$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel Metro

3 stars
45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
283 reviews
Great value

This hotel is located walking distance from Penn Station which is very convenient. It's in a busy... See full review

  • Zeev the Warrior
  • Dec 8, 2014
The location and amenities are well worth it

Considered it's the central location in Manhattan, has a rooftop bar, and include free coffee and... See full review

  • single girl that travels
  • Nov 24, 2014
Affordable elegance in midtown Manhattan, with free breakfast

One of only 75 New York City hotels recommended in the "2010 Michelin Guide New York City," the boutique Hotel Metro delivers affordability, style, service and location. Only a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway station, Hotel Metro offers a host of great extras, including free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi, plus a business center, a fitness center, a library, an executive lounge, a restaurant and a bar with a rooftop terrace. Guest rooms feature elegant touches such as a marble bathroom.

Highlights

                                                                                                     

  • A location only a block from the Empire State Building and Fifth Avenue
  • Rooftop terrace bar, with a view of the Empire State Building
  • A library room with a fireplace

Location

The Midtown Manhattan Hotel Metro is a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway, and less than a 10-minute walk to Times Square.

Rooms

With traditionally sumptuous decor in an earthy palette, the contemporary-class guest rooms at Hotel Metro deliver comfort and cozy style. Each room includes free Wi-Fi, an iHome clock radio with an IPod docking station, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, a marble bathroom, a cordless phone with voice mail and premium cable. Renovated premier-class rooms add fresh and bold tailoring in addition to a pillow-top Serta mattress, a wall-mounted LCD TV, a Keurig coffee-maker, a granite work desk and a mini refrigerator. Both categories offer a two-bedroom family-room plan. One-bedroom suites and executive Jacuzzi rooms are also available.

Features


Start the day right with free continental breakfast and copy of The New York Times, or a workout at the fitness center. Then browse the serene library or relax in the Executive Guest Lounge. Metro Grill is open for lunch (except Saturday/Sunday) and dinner, and the rooftop terrace bar (open when weather permits) at Hotel Metro features a view of the Empire State Building.


Transportation

  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rockefeller Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.3 km)

Business

  • Free use of business center
  • Executive Guest Lounge for all guests
  • Free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access

Policies and fees

The hotel is now a nonsmoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Metro Rooms

Contemporary Rooms
The Contemporary Queen has one queen bed. All Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV
Premier King
A large room with one king bed. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Contemporary Family Room
A large room with two bedrooms and one bath. The first bedroom has one double bed with a door that closes it off from the second bedroom which contains two double beds.
Premier Double
A large room with two double beds. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Premier Queen
Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Mini-Double
A small room (approximately 125 square feet) for one or two people sharing one double bed.
Contemporary King
A large room with one king bed. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.
Contemporary Twin
A lovely room with two single beds. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A conference room is available for small meetings or use as a showroom.

Dining

Metro Grill
The Metro Grill serves lunch and dinner M-F, dinner only S-S. Our bar and cocktail lounge are open until 11:00pm Sun-Thur, and 12:am F-Sat.
Rooftop Bar
The roof terrace is open seasonally for our guests during most daytime hours. During the evenings, weather permitting, a bar that is also open to the public operates and while guests are certainly welcome, they need to make reservations with the restaurant for a table. On rare occasions the roof is booked as a party space and access can be limited or restricted during those periods (usually just a few hours per event).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 283
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LDNtoNYC
Business
London
Nov 29, 2012

