$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1009 out of 1009
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
L Legs
Business
N/A
May 14, 2015

Was Mostly aweful , the room was filthy & finding rooms was extremely difficult

It was very disappointing . Room was filthy , difficult to find , the only good thing was the location !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Girls trip

The hotel is historically old with no updates but our rom was clean, the water was hot, towels were clean. The location was excellent! Easy to walk to tons of stuff and a quick can ride to the rest . Check Ina me out was fast and efficient. Great value. We were 3 friends and asked for a rollaway instead he upgraded us to a huge albeit old room with three double bed. Score?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol S.
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Great holiday

Hotel was very basic,,but was clean and fresh towels each morning.great location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AYMAN A.
Business
Cairo
May 5, 2015

Awesome for family trips

Not bad. Great location. For shopping and dinning if you want to see manhatten

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TatV
Business
jersey city
Apr 23, 2015

never again

awful experience, cold dirty rooms, housekeeping staff with it's not my job attitude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Paul S.
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2015

Great wknd getaway

Check in was great friendly staff and slept really well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John W.
Business
Lucan
Apr 21, 2015

Depends what you are looking for

the hotel was not worth the money that was paid, the only thing it has going for it is location. The bed sheets had stains it had a smell of mould and only one window would open. the wifi worked when it wanted but was as slow as dial up when I tried to use it. The second night I called reception from the room about the thermostat wasn't working and someone grunted and hung up the phone. Thinking it would be solved I left and didn't want to pursue the issue. When we went downstairs I seen that the reception area was really busy. But that is no excuse for been rude. The 3rd day I called reception about the thermostat and I was told it would be fixed but it wasn't. This took us into the weekend when on our floor all out fighting took place. Other residents physically fighting outside the room for about 3 or 4 hours during the night. My girlfriend could not wait to leave and it pretty much ruined the holiday for her. But if you are going to a sporting event in MSG and want to put the head down its right across the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly A.
Business
Northampton
Apr 19, 2015

Hotel Penn

I was anxious about staying here after booking my trip to New York as a package deal - this hotel was in my price range and looked ok online... After booking I read more and more reviews and thought I'd made a huge mistake. This hotel had awful reviews but I could not fault it at all. I have travelled a lot and stayed in a variet of places (both good and bad). Hotel Penn is in a fabulous location seconds away from main station and subway, opposite Madison square Garden, minutes away from Times Square etc, rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels provided each day, staff were friendly and gave us a choice of rooms to pick from. We ended up on 17th floor with a view of the Empire State Building. The only thing I could possibly say was the hotel could do with being updated in terms of decor but it has character which I loved. The whole stay was great and when I go back to NYC hotel penn will be my first choice given the price and location you cannot beat this place. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe
Business
Sacramento
Apr 17, 2015

Meets my needs

Old hotel right across from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden, so easy to get around if you use the subways. Don't expect a modern updated hotel but if you are not going to stay in your room the whole time will meet your needs. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
Moorestown
Apr 14, 2015

Midweek Getaway

I visited New York City to attend a concert. I selected this hotel because it is literally across the street from Penn Station. The building is old but obvious efforts are being made to maintain it. However, my room did have some cosmetic challenges. The towel rack in the bathtub had a noticeable rust spot. There were also scuff marks on the outside of the bathtub and on my bedroom wall. I didn't mind too much since I was only there one night. The other drawback was waiting a half hour in line to check in, not due to staff shortages. Staff was courteous and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top