$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,340 reviews
Fantastic

We enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff was really nice and even upgraded our room. Fabulous location.... See full review

  • Kountry's Girl
  • Jul 27, 2014
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1340)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1340 out of 1340
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pixel
England
Feb 15, 2014

Just right

This hotel is in the heart of the action opposite Madison Square Gardens & within walking distance of shops. A very imposing art deco building with excellent staff restaurant & bar the rooms are basic but of a good size & the price is hard to beat what more could you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adam55arch
Johannesburg
Feb 14, 2014

Unfriendly and arrogant occurence

They sell you on the location. Be prepared, that´s all you get. Extremely unfriendly staff. Room was filthy when we arrived. Hair eveywhere. Dirty floor. Broken taps. Felt and looked like a jail cell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utopians express
Incheon, Korea
Feb 13, 2014

Honeymooners

The front office staff who checked is in was appallingly rude. She threw my debit card, ID and cursed at me when she was supposed to greet me goodbye and to have a great honey moon here in NYC she made us extremely offended by her rude behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
friendly guy
NY
Feb 13, 2014

regular guy

just ok need more kindness at front. and should be little bit more friendly. price was nice value. location is great. most of things are old fashion in good and bad. I might be use this hotel again because location and price. but not sure to recommend to friends or not ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul De
Los Angeles, California
Feb 13, 2014

Close but not so accomodating

When I checked in my first night-Sat.2/8...& I had previously asked for a Non-Smoking Room- I got a smoking Room & my sinuses went crazy! Couldn't breathe when I called the front desk, & then they changed me to another room which was non-smoking. Great! Except, now, I couldnt hear the TV & wanted to know where the CC (Closed Caption) standard on all TV's since 1980s. That night the Fire Alarm went off (battery was dead) @ of course, 4am in the morning. I called the front desk & the young lady said we don't show you in the room, you're suppose to be in 1101. Surprise! I was never told that I would be moving or even where I was suppose to go. Imagine my surpirse! Finally I got a perfect room w/non-smoking & "cc" on the TV....I was happy & now my stay was over. Thank you very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bell Captain was very knowledgeable about the City & was very helpful. Thank you!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harryhippie
Business
New York City
Feb 6, 2014

Excellent for Faashion District

Was a lively enviroment. Was good to meet so many international travelers. The ballroom is an excellent meeting venue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eddie willie
Baltimore,md
Feb 2, 2014

super bowl weekend

The lobby is nice,and that's about it,room was horrible carpet dirty.The place is just old,wouldn't recommend to anyone with class

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chiu-Chuan
Business
Taiwan, ROC.
Feb 2, 2014

business trip

it is convenience area in NYC. It is sort of old for this hotel, but it is still clean and quiet when I stay over there. It will be much better if the check in & out more friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sasa236
Sweden
Jan 28, 2014

Good

Good location good hotell we liked it . But coold rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanice
london, england
Jan 27, 2014

fantastic value and location

Do not believe all the bad reviews on this hotel, just got back room was basic but very clean, fresh towels daily, staff friendly and helpful. This is a basic old hotel but great value for the money. Location is perfect for travel anywhere. I would recommend this hotel, and will be going back next year in warmer weather. Would definitely use this hotel again. Talk to the staff it has a lot of history behind it xx. Brilliant stay x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to all attractions from this hotel

Back to menu Return to top