$324 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Hotel Newton

3 stars
2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
102 reviews
Perfectly Pleasant and Adequate Hotel at Great Location

We stayed one night, family with children, in a 2-queen room. We had no problems and enjoyed our... See full review

  • NJFamilyTravellers
  • Jun 17, 2014
Perfect getaway at a reasonable rate.

Had a wonderful experience with the staff and the location was perfect as well. See full review

  • 1st time visiter to NYC.
  • Feb 26, 2014
The historic Hotel Newton combines old world charm with new world amenities. Conveniently located, the hotel is close to all theaters, museums and major city attractions. The Hotel Newton offers a variety of spacious and well appointed rooms for the discerning guest. Cited as one of New York City's top mid-priced hotels by New York Newsday, The Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times, The Hotel Newton provides the utmost in quality at a reasonable price. Our friendly and courteous staff prides itself on exceeding your expectations and making your visit to New York City a memorable one. WiFi is $4.95 per room, per day.

Hotel Map

40.7935 -73.972
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, JFK Airport
Area description
Minutes from all Broadway theaters & Times Square, Just blocks from the Museum of Natural History, A few blocks west of Central Park, Convenient to many upper Manhattan attractions, Just blocks from the Metropolitan Museum, A few blocks from the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Newton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Newton Rooms

Double Double Room
Double Double Room with 2 double beds, AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.
Double Room
Double Room with 1 double bed, AC, LCD flat screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaking facilities. No rollaways bed allowed.
One Double Share Bath
Double Room with 1 double bed and shared bathroom, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 1 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1 mi
  • Americas Society: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1.1 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.1 mi
  • Columbia University: 1.1 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 1.2 mi
  • Barnard College: 1.2 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 1.2 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 1.2 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 1.3 mi
  • Riverside Church: 1.4 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 1.4 mi
  • Sakura Park: 1.4 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 1.5 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsTPayne
Pa
Aug 12, 2013

Tracyp

I was pleasantly surprised! great location close to everything that we needed to do in New York. Nice and clean, quiet and affordable. Not big enough for family of four but it was perfect for just the two of us. Micro and Frig was a big plus also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz Travelling Midwife
Southampton, UK
Jul 25, 2013

First experience of New York

Good venue for links to Lower Manhatten, Central Park and other areas of New York - subway and bus connections in local area. Nice room with shared bathroom - a little off-putting but not a major problem. Very helpful staff with ideas, advice and tips to get the best out of a short visit. Would consider for future visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Road Trip
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 8, 2013

Convenient but Gross & Rude Manager

I was never told when I booked my room that I had to share a bathroom. When we arrived, the front desk told me that we had to share a bathroom and it was down the hall, I asked to be upgraded. He said they were booked full. I decided to try it out and went up to the room. The whole hallway smelt like a dirty bathroom. I went into the shared bathroom and it was disgusting. The soap on the sink had a pube hair on it. There was garbage on the floor. The room was old and the walls were thin. We immediately went back down to the front desk and checked back out. The man at the counter said he could upgrade me now (but 15mins ago they were booked). I told him I was so disgusted that I couldn't stay here and he made me pay for 1 night of my two that I just paid for. Very rude!!! I would NOT recommend this hotel to my anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kfmale
Denver CO
Jun 12, 2013

No Free Wifi

We love this hotel and have stayed here in the past. It is a perfect locaition given that our primary purpose is the Broadway shows. Just two stops on the subway to Time Square with the sub station right across the street. My only complaint was the Wifi charge. Free Wifi is included in every hotel we have stayed in for the past 5years, so was very surprised to have a wifi fee at this nice of a place. Fully expected the price of our room to include the wifi usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PotomacCat
Maryland
May 25, 2013

Great value in Manhattan

We were in NYC for a family graduation, and this was our second stay at this property. Particularly for the money, it is great value and a perfect location on the upper West Side (immediately across from the subway). The room size is typical for NYC, and the bathroom very nice (completely redone). The only very minor drawbacks are the single elevator, which is typical of smaller NYC hotels (we used the stairs except when we had our suitcases), and the window AC (we didn't mind but those bothered by noise might). Very clean property and very professional and polite staff. We enjoyed staying at this property and would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yank Fan
Vermont
May 16, 2013

Great Location

The Hotel Newton is great for anyone looking to experience the city for a little while. The Upper West Side location is quiet for New York but still has much to offer nearby. There is a nice subway station right outside the hotel with access to the 1, 2, an 3 trains so travel all over Manhattan. For Manhattan the rooms are a good size and kept clean. The bed mattress was a little firm but for me that was not a problem. The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and attentive to guest needs. Overall I highly recommend this hotel because of the value you get for the price. Would rate 5 stars if the beds were more comfortable but you can't go wrong with the Hotel Newton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the subway lines right outside the hotel. 96th street is a great station, both local and express trains stop there.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russ the Golfer
Hudson, New York
May 9, 2013

Clean & Comfortable

In town for a night and needed to be on the westside. Hotel is convenient to transportation. Room was clean and comfortable, small in size. Staff courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gregry
Suffield CT
Apr 16, 2013

Newton Hotel

Better communication from staff about facilities would have made things smoother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck1440
Washington, DC
Apr 15, 2013

Almost a divorce

First, the good things. The location is excellent since the west side subway is only a block away. Also, some sandwich shops are near by for a quick breakfast or lunch. The staff are friendly and helpful. Also, there were lots of students staying there, but we found the hotel very quiet. The divorce part is that I made a mistake when picking the hotel on the website and did not notice that the room had a shared bath. My wife was NOT happy. As it turned out, we did not have to fight anyone for access to the bath , and the bath was bright and clean and obviously updated within the last few years. So, overall, an efficient and cheap place to stay, but don't go there for a romantic weekend, unless you opt to pay more for bath in your room. I do believe the "shared bath" should be flagged to avoid other people making the mistake I made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is one block away. $30 unlimited ticket (for 7 days) may be a bargain, but contrary to what I read on some website, it can be used by only one person. Two people can't travel on it.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chefdoc
central new jersey
Apr 8, 2013

Couples getaway

It was a good experience, not necessarily the best. Older hotel. You just have to make sure that you purchase a room that comes with a bathroom in the room! and not down the hallway. We did not know that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search