$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,042 reviews
Taking my 7yr old son on a holiday

Loved it & I certainly woukd stay here again .. Loved the hotel loved NYC & love the USA. ❤️ See full review

  • Leah long legs
  • Dec 21, 2014
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1042)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1042 out of 1042
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
May 31, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The room was small, the carpet was dirty and the water from the shower soaked the bathroom floor, but these problems paled in comparison with the check-in. I arrived around 6:30 PM and saw a long line of people waiting to check-in. In the one hour that I was standing there, the line moved maybe a few feet. There were only two people working at the counter. Since I had just arrived from a long trip, I had to use the bathroom, so I asked someone to hold my place in the line while I went looking for the restroom. I asked a staff member where the bathroom was; he said I had to have checked-in before I could use the restroom! So, I had to get back in the line. After waiting for another 15 minutes, I decided I couldn't take it anymore; so I left the line with my luggage in hand, went out to dinner and came back around midnight when there were only 5 people in line. I noticed in the following days that I was staying there that there was again a long line and again only two people at the counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weston, Fl
Dec 28, 2009

A hole for almost US$200.00 a night!!!!

The worst experience ever, and I've been in [*] but this Hotel should be close immediately. Let me share with you some of the bad experiences I had in this hole:1. It took me 45 minutes, after I get the room's key for me and my family to get inside one bedroom.2. The carpet at the floors' lobby and the bedrooms look like they have been install for more than 20 years without any maintenance, at least not to keep them clean and in good shape.3. No fridge inside the rooms, not even the smallest.4. Etc, etc, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crawl traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2010

Awfull hotel, wouldnt recommend it!!

We had to check out 3 hours later from our check-in. The roof on the 6th floor is falling apart, they gave us a "non smoking" room wich stinked so bad to cigar that was unbareable!! Seriously, for 30 more a night you can get a MUCH better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont buy tickets from scalpers in the madisson square garden, they are all fake!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 11, 2010

"The good,the bad, and the really ugly"

Here for a First Communion. I have never seen rooms that had dirty walls and a bathroom that needed to be updated. This was my first time at your hotel and also my last. The continental breakfast was in a room that was not adequate for all of the people that was here; who ever decided to have a coffee pot the likes of the one in that room. This place was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Majorly dissatisfied customer
Business
Covina, California
Jun 24, 2010

Hotel Hell

They placed us in a closet and called it our room. There was a major plumbing problem in our tiny bathroom and they tore it down w/o our knowledge and just left us a note saying we needed to ask for a new room. When we did, it seemed like the staff was upset that they had to give us a new room. They said it wasn't their problem and we should take up our issues with[...] We never received any apologies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Friend
Business
Kailua HI
Jul 10, 2010

Not As Advertised

I waited in line for nearly 40 minutes at check in. The hotel looked nice in the lobby. When I got to the front of the line the staff member helping me wasn't too helpful. He had somewhat of an unwillingness to answer my questions. I found out I was accidently double charged, but it was handled after a very long time on hold when I called from my room to fix it. The room was not the same or similar to the pictures and description shown on the site. There was a very large spot of dried urine on the carpet in between the room's door, the closet and bathroom's doors. It didn't look like there was an attempt to try to clean it. The bathroom was in disrepair, everything in there was cracked and dirty. Hair from the last person was still on the sink and the toilet hadn't been cleaned in some time clearly. The door to the bathroom was loud and wouldn't shut. The light in the hallway was dim and most of the lights showing the room numbers on the walls were broken. I did however love the location. It was perfect, right by Penn Station. It's a short walk to restaurants, shops and transportation. I also liked the express check out. We had all of our things in there and explored the city a bit, however when it came time to go back and sleep there we couldn't bring ourselves to stay in such a filthy place. We didn't even bother to try for another room, since we saw some of the cleaning staff's methods for cleaning when walking through the hallway, so we checked in elsewhere. It's the best location period! Unfortunately that isn't enough! If the rooms were actually cleaned I would definately stay there again, even if the place was in disrepair and I didn't get the room I paid for. It would still be a good value for the price, considering it's central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops are all around, but there are some interesting shops and nightlife in the lower Eastside, which you can get to by taxi in about 20 minutes depending on traffic or by the F route on the subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sola, Norway
Jul 21, 2010

The Worst Hotel Ever experienced

Thought the Hotel was in a perfect location that was the only good thing about the hotel. It was run down way past time for renovation paint chipping off carpet dirty beyond compare and this is the good stuff about the hotel. It took three rooms before we could get one livable. It felt like the last time they updated the hotel was in 1950 and have not done anything since then. They could not pay me enough to go back to this hotel!! In its current state. Like I said Location was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed traveler
Business
Fairfax Va
Jul 27, 2010

Horrible

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The lobby was very nice and clean which leads the visitor to believe the rooms would be at least similar. Sadly this was not the case. Once we arrived on our floor, our first impulse was to get back on the elevator and leave. The floors were dark, dank and smelled. The rooms were so bad we barely slept due to fear of bugs or vermin. We would NOT recommend this to anyone visiting NYC. Wish we would have paid a few dollars more and stayed at the Marriott!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Oct 9, 2010

terrible, over-priced hotel

queued over one hour to check in [few desks open, slow computers, poor service] dismal small room [described as 'superior double'] with rusty shower, peeling shower tray, very basic bathroom, peeling paint No lounge, restaurant or bar just unpleasant fast-food outlets in lobby Horrible and hugely expensive hotel Only good point was location by Penn station to catch early train to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Bryant Park to get away from the tacky area around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PATTERSON CA
Jan 20, 2011

HOTEL FROM HELL!

DIRTY, SMELL, CRACK WALLS, LONG CHECK IN LINES, PARKING $40 A DAY, PETS IN THE HALL WAY AND RUDE STAFF. IT LOOKS LIKE A PLACE WHERE PEOPLE DO DRUGS AND HAVE SEX FOR MONEY. MOTEL 6 IS CLEANER AND BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

DOWNTOWN TIME SQUARE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top