bed. Score?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TatV
Business
jersey city
Apr 23, 2015

never again

awful experience, cold dirty rooms, housekeeping staff with it's not my job attitude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly A.
Business
Northampton
Apr 19, 2015

Hotel Penn

I was anxious about staying here after booking my trip to New York as a package deal - this hotel was in my price range and looked ok online... After booking I read more and more reviews and thought I'd made a huge mistake. This hotel had awful reviews but I could not fault it at all. I have travelled a lot and stayed in a variet of places (both good and bad). Hotel Penn is in a fabulous location seconds away from main station and subway, opposite Madison square Garden, minutes away from Times Square etc, rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels provided each day, staff were friendly and gave us a choice of rooms to pick from. We ended up on 17th floor with a view of the Empire State Building. The only thing I could possibly say was the hotel could do with being updated in terms of decor but it has character which I loved. The whole stay was great and when I go back to NYC hotel penn will be my first choice given the price and location you cannot beat this place. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katy G.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

staff are slow, but room was ok! Fantastic location!

After reading the reviews we were a little dubious about this hotel. When we arrived we did wait for about 30 mins to check in. When checking in they ask you to sign a disclaimer which basically says they're not liable if anything goes missing out of the room!! And to to use a safety deposit box in the lobby! This made us a little uneasy. The hotel needs to improve its security, there are no checks to get up to the rooms, you don't even need to use your keys to use the elevator so random people off the street could potentially just walk around. The room was clean, just out dated. The hotel is old and you can tell, it's in serious need of a refurb. There were lose wires around the room and electricals that didn't look too safe! The bed was supposed to be a double but it was on the small size and they should supply more than 2 pillows. Also, the shower is an experience, it goes hot and cold and sometimes the water wouldn't turn off - again a clear indication the hotel needs to be updated! Location is fantastic! The hotel is opposite Maddison Square gardens and Penn station so almost every main subway line is nearby. It's very easy to nip back to the hotel if you have shopping and as you walk down the street you see the Empire State. The hotel does not provide free wifi, the charge was $11 a day but there is a starbucks just across the street. The guys in the luggage room were lovely, but the hotel charges you $5 per bag! Overall, check in staff are slow, security needs a lot of improvement, room was clean but in need of a refurb. Location is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G. J. D.
Business
Gulfport
Apr 1, 2015

If you go to NYC find a better spot!

The hotel is in a prime spot nowhere from time square! The rooms are very outdated and old. The company need to invest in a remodel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Veronica F.
Business
Alabany
Mar 19, 2015

friends trip

the entrance was nice,leaving the elevator,start looking bad, dirty, room was completely terrible, we have to wait for another room, really, they need to fixed a lot, the location is excellent, but never I will come back again , also the service need a lot more improved , only one person was nice, my friend leave with a very bad impression .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa W.
Business
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

Tower of terror

Very good location but the rooms/corridors are very spooky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaChelle B.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Awesome

The hotel is an old hotel that has been remodeled, which I love. The bathroom could use some updateding, but besides that I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Value valuable
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Good for short period time staying

My friend and I went to NYC for a little something to do. The hotel staff is very nice and patient, but the check-in line is so long the staff is not enough for there to check-in, which slows us a little. Rooms are not that fancy, probably because the hotel is old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top