$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Hotel Newton

3 stars
2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
Perfect getaway at a reasonable rate.

Had a wonderful experience with the staff and the location was perfect as well. See full review

  • 1st time visiter to NYC.
  • Feb 26, 2014
great place

Great rooms with fridge and microwave, great staff next to subway restaurant's See full review

  • stillsNewton
  • Feb 13, 2014
The historic Hotel Newton combines old world charm with new world amenities. Conveniently located, the hotel is close to all theaters, museums and major city attractions. The Hotel Newton offers a variety of spacious and well appointed rooms for the discerning guest. Cited as one of New York City's top mid-priced hotels by New York Newsday, The Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times, The Hotel Newton provides the utmost in quality at a reasonable price. Our friendly and courteous staff prides itself on exceeding your expectations and making your visit to New York City a memorable one.

Hotel Newton Rooms

Double Double Room
Double Double Room with 2 double beds, AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.
Double Room
Double Room with 1 double bed, AC, LCD flat screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaking facilities. No rollaways bed allowed.
One Double Share Bath
Double Room with 1 double bed and shared bathroom, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Newton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7935 -73.972
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, JFK Airport
Area description
Minutes from all Broadway theaters & Times Square, Just blocks from the Museum of Natural History, A few blocks west of Central Park, Convenient to many upper Manhattan attractions, Just blocks from the Metropolitan Museum, A few blocks from the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.

Nearby points of interest

  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 1 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1 mi
  • Americas Society: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1.1 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.1 mi
  • Columbia University: 1.1 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 1.2 mi
  • Barnard College: 1.2 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 1.2 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 1.2 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 1.3 mi
  • Riverside Church: 1.4 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 1.4 mi
  • Sakura Park: 1.4 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 1.5 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Dec 29, 2008

Great place

This was my second stay at the Hotel Newton; the first was about 4 years ago for business and that worked out well. This time I had my family (wife and 2 teenage kids) with me, all sharing a room. We were upgraded for free to a junior suite, and it was perfect for our needs. The room was clean, and the staff friendly. The elevator was a bit small and slow, but that's a minor point. The location was good, in terms of near the subway, and convenient given that some of the time we headed up to the Columbia U. area. I'd definitely go there again if I need to be in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
stillsNewton
NYC
Feb 11, 2014

great staff

Very helpful staff, clean and very nice room close to subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Uncle Elizabeth
Chicago
Aug 18, 2013

Great UWS bargain

Great place to stay on the Upper West Side...subway 123 is right across the street...lots of places for late night snacks within 1 block...the room was quiet and very comfortable (except for very noisy ac). Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Manhattan Diner is right next door...great NYC diner food.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Prissy Shopper
Miami, Florida
Feb 6, 2013

Fab 4 Day Weekend

Got a great deal on this hotel. First time staying in Manhattan and I will definitely be staying here again. Great location on the Upper West Side. 96th Street station is across the street. Couple blocks from Central Park. Local eateries, Duane Reade, banks, fruit and veg stall all within a short walk. Staff was EXCELLENT! Bed was a little hard, but who sleeps when in New York City??????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Got a GREAT Shellac manicure at Pinky's Nails. A few blocks down from hotel

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Former Bronxite
Los Angeles, Ca.
Jul 25, 2012

Fabulous NY Getaway

I stayed in a room with two queen sized beds sharing with my cousin. The room was surprisingly very spacious, well appointed and very comfortable with a great deal of room for both of us. The a/c was nice and cold with more than enough room and dresser space. The area was fantastic with many restaurants within close walking distance. I will definitely stay there again when I travel to NY. This was a "find"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Ben's Number 1 Mom
Redmond, WA
Dec 1, 2013

I'll definitely be back!

My son is a student at Columbia and I wanted to stay nearby. Hotel Newton was a great location. It's an older hotel and is probably due for some new drapes and bedspreads but the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I appreciated the coffee pot in in the room. Cost was reasonable. I stayed there twice over a 4 day period. I had my own bathroom the first night but was supposed to share a bathroom on the second night. Instead I was given a free upgrade. I was impressed that staff remembered me from the first night I stayed. Staff were all friendly and responsive. I had trouble adjusting the heat in the first room so I had to turn on the air conditioner but that worked so I slept comfortably. Best value in the area for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In NYC it doesn't take long to get anywhere because the subway system is fabulous. Don't waste your money trying to get something right downtown. You're in your room to sleep. Find a good deal and then take a 5 minute subway ride. With all the tall buildings, you can't get a good view from most downtown hotels anyway!

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Great value, clean

Great value, clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park, Natural History Museum and Planetarium

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
JML D.
Philadelphia
Feb 4, 2013

Great Hotel, Great location!

The location was great w/ nearby food & shopping. Central park is close by as well:) The room is kept very clean and staff was always helpful. The best is that you have a fridge & microve in your room.. though the room was small, it's the perfect size for a couple. The parking is so convenient as well, it's just around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like authentic Vietnamese Pho soup.. go to Saigon grill on 90th st. they also deliver to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Sep 20, 2007

My review of Hotel Newton

The Newton was Clean & Comfortable!! All tile bathroom was nice. Quiet..slept well. Elavator was quick. Room was larger than most other NYC hotels I've been in and cheaper. Nice area & close to subway!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bakery/Cafe across the street and one block away was Great. Open 24hrs. Friendly staff, terrific food!!

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Ocean Springs
Sep 5, 2008

Wonderful experience

The Hotel Newton was a great experience for me. I needed a room on the Upper West Side at a reasonable rate, and I was pleasantly surprised at the affordability of such a well appointed room in a friendly environment. I will be a regular, and will spread the word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Carmine's Italian. Fabulous!!

Back to menu Return to top