$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1117 out of 1117
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte north carolina
May 1, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price"

I think for the price it was great I would stay again I just had problem with the shower on my last morning of 5 day. clean you should start in on room and start repainting the rooms it would be som much nicer than seeing paint peeling off the wall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

just remember you can talk the people down on there prices in any store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 27, 2011

A good place to sleep

Our room was quiet, had a compfortable bed and TV. Was a pretty basic room. Which is fine, since you don't spend a lot of time in a hotel room in Midtown NYC. Don't expect a lot, if you are looking for the basics and nothing more, stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Apr 26, 2011

great location

The location of this hotel is perfect :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Detail
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 19, 2011

Just Ok

Hotel Pennsylvania is only nice because of its location. Its an old hotel with many problems and it needs to be renovated desperately. It is definitely NOT worth the rates their asking for. The bathroom tub,ceiling and wall all had cracks in them. The bathroom door knob fell off the door. The toilet, sink and tub were stained. Overall the bathroom was not Sanitary. The receptionist are slow, rude and lacking customer service skills. I have been to many hotels (that cost alot less and in much better condition)and never had the problems I had at Hotel Pennsylvania.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When site seeing in New York, it is definitely worth it to purchase tickets in advance to all attractions. You'll be glad you did! Lines are extremely long!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss. Nebraska
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 11, 2011

New York the Best, But Hotel the Worst

Hotel outside and in the lobby is really nice, but our room was really dirty. The floor was never vaccumed and it looks like it has never been washed. Stains on the walls. Rust in the bathroom. Stains and pubic hair on the bed sheets and comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bartlett, Illinois
Apr 8, 2011

one big dump

This hotel wanted $4.00 per bag to hold because we couldn't check into our rooms early. When we went to bring them down to the room there was no direction on what we were supposed to do. When we got downstairs there were bags every where. The hallways had chucks of plaster missing from them. Our room was run down. The bathroom looked like a bathroom you would find at gas station. The staff wasn't very helpful. There was no information left in the room that told us about the hotel or things to do. When they came to fix the room the door was left open for the whole day. Security wasn't very helpful they just said make sure nothing is missing. The only good thing was they had hot water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Apr 6, 2011

Best Location in NY

This hotel have the best location. Its an excelent hotel if you want tour all Manhattan. I recomended it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just next to subway station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Ram
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 5, 2011

Wonderful

It was nice, nice room, no Complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walk like a Native
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 4, 2011

It was just better than okay...

The hotel was in a prime location. Very big but also lacking in some areas. The only way to use the internet was to go to the business center or lobby where you could pick up the wifi signal BUT both options cost money. I thought everyone these days offered free wifi in rooms? Lets not talk too much about the heat... which only seemed to work when i did not want it to. The room was very spacious and had all the necessary amenities. Small bathroom with very poor lighting and the water barely did more than trickle out. All in all the cost was worth what we got but it certainly would not be my first choice. Being on a budget isn't very fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you need transportation... from Newark to Manhattan we took the GO SHUTTLE service. It costs $17 per person instead of around $80 we would have spent on a taxi. They found us in the airport and we went for it. If you call 24 hrs before departing they will make sure to send a shuttle to bring you back to the airport. A++ service. (As long as you don't mind riding with a few strangers to and fro!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Apr 1, 2011

Unbelievable price and location!

The hotel is directly across from Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station and Macy's. The rooms are clean, the elevators are fast, and the hotel personnel are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance or near a subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top