$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1109 out of 1109
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diehardtiger
Edinburgh
Jan 25, 2013

Awesome location - perfect budget hotel

My 2nd time staying here. Location couldn't be better. Room very clean and staff very helpful. Don't see the point in paying more for somewhere to stay in New York as you're only in the room to sleep as there is so much to see and do in the city! Next time i'm back in NYC, I'll be staying here for sure. 10/10 on value and location. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Lindy's next door. Overpriced and there are nicer diners near by. Try Andrew's Coffee House 2 blocks north on way to Times Square. Cheap and great food all day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginka G.
Business
Kailua Kona
Jan 25, 2015

Great location

Small rooms but great location. Clean. Nice people, breakfast, wifi. Very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Silvana L.
Business
BRASILIA
Jan 25, 2015

Just Location

The best thing in this hotel is the location. The price is better than the others closer. The hotel is very old and not clean, but if you go to the hotel just sleep and take a shower, its good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nunki
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Cheap for location, but it might be haunted

Just stayed one night because taking a cab back to my place in Brooklyn would have been around the same price. It works to have a place to crash after partying all night, but I definitely waited to get home to take a shower. Tub enamel was peeling. They give you basic soap and shampoo, no conditioner, toothpaste or toothbrushes. Sheets and towels were clean, bed was comfy, view from the window was a brick wall. The lobby is done up real nice. Once you get to the real hallways leading to the rooms, it's a bit like being in a haunted hotel and I'm glad I wasn't alone. It's not horrible, but it's not luxurious by any means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own toiletries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise C.
Business
Glendale
Jan 22, 2015

Great location!

This is my second time staying at this hotel, and I really love that it is right above Penn Station. Convenient, safe. Rooms are older, but the location is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise C.
Business
Glendale
Jan 22, 2015

Great location

Not the fanciest hotel, it's older, and the room I got was a bit dark and depressing, but the location can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lior Y.
Business
Tel-aviv
Jan 18, 2015

Good for day or two

The Hotel is too big and very crowded. The location is great but you feel as in the middle of train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevin d.
Business
grand rapids
Jan 17, 2015

surprise on 7th avenue

i stayed at this hotel 37 years ago when it was associated with the hilton chain. the hotel has been updated since. the staff was very welcoming from the front desk to the cleaning staff. it's a big place. there were 99 rooms on my floor. the hotel is located derectly across from penn station under madison square garden. i flew into newark, took the nj transit train from the airport to penn station($12.50 fare) and walked across the street to the hotel. the room was comfortable, clean, and had a great tv with many channels. the location is half a block from macy's and 8 blocks south of the time square area. lots of restuarants nearby and in the concourse of penn station for fast food. i would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicolle
Business
Berlin
Jan 16, 2015

Worst than expected

Bathroom were disgusting, bath tub was so old with holes... Bathroom door were calling for new paint, it was just not white anymore but grey and black ...The room was really small ... anyway it is in good location But next time I will rather pay more than stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronald N.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

good for what it is

Very good price and nicer than what I was expecting for the price. Location is GREAT, close to penn station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC.408
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Very Old and needs to be renovated

Smells cockroach. Was given a room that has it already! Really!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you are not just paying for the location, but most importantly the Comfortability.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top