$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel Newton

3 stars
2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
104 reviews
Perfectly Pleasant and Adequate Hotel at Great Location

We stayed one night, family with children, in a 2-queen room. We had no problems and enjoyed our... See full review

  • NJFamilyTravellers
  • Jun 17, 2014
Perfect getaway at a reasonable rate.

Had a wonderful experience with the staff and the location was perfect as well. See full review

  • 1st time visiter to NYC.
  • Feb 26, 2014
The historic Hotel Newton combines old world charm with new world amenities. Conveniently located, the hotel is close to all theaters, museums and major city attractions. The Hotel Newton offers a variety of spacious and well appointed rooms for the discerning guest. Cited as one of New York City's top mid-priced hotels by New York Newsday, The Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times, The Hotel Newton provides the utmost in quality at a reasonable price. Our friendly and courteous staff prides itself on exceeding your expectations and making your visit to New York City a memorable one. WiFi is $4.95 per room, per day.

Hotel Map

40.7935 -73.972
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, JFK Airport
Area description
Minutes from all Broadway theaters & Times Square, Just blocks from the Museum of Natural History, A few blocks west of Central Park, Convenient to many upper Manhattan attractions, Just blocks from the Metropolitan Museum, A few blocks from the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Newton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Newton Rooms

Double Double Room
Double Double Room with 2 double beds, AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.
Double Room
Double Room with 1 double bed, AC, LCD flat screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaking facilities. No rollaways bed allowed.
One Double Share Bath
Double Room with 1 double bed and shared bathroom, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 1 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1 mi
  • Americas Society: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1.1 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.1 mi
  • Columbia University: 1.1 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 1.2 mi
  • Barnard College: 1.2 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 1.2 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 1.2 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 1.3 mi
  • Riverside Church: 1.4 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 1.4 mi
  • Sakura Park: 1.4 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 1.5 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 104
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WBJR
New York, NY
Feb 11, 2014

Perfect For My Needs

The location is perfect. The check in was simple, for upgraded to a queen room free of charge, everyone was nice (although at check out the 4 or 5 attendants behind the counter gave me weird looks for checking out by myself maybe my age surprised them? ) Overall the experience was lovely & for the value, can't be matched in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Nj
Jan 5, 2014

Price and location right. Otherwise disappointing.

I stay in NYC at least monthly and am good at finding value in low-moderate price range. Newton was excellent upper west side location-esp for subway access to mid and downtown and Penn Sta. After big snow storm and end of holiday season Newton offered really cheap rate. First stay here. Small rooms, old slow elevators etc don't throw me-one experiences that all over the city in lower price range. But this double bed room was REALLY tiny and mattress hard as a rock. No double sheeting or duvet type covers that even budget hotel chains now regularly offer. Double bed shoved up against wall in corner was only way it could fit in room. Would be awful for 2 people. Bathroom nicely updated. For a bitterly cold night room stayed warm though it's old radiator system that guest has no control over. Carpet and walls in halls looked very tired and not too clean. Staff was pleasant though manager or someone was talking very loudly and at length on a business call behind desk as I checked in.(Another employee was taking care of me, did not cause a wait). The conversation seemed to be about 1) an employee whose scheduling was a problem and 2)lots of talk re: what they were expected to produce vis a vis hotel fill rate and average price per night. Seemed very unprofessional and almost embarrassing for checking-in guests to hear. There are 2 computer terminals guests can use in lobby so no free wi-fi less an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben's Number 1 Mom
Redmond, WA
Dec 1, 2013

I'll definitely be back!

My son is a student at Columbia and I wanted to stay nearby. Hotel Newton was a great location. It's an older hotel and is probably due for some new drapes and bedspreads but the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I appreciated the coffee pot in in the room. Cost was reasonable. I stayed there twice over a 4 day period. I had my own bathroom the first night but was supposed to share a bathroom on the second night. Instead I was given a free upgrade. I was impressed that staff remembered me from the first night I stayed. Staff were all friendly and responsive. I had trouble adjusting the heat in the first room so I had to turn on the air conditioner but that worked so I slept comfortably. Best value in the area for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In NYC it doesn't take long to get anywhere because the subway system is fabulous. Don't waste your money trying to get something right downtown. You're in your room to sleep. Find a good deal and then take a 5 minute subway ride. With all the tall buildings, you can't get a good view from most downtown hotels anyway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yiguiri
Worcester, Massachussets
Nov 26, 2013

Nice hotel

The room was small and quite simple...but hey, in order to have a place to sleep, it wasn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dani the college student
Los Angeles
Sep 13, 2013

A good place to stay in the city

My mom came to NYC, after having been here a trillion time, to help me move in to a new place. She wanted to find an affordable place nearby (near Columbia's campus) that could be a comfortable place to come back to after a long day out and about, without breaking bank for a simple accessory 5 day trip. The Newton satisfied that need, and the staff was INCREDIBLY LOVING towards her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Elizabeth
Chicago
Aug 18, 2013

Great UWS bargain

Great place to stay on the Upper West Side...subway 123 is right across the street...lots of places for late night snacks within 1 block...the room was quiet and very comfortable (except for very noisy ac). Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Manhattan Diner is right next door...great NYC diner food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yank Fan
Vermont
May 16, 2013

Great Location

The Hotel Newton is great for anyone looking to experience the city for a little while. The Upper West Side location is quiet for New York but still has much to offer nearby. There is a nice subway station right outside the hotel with access to the 1, 2, an 3 trains so travel all over Manhattan. For Manhattan the rooms are a good size and kept clean. The bed mattress was a little firm but for me that was not a problem. The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and attentive to guest needs. Overall I highly recommend this hotel because of the value you get for the price. Would rate 5 stars if the beds were more comfortable but you can't go wrong with the Hotel Newton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the subway lines right outside the hotel. 96th street is a great station, both local and express trains stop there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janieji
Santa Fe
Mar 10, 2013

Hotel Newton

Fantastic location, friendly staff and decent sized rooms. The only draw back was one slow elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manhattan diner for breakfast next door to the Hotel Newton

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Librarian Jen
Florida
Mar 8, 2013

Great upper west side hotel

When I first arrived, there was a mixup and they put me in a single rather than the deluxe double queen that I had reserved. The first room was tiny, but the problem was fixed immediately. My double was spacious and very clean. It could have used some updating, but I was not worried about that. I was very pleased to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room. There are plenty of grocery and convenience stores close by, so I was able to keep beverages in the room. The Hotel also is right by the 96th street subway stop, which is an express stop and is very convenient. Other good things include good restaurants within walking distance, a friendly staff, and a fairly safe neighborhood. A few issues to note: it is an older building, so there is only one elevator and it can be slow. On the upper floors be prepared to hear the wind whipping around the building. Sounds like moaning. Finally, the mattresses are a bit firm for my tastes. I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Newton and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Times Square is two Express stops down. Then walk to 47th St. & Broadway to the TKTS booth to get same day discount theater tickets. Booth opens at 2 pm. There is also an app that gives you real time listings of what they have or what they had yesterday if the Book is not open yet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobbieD
Milton,ON
Dec 4, 2012

Great location

Close to subway, and all the pleasures the upper west has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search