$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,017 reviews
Couple trip.

Excellent hotel and location. Nice stay, clean and comfortable room. Friendly employees. 100... See full review

  • VLADIMIR M.
  • Aug 15, 2015
great location

I like to stay at the Hotel Pennsylvania because its midtown location makes it easy to get wherever... See full review

  • Jon W.
  • Jul 29, 2015
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.
General

Pennsylvania Hotel New York

Location
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Dining
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Rooms
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Highlights

Good food is integral in any getaway, so enjoy five on-site dining options. The Statler Grill offers specialty meals like juicy New York steaks and the freshest in seafood. Book a reservation early because people from all over New York City flock to the doors of this iconic restaurant. City Perk offers quick options to guests who are short on time but want something delicious to refuel with. Wet your whistle with a hot cup of joe or quell your rumbling belly with an on-the-go snack before heading out for some fast-paced New York sightseeing. Keep the family happy with legendary NYC hot dog's at Nathan's or beloved Tim Horton's pastries.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

★★★
$130
3.8 / 5 395 reviews
★★★
$134
4.2 / 5 285 reviews
★★
$169
3.3 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 106 reviews
★★★
$119
2.1 / 5 40 reviews
★★★
$126
3.6 / 5 90 reviews

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Classic
Superior Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe
Superior Room 1 King Bed
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficient workspace- and in-room- high-speed Internet
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficient workspace- and in-room- high-speed Internet acce

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 1017
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
2.9

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter D.
Family
N/A
Aug 27, 2015

Great Hotel for the money

After reading other sites I didnt know what to expect but I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The check in staff were friendly as were any members of staff I came into contact with. The location is great with the subway next door. The room was in my opinion good. some negatives but all too trivial to mention. In summary a good hotel to which I would go back to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Valencia S.
Family
Buffalo
Jul 27, 2015

Fun in New York

The Hotel is in a great location it is right across the street from Madison Square Garden on 7th Avenue & 32nd Street the train station is also right across the st. form the hotel. Time square is only a couple blocks away in walking distance they have a resturant on every corner also a lot of shopping stores. This is a main strip for the Broadway shows as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy P.
Family
Pittsburgh
Jul 23, 2015

Wonderful weekend in NYC

Having never been to NYC my daughter and I were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Pennsylvania. It is in a great location near subway entrances and Madison Square Garden. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful and friendly - she even upgraded our room at no charge. While not a luxury hotel it is clean, comfortable and quiet. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eileen D.
Family
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

Had booked for a week with my two teenage children.

Would never recommend this hotel to anyone if they required a decent level of cleanliness. I had to complain and complain and complain and come back and come back to reception and continuously show photos of the room to staff to be changed into a room which was better than the one I was given but the concept of a decent bathroom is missing. even the tv did n't work properly, ie only two stations that you could hear. The wifi was very hit and miss!!! One of their employees actually said that the building was condemned in 2008, ...and that it is n't even a one star hotel!!! Location is ideal but would never advise anyone to stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gloria P.
Family
New York
Jul 16, 2015

Awesome family trip

I know the building is old but I think need more maintenance to keep it in better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liang Y.
Family
N/A
Jul 15, 2015

hotel with good location but old

The location is good. But the room is old. Consider the price, it is just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linda F.
Family
N/A
Jun 24, 2015

Very dissappointed w/room & Desk personel

Celebrating a 1st vacation for my 17 year old grand daughter my 69 th birthday day ,my sisters 70 th birthday,also my daughters get away .The hotel main floor was awesome, the rooms are dated stuffy and not very clean. the view through dirty windows was 3 brick walls (10 th floor) . Went to the service desk and was offered a different room but would have to do it @ 1:00 pm only the next day. We had lots to see and not much time besides if they had a better rooms why were we given the one we had..We had to request towels everyday .The location was a blessing easy in and out to airport w/luggage...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sally
Family
N/A
Jun 6, 2015

Family trip

Hotel in an ideal location and perfect if you are looking for a room to use as a base for sightseeing. Hotel room was clean, we had plenty of hot water and clean towels daily. Decor was tired. Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muzzer momma
Family
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

New York,

Went to New York with my granddaughter,we had a great time site seeing,and shopping of course,hotel Pennsylvania was in a great location opposite Madison square gardens, a little noisey at times didn't really bother us to much, we found the staff very helpful and friendly, not the cleanest of hotels could do with a makeover but to be honest it was good value for money, would possibly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NUBYA S.
Family
N/A
May 22, 2015

Untidy Rooms

Unfortunately the rooms, especially the bath, were really untidy. There were a lot of stains on the walls. We had to be transferred from one room to another because the first room had mice in it! Hopefully the Hotel's management can read the reviews as they have to address these ASAP! The staff though were good. Location was excellent - close to everything. It would be great though if guests could avail of free WIFI for real.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top