$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1117 out of 1117
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EVYATAR
MIAMI
Feb 11, 2013

Great!

NICE,GREAT' GO FOR IT! WE HAD A VERY GOOD TIME WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN THE HOTEL NICE CLEAN YAMMI

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grogser
Business
Kildare
Dec 4, 2014

Dreadful

I have stayed in this hotel omn several occasiona and I always say I will not return really because 1) The staff are so rude 2) The hotel is not very clean 3) The rooms have mould on the ceilings which is not good to be breathing in. 4) I was charged for wifi €15 per night I wasnt asked do I want this I was just told when I was checking in to hand over my credit card. 5) I also had to pay $5 per bag that I had left with the baggage holder in the hotel I have never experience this before oh and this was no included in there usual tip. 6) There is also not enough amenities in the room. 7) I always had to buy toilet paper and shower gel even though it was provided for in the past. I know this hotel has a great location, however, I would never go back here again. I know 6 couples who are going to New York in two weeks and they asked me would I recommend the hotel and I said not on your nelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jersey Gardens is the best mall/outlet for bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manhattanbabe
Business
Fareham
Dec 4, 2014

BEWARE EXTRA CHARGES ON ARRIVAL

Stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and always happy , not The Ritz but you get what you pay for. Just returned to uk (3/12/14) and can report ALL CUSTOMERS WILL PAY A $10 PLUS TAX PER NIGHT FOR INTERNET/WIFI AND FREE CALLS WITHIN THE US WHETHER YOU USE THIS SERVICE OR NOT. This levy/surcharge is not negotiatable and will apply to all customers checking in. There were arguements at reception at checking in and departure by furious customers but even after speaking to the Manager there was wavering of this charge. We are not happy !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops sell hot cooked food at the back of their stores which is cheap, fresh and satisfying - if you don't mind eating out of containers and using plastic cutlery. There is one such store less than a block away before you reach Macy's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jorgemiguel
Business
Quito, Ecuador
Dec 4, 2014

not so great!

I stayed there for five nights, the building is too old, the bathroom is awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lotus Man
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 3, 2014

Great place!

Perfect location! Great access to the train station and local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FOXY LADY
Business
LONDON
Dec 3, 2014

horrible room

Both myself and friend was pleasantly surprised how lovely the hotel looked upon entering. Our room was something else. The room was dingy. We did not get one good night sleep all day and night the room was filled with the noise of the elevator going up and down. The bath cracked rusty taps and fittings water took ages to heat up.I could go on and on....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greta85
Business
Torontk
Nov 30, 2014

last minute surprise

My partner and I were looking for a last minute place to stay in the heart of NYC during a 20 hour layover at jfk. The Penn was an amazing location and a clean room for the night. (Shower was very weak, but ok for a quick clean off) Additionally, the staff were great!! Check in was really easy. If you are staying long term, be aware that yes, you are basically in Times Square and in a city that doesn't sleep. (We had a huge billboard out one window and Madison Square Garden out the other...which was awesome for a night, but maybe a problem if you are staying a few nights.) Also, the subway is right across the street. If we were in NYC for a few nights we'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the thick of it!! Enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend traveler1
Business
San Juan, PR
Nov 30, 2014

Good Location

The hotel is only for sleeping. It has excelente location. Although, you can see right away is not a five star hotel. Would stay again, just because of the location and cleanliness. This hotel needs a general makeover desperately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building is very near. Time Square and Rockerfeller Plaza is about 20-25 min. walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert J. Traveller
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 29, 2014

Vacation

Good place to stay. The hotel has excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nomadic drifter
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 27, 2014

Gets job done

No frills, it is in need of an update. The location is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wifeandkids
Business
new york
Nov 24, 2014

great location poor comfort

Not so clean, not comfortable room, no view (from 16th floor!) , dirty towels... but hotel's location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top