$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hotel Metro

3 stars
45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
408 reviews
Great small hotel

Warm comfortable hotel in Herald Square area. Friendly staff. Mainly European guests. Small but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 7, 2014
Business trip

Received a nice welcome and upgrade at the start and staff were all very friendly Hotel restaurant... See full review

  • UCJAM
  • May 23, 2014
Affordable elegance in midtown Manhattan, with free breakfast

One of only 75 New York City hotels recommended in the "2010 Michelin Guide New York City," the boutique Hotel Metro delivers affordability, style, service and location. Only a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway station, Hotel Metro offers a host of great extras, including free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi, plus a business center, a fitness center, a library, an executive lounge, a restaurant and a bar with a rooftop terrace. Guest rooms feature elegant touches such as a marble bathroom.

Highlights

                                                                                                     

  • A location only a block from the Empire State Building and Fifth Avenue
  • Rooftop terrace bar, with a view of the Empire State Building
  • A library room with a fireplace

Location

The Midtown Manhattan Hotel Metro is a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway, and less than a 10-minute walk to Times Square.

Rooms

With traditionally sumptuous decor in an earthy palette, the contemporary-class guest rooms at Hotel Metro deliver comfort and cozy style. Each room includes free Wi-Fi, an iHome clock radio with an IPod docking station, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, a marble bathroom, a cordless phone with voice mail and premium cable. Renovated premier-class rooms add fresh and bold tailoring in addition to a pillow-top Serta mattress, a wall-mounted LCD TV, a Keurig coffee-maker, a granite work desk and a mini refrigerator. Both categories offer a two-bedroom family-room plan. One-bedroom suites and executive Jacuzzi rooms are also available.

Features


Start the day right with free continental breakfast and copy of The New York Times, or a workout at the fitness center. Then browse the serene library or relax in the Executive Guest Lounge. Metro Grill is open for lunch (except Saturday/Sunday) and dinner, and the rooftop terrace bar (open when weather permits) at Hotel Metro features a view of the Empire State Building.


Transportation

  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rockefeller Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.3 km)

Business

  • Free use of business center
  • Executive Guest Lounge for all guests
  • Free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access

Policies and fees

The hotel is now a nonsmoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Metro Rooms

Contemporary Rooms
All Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV
Premier King
A large room with one king bed. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Contemporary Family Room
A large room with two bedrooms and one bath. The first bedroom has one double bed with a door that closes it off from the second bedroom which contains two double beds.
Premier Double
A large room with two double beds. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Premier Queen
Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Mini-Double
A small room (approximately 125 square feet) for one or two people sharing one double bed.
Contemporary King
A large room with one king bed. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.
Contemporary Twin
A lovely room with two single beds. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.75 -73.9861
Area served
New York, NY Manhattan, NY
Nearby airports
1) La Guardia Airport 2) JFK Interntational Airport 3) Newwark Airport
Area description
In the heart of Manhattan, near attractions, shopping and the midtown business district, the Metro is an excellent location for both corporate and leisure travelers. Less than one block from Macy's and from the Empire State Building.

Nearby points of interest

  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi

Dining

Metro Grill
The Metro Grill serves lunch and dinner M-F, dinner only S-S. Our bar and cocktail lounge are open until 11:00pm Sun-Thur, and 12:am F-Sat.
Rooftop Bar
The roof terrace is open seasonally for our guests during most daytime hours. During the evenings, weather permitting, a bar that is also open to the public operates and while guests are certainly welcome, they need to make reservations with the restaurant for a table. On rare occasions the roof is booked as a party space and access can be limited or restricted during those periods (usually just a few hours per event).

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A conference room is available for small meetings or use as a showroom.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (408)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 408
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanieB
Glasgow
Apr 26, 2014

Good Location, Stylish, Reasonably priced & Breakfast

Hotel is in a great location right off 5th Avenue at one side, Macys on the other with the Empire State Building just one street down. The staff were pleasant enough and the Concierge helpful to assist with table reservations, trips or airport transfers. We were upgraded to a King size room at no extra charge. We had previously requested a high level room to minimise street noise and they accommodated us with a room on the 9th floor. The in-house continental Breakfast was terrific, plenty of choice but you have to be down early to get a seat! Hotel was spotless, seems to have been renovated recently so fixtures & fittings appear fresh and intact. Complimentary toiletries and hairdryer were an added bonus. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again if the price remains reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If taking the subway from near the Hotel to SouthFerry, where you would then take the Ferry to Liberty / Ellis Island, please ensure you get on one of the first 5 carriages as these are the only ones that will allow you to embark at SouthFerry. The Hotel Concierge didn't tell us that!!!

