$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,042 reviews
Taking my 7yr old son on a holiday

Loved it & I certainly woukd stay here again .. Loved the hotel loved NYC & love the USA. ❤️ See full review

  • Leah long legs
  • Dec 21, 2014
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1042)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1042 out of 1042
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronniejoy311
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Mar 11, 2011

"would not stay here again"

It was a great location and a good price, but I would not stay here again. The room felt small, cramped, dark, and dirty. The sheets were gross, too- stained and also some dirt and I had to ask for new sheets. It did have a small mini-fridge (free) that was probably the redeeming factor of the room. Some of the staff was friendly, but most had an attitude or were quite short when answering questions. Also, we were under the impression that the internet in the lobby was free, but you needed a credit card to use it. We ended up going across the street to sit in the train station or Borders to use their internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're going to mail postcards, letters, etc., make sure to bring your own stamps because the gift shop here nearly doubled the cost of a regular 44 cent stamp (it doesn't seem like much, but it definitely adds up when buying multiple stamps!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caribbean Men
Business
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Mar 8, 2011

Staying in Manhattan

Not a Luxury Hotel, just a good place to be right in the middle of NYC. They should renew it, everything is very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spandex
Business
oxford
Mar 7, 2011

the good and the bad

the location of hotel is amazing, right by manhatttan mall, broadway, maceys and short walk to times square. the ground level of hotel is amazing looks really nice. but the room although its big was bad. you walk in to a shock from downstairs. the walls are cracked, the bath for shower was cracked, the shower is pouring water like a tap not shower. the room smelled very bad when walking in, its need refurbishment. new carpet, paint, beds, wardrobe and heating. the room needs everything doing to it but all else was fine. the staff being only 3 or less at a time were rude, unhelpful and very slow. you would be waiting for ages for anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Feb 28, 2011

NEVER STAY HERE EVER!!!

After being put up in a room with no hot water right behind the LOUD elevator, when we complained they did nothing to compensate but say "sorry" and shove us out. The "manager" even had the audacity to say I can't help you and walk away mid conversation at check out. The security guard came over and said that we would not be charged for the "upgrade" from one double bed to two... but I checked my credit card to find I WAS charged!!!!!!!!!!1 We were there for one night and called around 11PM when we were going to shower to complain about the noise, water, etc. Instead of offering to help us move our bags, offer a discount, a coupon, SOMETHING, they said "if" they had another room they could move us but not without inconveniencing us even FURTHER at this point. they are aweful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ione Joe
Business
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2011

Cheap, and old.

Old and kind of historic. Selling point was the location, and the fact that we were right next to Madison Square Garden to watch the Knicks play. Felt like the next step up from a youth hostel. Bed Bugs were in our room, but they let us change rooms. Good luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stefanmi
Business
wilmington,de
Feb 20, 2011

Hope it will stay around

The hotel is old and it shows. However, the pricing is great and it serves its purpose for tourists in NYC. We have come here a couple of times and especially like the fact that Penn Station is right in front of it. The new investor wants to tear it down and I hope this will not happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Water Point 14
Business
NC
Feb 17, 2011

A Dump :(

Understandably chaotic due to Westminister Dog Show. Hotel in desperate need of renovation! Peeling paint, dirty carpets, tiny rooms, electrical outlet problems, etc. Location, location, location; so I suppose they get away with all the negatives :/ Internet states refrig in room, took 2 days to get it & the TV remote. Unless you HAVE to stay because of proximity to Madison Square Gardens I suggest you find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is less than 3 blocks away! Many little shops with great prices, just start walking :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD.
Feb 13, 2011

Great Location

The hotel is in a great location for sightseeing and dining. Being in town for the weekend it was more than adequate and the price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4Wetta
Business
Dumfries, VA
Feb 8, 2011

Hotel Pennsylvania

We were in NYC for a concert, if the room had a coffee machine and a working hair dryer, my stay would have been more enjoyable. This hotel was very convenient to the transportation source, the concert and, of course, Macy's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel food prices were very expensive - like $18.99 for an egg platter, $11 glass of wine, etc.. Take extra money for food convenience at the hotel. The gift shop, coffee bar, and snack shop were nice extras but had limited selections, and croissants were $3.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Good Guy
Business
USA
Feb 7, 2011

"Convenient transportation "

Old Hotel Good Location Convenient Tranportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

N/A

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top