Great location, shame about the hotel

I booked this hotel for myself and a friend for a 6 night stay in a twin room. It was an OK price for a last minute trip. We booked on a Sunday and flew out on a Tuesday. I was tempted to spend a little more for a better hotel but was convinced by the location, free wifi and inclusive breakfast - I thought how bad could it possibly be! When we arrived the hotel was the Art Deco style as described on the website. We were told at check in that we'd been 'updgraded' to a Queen room, however we wanted a Twin room. We were told there was no availability and that we'd have to ask the next day to change rooms. We got to our 'Queen sized' room which was far from regal! It was a tiny room with apparently a queen sized bed. The room was very dated and the bathroom was in serious need of updating. I was not impressed. The next day we spoke to reception who informed us that there was no availability once again. I asked to speak to management who then informed me there was a 'family room' available. At this point we thought they would switch us to this room as it was the only one available. We were then told we'd have to pay $155 extra a night for this and that we got a good deal for the upgraded queen room. At this point I was interested to see what the original room would be like if our tiny room for a week was an 'upgrade'! After making it clear they weren't going to switch the room, all of a sudden they had another room available at $55 more a night. Not impressed with this as any other hotel would make some provisions for their guests requirements. Basically they will give you the cheapest room available and then when you turn up charge you more for the room you wanted. If we'd paid the extra for the family room we could have stayed 5star in the same location!! Other points - the inclusive breakfast is limited, and served up on paper plates with plastic cutlery, they really know how to cut back. They also make a point of their 24 hour tea and coffee in the foyer - possibly because the rooms are too small for an area to keep the kettle etc. The mini bar was empty, we weren't expecting much! Didn't bother trying the restaurant. On a positive note the location is great. Literally a minute from Macy's and the Empire State Building! They have a roof top terrace which is a plus point. Most staff were friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff had a habit of knocking and letting themselves into our room at 9am on most days! Overall, not a positive experience as we ended up in the small room for a week. In hindsight would have spent a little more for a 4 or 5 star hotel and paid extra for breakfast and wifi if needed. If you're going to book, go for it if you get a good deal but just note they may try and spring you with extra charges if you try and change rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeslieLexy
Business
Atlanta
Jan 4, 2013

It's ok.

the location is great. but the room is kind of too small. and the Wifi doesn't work in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalSusan
Business
East Bay, CA
Aug 23, 2009

Cute boutique hotel

The hotel was in a great location and very central to most attractions. Rooftop terrace has a great view of the Empire State Bldg. but bar is only open for lunch. Nice continental breakfast, but the front desk was unfriendly, and not helpful. Rooms were roomy and clean, but rooms facing 35th were noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lulu55
Business
Connecticut
May 29, 2012

Okay

The refrigerator wasn't working and they forgot to give our room towels. But other than that it was an ok stay. Not a bad stay for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lulu55
Business
Connecticut
Jun 14, 2012

Good Location..Ok hotel

The hotel was average..nothing special but not bad. If you're looking for a one night stay..close to the center of New York then this is a good choice. Like I said it's nothing extravagant..but not the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Oct 22, 2010

Trip to the Big Apple

My friend and I came into town to meet up with some friends and was promised 2 twin beds at the time of reservations which was confirmed by calling the hotel directly. Upon arriving ~ the hotel was accommodating and allowed us to check in early (before 4pm) but they no longer had a room with 2 beds and wasn't accommodating in the least to remedy the situation. They said that regardless of what [...] the hotel clerk said when we called that all they had to provide was a double bed or 2 twins depending on the hotel's availability. And that I could call to cancel but it was too late and I will be charged anyway. Needless to say ~ very rude!Room made me feel claustrophobic in the sense of the room feeling like it should be on a cruise ship or someone's walk-in closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
trinidad, west indies
Oct 30, 2010

great location

The hotel is in a great spot...very convenient for walking around Manhattan. It isn't fancy, but the staff were very helpful, especially about keeping luggage after you had checked out. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joel2489
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Feb 6, 2012

excelent

i love the hotel, i did not pay to much money and was a good place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

marry poppins,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leanne shopper
Business
Romford Essex
Dec 17, 2012

Shop 'til you drop in comfort

Booked a standard double/twin room but they only had double rooms available, when i explained that i was staying with my mother-in-law they upgraded us so that we could have two double beds on the 11th floor. Beds very comfortable, great shower and bathroom, very clean, sheets were changed each day, not very economically friendly but shows a thorough clean was done each day. Free continental breakfast, unlimited tea, coffee throughout the day. Tuesday evenings they have cheese and wine in the lounge for free... we only came across this by accident and there is a sign on the door saying closed for a private function but it is closed to the public, hotel guests can go in. Great location, go up to the roof deck and you are underneath the Empire State Building. Gym looked good too (although didn't use it). Located right next to subway and Victoria's Secret opposite Macy's. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is right next to the hotel, buy a metrocard and you can get to all the main spots really quickly on the subway. Although the taxis are good, you can sit in traffic for ages during rush hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt quick get away
Business
Ct
Mar 3, 2014

Good place to stay!!!

The staff were great....room was a clean and comfortable no complaints I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top