$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,042 reviews
Taking my 7yr old son on a holiday

Loved it & I certainly woukd stay here again .. Loved the hotel loved NYC & love the USA. ❤️ See full review

  • Leah long legs
  • Dec 21, 2014
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1042)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1042 out of 1042
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami FL.
May 16, 2011

short economical stay in midtown

Rather long line at check in. Plenty of elevators. The room was reasonable. Bathroom shows its age. Trip was O.K. but usually stay with acquaintances so can not really judge. Comparing to South East Florida rather shabby. Location was good it is in the center of things. Visited a very sick sister in Brooklyn but managed to spend first night visiting Times Square and restaurants. Next day we took a tour of South Manhattan very interesting, that evening took in a theater and again Times square.The last morning visited Brooklyn and from there to the airport where the security line was long and horrendous. The flights on Delta were fine and uneventful.A little more information on whats on in N.Y. city would have been helpful.Also a map of the of airport parking would have saved us 20 minutes or so thereby not missing our flight (they put us on the next one 2 hours later. For a trip to N.Y.C. it was O.K.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check always with Concierge and booklet whats happening around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MONTCLAIR,CA
May 10, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

THIS HOTEL IS IN A GREAT LOCATION BUT THE ROOMS SMELLED A BIT OLD AND SOME OF THINGS DIDN'T WORK IN MY ROOM LIKE SMOKE ALARM HAIR DRYER AND AIR CONDITIONING HOTEL STILL NEEDS A LITTLE WORK TO UPGRADE SOME OF ITS ROOM CONDITIONS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

THE LOCATION IS GREAT AGAIN THE SUBWAY IS CLOSE AND WILL TAKE YOU ANYWHERE FOR LITTLE MONEY CABS OF COURSE R RIGHT THERE ALSO YOU ARE CLOSE TO SOME OF THEIR GREAT ATTRACTIONS WALKING IS BETTER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kildare ireland
May 6, 2011

staf were fantastic will go again

we have gone to this hotel four times an will go back again we came back on 03.05.11 remember it is an old hotel but it has a nice feelin about it maybe some rooms could do with an uplift but it is so near to everything macys is only up a little madison square gardens is the other side of the road an some of the rooms has a view of empire state building which we had penns station is also across the road .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Where2next
Business
Gulf Breeze, Fl
May 6, 2011

"Run as fast as you can"!

Worst hotel I have ever ALMOST stayed in! My sister and I booked through a VISA rewards points program (which will remain nameless) and while we understood we were not staying at a four star hotel, we did have a level of confidence that the accommodations would be suitable. We arrived early in the afternoon looking forward to getting started with our short weekend. After check in, things went down hill. We stepped off the elevator into a musty, dark hallway with chipped paint and carpet that was lifting and dirty. Our room was even worse. Filthy, paint peeling, stains and cigarette burns on the beds, rust in the tub. Both managers on duty were horribly rude and the "executive room" that they tried to move us to (for an additional $25/night) had a window that was gaping open and would not close and the a/c unit did not blow air. After three hours of incompetence and rudeness, we finally moved to another hotel and enjoyed the rest of our stay. Keep away from this hotel; the money you save is not worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Griffith, Indiana
May 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Sightseeing,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
May 1, 2011

train layover stay

was there only for about 7 hrs. hotel lobby is nice desk clerks very friendly and helpful, decent price for location. room was alil small but understandable for its age, needs alil updating but overall satisfied with stay. very close to many tourists attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

many places to eat as well as shopping and attractions! times square a few minute walk! Madison square garden right across street as well as Penn station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte north carolina
May 1, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price"

I think for the price it was great I would stay again I just had problem with the shower on my last morning of 5 day. clean you should start in on room and start repainting the rooms it would be som much nicer than seeing paint peeling off the wall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

just remember you can talk the people down on there prices in any store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 27, 2011

A good place to sleep

Our room was quiet, had a compfortable bed and TV. Was a pretty basic room. Which is fine, since you don't spend a lot of time in a hotel room in Midtown NYC. Don't expect a lot, if you are looking for the basics and nothing more, stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Apr 26, 2011

great location

The location of this hotel is perfect :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Detail
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 19, 2011

Just Ok

Hotel Pennsylvania is only nice because of its location. Its an old hotel with many problems and it needs to be renovated desperately. It is definitely NOT worth the rates their asking for. The bathroom tub,ceiling and wall all had cracks in them. The bathroom door knob fell off the door. The toilet, sink and tub were stained. Overall the bathroom was not Sanitary. The receptionist are slow, rude and lacking customer service skills. I have been to many hotels (that cost alot less and in much better condition)and never had the problems I had at Hotel Pennsylvania.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When site seeing in New York, it is definitely worth it to purchase tickets in advance to all attractions. You'll be glad you did! Lines are extremely long!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top