$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Newton

3 stars
2528 Broadway, New York, NY 10026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
Perfectly Pleasant and Adequate Hotel at Great Location

We stayed one night, family with children, in a 2-queen room. We had no problems and enjoyed our... See full review

  • NJFamilyTravellers
  • Jun 17, 2014
Perfect getaway at a reasonable rate.

Had a wonderful experience with the staff and the location was perfect as well. See full review

  • 1st time visiter to NYC.
  • Feb 26, 2014
The historic Hotel Newton combines old world charm with new world amenities. Conveniently located, the hotel is close to all theaters, museums and major city attractions. The Hotel Newton offers a variety of spacious and well appointed rooms for the discerning guest. Cited as one of New York City's top mid-priced hotels by New York Newsday, The Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times, The Hotel Newton provides the utmost in quality at a reasonable price. Our friendly and courteous staff prides itself on exceeding your expectations and making your visit to New York City a memorable one.

Hotel Map

40.7935 -73.972
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, JFK Airport
Area description
Minutes from all Broadway theaters & Times Square, Just blocks from the Museum of Natural History, A few blocks west of Central Park, Convenient to many upper Manhattan attractions, Just blocks from the Metropolitan Museum, A few blocks from the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Newton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Newton Rooms

Double Double Room
Double Double Room with 2 double beds, AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.
Double Room
Double Room with 1 double bed, AC, LCD flat screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaking facilities. No rollaways bed allowed.
One Double Share Bath
Double Room with 1 double bed and shared bathroom, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. AC, LCD flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffeemaking facilities and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 1 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1 mi
  • Americas Society: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1.1 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.1 mi
  • Columbia University: 1.1 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 1.2 mi
  • Barnard College: 1.2 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 1.2 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 1.2 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 1.3 mi
  • Riverside Church: 1.4 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 1.4 mi
  • Sakura Park: 1.4 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 1.5 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Newton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JML D.
Philadelphia
Feb 4, 2013

Great Hotel, Great location!

The location was great w/ nearby food & shopping. Central park is close by as well:) The room is kept very clean and staff was always helpful. The best is that you have a fridge & microve in your room.. though the room was small, it's the perfect size for a couple. The parking is so convenient as well, it's just around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like authentic Vietnamese Pho soup.. go to Saigon grill on 90th st. they also deliver to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
juicemansimi
los angeles california
Jul 14, 2014

In and out

Great location and great if u just need a place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJFamilyTravellers
New Jersey
Jun 17, 2014

Perfectly Pleasant and Adequate Hotel at Great Location

We stayed one night, family with children, in a 2-queen room. We had no problems and enjoyed our stay. Our double stroller even fit in the elevator, which is not always the case in NYC hotels. The hotel was rather pricy, and I am not sure it offers the best value for its price. However, I did feel like for what we payed we got adequate value. More importantly, the hotel location was important for us, and this was perfectly located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Celeste!

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
checking out
Miami
May 20, 2014

great location for columbia travel

comfortable, great loaction for visiting daughter at school. very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sasha4344
Boston
May 20, 2014

Short but sweet

My husband and I were in the city for two nights. We saw a musical on broadway and visited the 9/11 memorial. This was my second stay at the Newton. I love this upper west side hotel. The location is great and the staff are very friendly. The room was clean and had a mini fridge and microwave. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The train is less than a block away and there are an abundance of restaurants, cafés, bakeries, fruit and vegetable markets, etc. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I think it's the perfect place to experience this amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen Traveler
New York, New York
Apr 16, 2014

three stars

The location is wonderful. The hotel is steps away from a pharmacy/drugstore and from many good restaurants, cafes, and diners. The hotel room was quite clean, but the vanilla air freshener was less than fully pleasing and the ventilation was subpar. Furthermore, the elevator did not always function properly, so guests might wish to be prepared to climb as many as six or seven flights of stairs. Overall, however, the hotel can be described as serviceable and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are staying here and have forgotten to bring items such as toothbrushes/batteries/etc., do not worry: the hotel is adjacent to a major drugstore.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baran Ozkan
Florida
Mar 17, 2014

Terrible Reception

The people on the reception were worse than terrible. I were talking without respect, no eye contact, and ordering tone. They were acting like the customers were a charity case. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaMP
Business
Virginia
Mar 14, 2014

Hotel Newton

Had a very comfortable stay. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. They upgraded us to a nice suite for an extra $50. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Metro

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
one of those travelers
Arizona
Mar 4, 2014

just right

Even though check in was at 3pm, the hotel staff let us check in earlier, as our flight arrived at 6am. The room was clean, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the hotel has an environment friendly mentality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time visiter to NYC.
Texas
Feb 26, 2014

Perfect getaway at a reasonable rate.

Had a wonderful experience with the staff and the location was perfect as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A skip to the subway 1, 2, 3 to any attraction you are coming to see. Buy a 7 day pass and save. The location is away from all the noisy nightlife after you have left it and want a great night's rest.

Review of Hotel Newton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwalimu in Maine
Bangor, Maine
Feb 15, 2014

Upper West Side jewel

The woman at the desk was wonderful when I showed up at 8 a.m. asking if I could check in early -- upgraded me and my wife to a suite, too. The room was spacious for NYC, and the location great for access to transportation to LaGuardia, and the 1-3 trains at 96th Street, as well as walking to Central Park and the MET, and down to Lincoln Center, near where I had an all-day meeting. I thought it might be a little far, but it was perfect, and in a good neighborhood between the better-heeled 70s and 80s and Columbia. It will be perfect if our son goes to Columbia next year, too, and we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top