$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1197 out of 1197
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matthew B.
Business
N/A
Mar 14, 2015

Ideal holiday location

Not the best of hotels,room very basic but nice and warm for the time of year.Cannot fault location,very close to everything.Only downside very noisy street outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valette M.
Business
N/A
Mar 13, 2015

not to bad, but not great.

The location was great. The room was visually clean, but I didn't trust the sanitizing of the bathroom tub, floor, and toilet. The bed was comfortable. The tv was very old. And though WiFi was supposed to be in my package, I didn't get any. And my phone or tablet would not work well when in the room. The cleaning people were very friendly, as we're the front desk people. I would go back to that hotel though if I could get a better room. Like I said the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashley W.
Business
N/A
Mar 12, 2015

Location Great but Hotel Had Problems

The walls are very thin in this hotel and we were woken up each night around 4:00 or 5:00 am with people talking loudly. We even had a security issue where some of the attendants tried to break into our room and when I called down to the front desk for help no one answered. It took an hour to reach someone and when I did they said security would be up and they never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaChelle B.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Awesome

The hotel is an old hotel that has been remodeled, which I love. The bathroom could use some updateding, but besides that I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Clean where it matters, but don't expect too much

Earlier reviews varied wildly, but I needed a place to stay for two nights on less than a week's notice, so this is where I ended up. The hotel was clean where it matters (sheets, bathroom, etc), but a little dusty if you look too closely. Thin walls and it's a large hotel, so people were definitely up and around rather early. The building itself is definitely older - the walls were marked up, the bathroom had chipped floor boards, etc. BUT: it's in an amazing location and an amazing deal. The lobby is lovely and clean, and I had no issues with the staff. I was also only in town for two days and spent nearly all of that time out of the hotel. I would say set your expectations to a niceish private hostel room in any major European city and you'll be fine. If you come in expecting a suburban chain hotel or the Renaissance for $70 a night, you're going to be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DallasCouple
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Trip to New York

Good value. Great location. Big room. Great for catching a train the next day, a quip trip, or a good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wahida H.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

not good

Room was not cleaned up, too small and dirty,the floor was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ahlot
Business
New Canaan
Mar 2, 2015

R & R

I stayed at this hotel before and I would like to try it again. But there is no changes. The place still needs a bad renovation, the check in people are not friendly, amenities are bare minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Ben Crazy
Business
Twinsburg
Feb 24, 2015

Great location

This is a historic hotel. So don't expect things to be brand new. But the location is amazing, right across from Penn Station and MSG. When in NYC, you have to ask yourself: how much time do you really spend in the room, anyway?? (If you're like me-- it is mostly just to sleep!) So I would say I had a very positive experience with this hotel. It has a lot of character, and again has an amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
compulsiveTraveler
Business
Miami
Feb 18, 2015

Traveler

Place is ok for a short visit. Book your reservation here if location/price are factors to consider on your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top