$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Hotel Newton

3 stars
View map of 2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stillsNewton
Business
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

great place

Great rooms with fridge and microwave, great staff next to subway restaurant's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Corner cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty Grad Student
Business
Ventura, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Affordable option in NYC

Very affordable hotel for NYC. Close to the Subway (the 1 train) and Central Park. I had a room with a private bath. The room seemed a bit smaller than an average hotel room, but it was comfortable and clean. It was helpful to have a mini-fridge and microwave in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stillsNewton
Business
NYC
Feb 11, 2014

great staff

Very helpful staff, clean and very nice room close to subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WBJR
Business
New York, NY
Feb 11, 2014

Perfect For My Needs

The location is perfect. The check in was simple, for upgraded to a queen room free of charge, everyone was nice (although at check out the 4 or 5 attendants behind the counter gave me weird looks for checking out by myself maybe my age surprised them? ) Overall the experience was lovely & for the value, can't be matched in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rellygurl
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 10, 2014

Needed a quick room for business

on a business trip and needed a room. The room was small adequate clean and neat. The bathroom was a shared bathroom. It was adequate overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fordy58
Business
Lichfield
Jan 21, 2014

Good Value

1, Staff were friendly and helpful. 2, Seconds away from the subway on 96th st. 3, The room was nice and clean. 4, Great diner next door. 5, The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Married man
Business
Poulton England
Jan 7, 2014

Not good for families

Booked different hotels for our family and friends to attend our wedding in New York. This was the worst one out of the four I booked. I made a mistake in the booking as it was for two men and I booked a double room, I contacted the hotel on a few occasions to see if it would be possible to change for a twin or an extra bed in the room. They didn't respond to any email I sent. When they arrived they again asked but the staff were not helpful at all. The shared bathroom facilities was between three rooms and unless you got there first you could end up waiting upto an hour, not very good if you need to get out. Location was to far out really and the area wasn't where you could walk out. New York is a fantastic place to visit and midtown area is the best place to be and the hotels are better and the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get there early as you can wait upto four hours in queues if not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Business
Nj
Jan 5, 2014

Price and location right. Otherwise disappointing.

I stay in NYC at least monthly and am good at finding value in low-moderate price range. Newton was excellent upper west side location-esp for subway access to mid and downtown and Penn Sta. After big snow storm and end of holiday season Newton offered really cheap rate. First stay here. Small rooms, old slow elevators etc don't throw me-one experiences that all over the city in lower price range. But this double bed room was REALLY tiny and mattress hard as a rock. No double sheeting or duvet type covers that even budget hotel chains now regularly offer. Double bed shoved up against wall in corner was only way it could fit in room. Would be awful for 2 people. Bathroom nicely updated. For a bitterly cold night room stayed warm though it's old radiator system that guest has no control over. Carpet and walls in halls looked very tired and not too clean. Staff was pleasant though manager or someone was talking very loudly and at length on a business call behind desk as I checked in.(Another employee was taking care of me, did not cause a wait). The conversation seemed to be about 1) an employee whose scheduling was a problem and 2)lots of talk re: what they were expected to produce vis a vis hotel fill rate and average price per night. Seemed very unprofessional and almost embarrassing for checking-in guests to hear. There are 2 computer terminals guests can use in lobby so no free wi-fi less an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happyxujiao
Business
Monterey, California
Dec 27, 2013

Overall is okay~

The restroom is not in our room. It's a public restroom shared by several rooms, but it's still okay and clean, not crowded. The staff here is warm-hearted and the room is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoup gang
Business
Oklahoma
Dec 13, 2013

Hotel newton

We had a great time at this hotel. Very spacious room. Employees were all very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top