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a girl with family
Baltimore
Sep 20, 2013

Asian girls and boy

Good! Nice terrace with view of the Empire State Building

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a girl with family
Baltimore
Sep 18, 2013

Much better than expected

I didn't expect much since the hotel was oddly cheaper (just a little) than other hotels locating nearby. But, it had a beautiful terrace on the roof where you can see the Empire State building. stunning! Room was clean. Good location. well. average breakfast. But, I would definitely stay this hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eli's Nana
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Jun 30, 2013

Memorable trip with grandson

My grandson chose NYC as his trip destination to celebrate his 13th birthday. We had a wonderful time and will cherish our memorable adventures for years to come. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for walking to many NYC attractions or getting on the subway. I've stayed at the hotel before and will stay there again on next NYC trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheilat
bristol, england
Apr 23, 2013

Well situated hotel.

First time visit to New York, concierge gave us a free street map but we had to ask. Free wifi was very handy for keeping in touch. Good selection in the complimentary breakfast which was open from 6.30 am to 11 am, you could take out hot drinks as they supplied covered cups. Room was very spacious but that may have been a stroke of luck as we were given a room with wheelchair access. Well sited in Midtown so all sights within walking distance but close to bus stops and subway if you needed them. Room cleaned and towels changed daily, no complaints there. Metro grill had changed the menu so didn't have a vegetarian option which was dusappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReasonableGal
Saratoga Springs, NY
Dec 10, 2012

Tough beginning.......

When I called in advance of arrival to ask for a room with two separate beds, the receptionist must have been having a bad day. She gave me a nasty reply about this being an reservation made through an online travel site so I'd have to take what I could get. Made me feel like a second class citizen and I hadn't even arrived yet! So upon arrival , I asked again for a room with two beds and was told that there weren't any. I went up to my assigned room which was the size of a postage stamp with a queen bed and the place reeked of bleach. Now I felt like a third class citizen. So I called down to the reception desk and asked for a room with a king bed and was told that for my online travel site reservation that this was not possible but one could be had for an additional upcharge. Which I paid to salvage the trip. The king room was very nice, a good size, quiet and with a nice bathroom. Similar experience with breakfast - the "included" breakfast was marginal but if you went to the attached bar through the lobby, you could get a decent breakfast which wasn't very expensive and made the start of the day much more pleasant. So all in all the hotel worked out for us, but I had to pay more to make comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nielson
Salt Lake City
Nov 21, 2012

Hotel Metro

Just fine - good price, liked having a complimentary breakfast, and location was perfect for us. Heating didn't work too well, and a couch or another chair would have been nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chinchin
NYC
Oct 8, 2012

This Isn't Union Square

I hate Times Square and when I booked this hotel it said Union Square. I made reservations at restaurants in Union square and come to find out - it was actually in Herald Square (near Time Square) which is my least favorite part of the city. The hotel itself was nice and the staff very friendly - but I would not have booked it had I realized the true location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No floor sleeper
Bountiful, Utah
Mar 13, 2012

Hotel Metro for a Mom and her teenage son

We checked in and there was no room with two twin beds, just one with a double. My son immediately said he would sleep on the floor. The front desk clerk overheard this and upgraded our room for free to a family deluxe. And deluxe it was! Super clean, nicely decorated, excellent beds, safe although on a side street near the Empire State Building. Simple continental breakfast was included in the price. We stayed there two nights with mostly European guests (British and German). Highly recommend this hotel as a little gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good travel
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great boutique hotel

We had a very short trip scheduled in Manhattan. Staying at Hotel Metro worked perfectly for us. We were able to walk to all of our destinations, had a very clean and comfortable room, and enjoyed our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top