$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel Newton

3 stars
2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
104 reviews
Perfectly Pleasant and Adequate Hotel at Great Location

We stayed one night, family with children, in a 2-queen room. We had no problems and enjoyed our... See full review

  • NJFamilyTravellers
  • Jun 17, 2014
Perfect getaway at a reasonable rate.

Had a wonderful experience with the staff and the location was perfect as well. See full review

  • 1st time visiter to NYC.
  • Feb 26, 2014
The historic Hotel Newton combines old world charm with new world amenities. Conveniently located, the hotel is close to all theaters, museums and major city attractions. The Hotel Newton offers a variety of spacious and well appointed rooms for the discerning guest. Cited as one of New York City's top mid-priced hotels by New York Newsday, The Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times, The Hotel Newton provides the utmost in quality at a reasonable price. Our friendly and courteous staff prides itself on exceeding your expectations and making your visit to New York City a memorable one. WiFi is $4.95 per room, per day.

Hotel Map

40.7935 -73.972
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, JFK Airport
Area description
Minutes from all Broadway theaters & Times Square, Just blocks from the Museum of Natural History, A few blocks west of Central Park, Convenient to many upper Manhattan attractions, Just blocks from the Metropolitan Museum, A few blocks from the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Newton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Newton Rooms

Double Double Room
Double Double Room with 2 double beds, AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.
Double Room
Double Room with 1 double bed, AC, LCD flat screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaking facilities. No rollaways bed allowed.
One Double Share Bath
Double Room with 1 double bed and shared bathroom, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 1 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1 mi
  • Americas Society: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1.1 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.1 mi
  • Columbia University: 1.1 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 1.2 mi
  • Barnard College: 1.2 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 1.2 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 1.2 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 1.3 mi
  • Riverside Church: 1.4 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 1.4 mi
  • Sakura Park: 1.4 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 1.5 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Married man
Poulton England
Jan 7, 2014

Not good for families

Booked different hotels for our family and friends to attend our wedding in New York. This was the worst one out of the four I booked. I made a mistake in the booking as it was for two men and I booked a double room, I contacted the hotel on a few occasions to see if it would be possible to change for a twin or an extra bed in the room. They didn't respond to any email I sent. When they arrived they again asked but the staff were not helpful at all. The shared bathroom facilities was between three rooms and unless you got there first you could end up waiting upto an hour, not very good if you need to get out. Location was to far out really and the area wasn't where you could walk out. New York is a fantastic place to visit and midtown area is the best place to be and the hotels are better and the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get there early as you can wait upto four hours in queues if not.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Former NYCer54321
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 19, 2013

Disgusting hotel

This place is very dirty, very smelly, and with shared bathrooms for way too many people. We didn't even stay because it was so awful, and I was not happy to have to pay for another hotel room - which we were able to find for a better price and 100% more comfortable in a better midtown location. Beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Road Trip
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 8, 2013

Convenient but Gross & Rude Manager

I was never told when I booked my room that I had to share a bathroom. When we arrived, the front desk told me that we had to share a bathroom and it was down the hall, I asked to be upgraded. He said they were booked full. I decided to try it out and went up to the room. The whole hallway smelt like a dirty bathroom. I went into the shared bathroom and it was disgusting. The soap on the sink had a pube hair on it. There was garbage on the floor. The room was old and the walls were thin. We immediately went back down to the front desk and checked back out. The man at the counter said he could upgrade me now (but 15mins ago they were booked). I told him I was so disgusted that I couldn't stay here and he made me pay for 1 night of my two that I just paid for. Very rude!!! I would NOT recommend this hotel to my anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Samuela
Amherst, MA
Jan 14, 2013

Staying at Hotel Newton

The hotel accommodations are very nice; it is clean and quiet. It is great to have a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave in the room so you don't have to eat breakfast out. The location is very good--across the street from the metro stop and one block from the cross town bus. The downside of Hotel Newton--1) there is only one elevator in a 9-story building. If it needs repairs the hotel guests are in big trouble. 2) they charge for wi-fi 3) the TV stations are quite limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Symphony Space is across the street from Hotel Newton.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baran Ozkan
Florida
Mar 17, 2014

Terrible Reception

The people on the reception were worse than terrible. I were talking without respect, no eye contact, and ordering tone. They were acting like the customers were a charity case. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ugin
Zurich
Nov 20, 2012

only worth the location

otherwise if you familiar with the NYC stay a bit further a long of subway and the quality would be better. Very strange attitude from the staff at reception

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elyin
Business
Moscow, Russia
Feb 24, 2013

Awful stuff

At the time of checking out we asked for the bill but the manager at the front desk told us that he won't do it because we did not pay the hotel directly but through your site. So we went without the bill. Please, send us the bill to the mentioned email because we need it for trip business report!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Nj
Jan 5, 2014

Price and location right. Otherwise disappointing.

I stay in NYC at least monthly and am good at finding value in low-moderate price range. Newton was excellent upper west side location-esp for subway access to mid and downtown and Penn Sta. After big snow storm and end of holiday season Newton offered really cheap rate. First stay here. Small rooms, old slow elevators etc don't throw me-one experiences that all over the city in lower price range. But this double bed room was REALLY tiny and mattress hard as a rock. No double sheeting or duvet type covers that even budget hotel chains now regularly offer. Double bed shoved up against wall in corner was only way it could fit in room. Would be awful for 2 people. Bathroom nicely updated. For a bitterly cold night room stayed warm though it's old radiator system that guest has no control over. Carpet and walls in halls looked very tired and not too clean. Staff was pleasant though manager or someone was talking very loudly and at length on a business call behind desk as I checked in.(Another employee was taking care of me, did not cause a wait). The conversation seemed to be about 1) an employee whose scheduling was a problem and 2)lots of talk re: what they were expected to produce vis a vis hotel fill rate and average price per night. Seemed very unprofessional and almost embarrassing for checking-in guests to hear. There are 2 computer terminals guests can use in lobby so no free wi-fi less an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SC Traveller 21
Business
South Carolina
Nov 16, 2012

Great location, average hotel

Great location in the Upper West Side but no real amenities and shared bathrooms were not especially clean when I arrived. Staff was helpful with requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Siva99
Chicago
Sep 11, 2014

Hotel is located very near to Subway

The Hotel was very near to subway and near to Times Square. The room is very small, i was disappointed with the option of shared bathroom. Its my mistake that i haven't reviewed the receipt where it was written that it is Double bed with shared bath and they were full to give an upgrade. The staff were very helpful and good. Locker facility was available- 5$ for big locker per Day. 4$ for small locker per day. Very good Indian restaurants nearby in 1.5 miles. If you take a subway its only 2 stations away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search