$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Newton

3 stars
View map of 2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
123 reviews
The best way to do New York.

The hotel is right by The One (subway line) so it makes traveling anywhere quick and efficient.... See full review

  • JesseCBrooks
  • Jun 2, 2015
Brilliant

I wish I had not listen to the reviews of this hotel. It was beautiful and so close to the subway... See full review

  • Sheila M.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The historic Hotel Newton combines old world charm with new world amenities. Conveniently located, the hotel is close to all theaters, museums and major city attractions. The Hotel Newton offers a variety of spacious and well appointed rooms for the discerning guest. Cited as one of New York City's top mid-priced hotels by New York Newsday, The Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times, The Hotel Newton provides the utmost in quality at a reasonable price. Our friendly and courteous staff prides itself on exceeding your expectations and making your visit to New York City a memorable one. WiFi is $4.95 per room, per day.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Newton also booked these hotels.

★★★
$164
4.1 / 5 310 reviews
★★
$103
2.9 / 5 136 reviews
★★★
$188
3.9 / 5 277 reviews
★★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 286 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 250 reviews
★★
$129
2.8 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$160
4.3 / 5 207 reviews
★★
$141
2.9 / 5 174 reviews
★★★★★
$495
4.5 / 5 2 reviews

Hotel Newton Rooms

Double Double Room
Double Double Room with 2 double beds, AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.
Double Room
Double Room with 1 double bed, AC, LCD flat screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaking facilities. No rollaways bed allowed.
One Double Share Bath
Double Room with 1 double bed and shared bathroom, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Solomon Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 1 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1 mi
  • Americas Society: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1.1 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.1 mi
  • Columbia University: 1.1 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 1.2 mi
  • Barnard College: 1.2 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 1.2 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 1.2 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 1.3 mi
  • Riverside Church: 1.4 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 1.4 mi
  • Sakura Park: 1.4 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 1.5 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 123
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April L.
Family
Roskilde
Jul 15, 2015

Family vacation

Great location! Old hotel but well - kept. Staff were helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to a slightly bigger room due to the bathroom being fixed. The dislikes: only one elevator, so we had to wait a long time. The air conditioner in our room was not blowing out cold air and despite repeated complaints to staff, it was never fixed during our 4 days there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ruralwnd
Family
rural western North Dakota
Nov 30, 2014

Clean and quiet

Only two negatives here. First, the room was super hot, even with a window open (this was in late November). There is no way to control the temperature. I realize it is an old building. That also accounts for the second negative: probably the slowest elevator in the entire city. We ended up using the stairs to and from our fifth floor room. On the plus side, the room was very clean and quite roomy for NYC. Even with the window open, it was not so noisy as to interfere with sleeping. We will definitely stay at the Hotel Newton whenever we visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul Seagull
Family
Sussex, UK
Aug 31, 2014

Newton New York

This was our second visit to the Newton and this is because of the service, the location, the staff and the facilities available as compared to the cost. It seems unusual to Brits that you'd have to check that you're getting a bathroom ensuite so be sure to ask. The hotel has a rather old fashioned look but it's very charming and spotlessly clean. The only improvement to the room I would make is a kettle with tea as well as coffee as they have a pretty nifty little coffee machine which only does coffee. Unless of course you adapt it a little, then you can have your tea! Great position is a big pointer for your first time to New York, it's very near Central Park, several restaurants and the Subway. We'd definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Research before buying the New York City Pass or equivalent as the sight seeing bus companies will throw in some extras, most museums are donation entry and the Staten Island ferry is free.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandy chen
Family
lowell,MA
Aug 3, 2014

good location

good location in subway 2,3. I wish the staff have nice for us, he is so cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teddysdad
Family
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2014

very nice location

Our room was quite small, but we expected that and the elevator was slow- but that was something we had already heard about. The hotel is neat and clean. Very nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBRA
Family
México
Jul 21, 2014

Good hotel

Hotel is good, very old but well maintened. The only elevator is very old and slow. The bathroom and room really small but very clean. They charge you extra for internet, the use of computer for flight check up, printing the bording pass, etc. The roll on bed was really expensive, $25 usd+tax/night, was uncomfortable. I still recomend it but I just inform you. Location is the best!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner, pharmacy, starbucks, mcdonalds and everything is whitin a block

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJFamilyTravellers
Family
New Jersey
Jun 17, 2014

Perfectly Pleasant and Adequate Hotel at Great Location

We stayed one night, family with children, in a 2-queen room. We had no problems and enjoyed our stay. Our double stroller even fit in the elevator, which is not always the case in NYC hotels. The hotel was rather pricy, and I am not sure it offers the best value for its price. However, I did feel like for what we payed we got adequate value. More importantly, the hotel location was important for us, and this was perfectly located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Celeste!

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
checking out
Family
Miami
May 20, 2014

great location for columbia travel

comfortable, great loaction for visiting daughter at school. very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stillsNewton
Family
NYC
Feb 11, 2014

great staff

Very helpful staff, clean and very nice room close to subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fordy58
Family
Lichfield
Jan 21, 2014

Good Value

1, Staff were friendly and helpful. 2, Seconds away from the subway on 96th st. 3, The room was nice and clean. 4, Great diner next door. 5, The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top