$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Hotel Metro

3 stars
45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
410 reviews
Great small hotel

Warm comfortable hotel in Herald Square area. Friendly staff. Mainly European guests. Small but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 7, 2014
Business trip

Received a nice welcome and upgrade at the start and staff were all very friendly Hotel restaurant... See full review

  • UCJAM
  • May 23, 2014
Affordable elegance in midtown Manhattan, with free breakfast

One of only 75 New York City hotels recommended in the "2010 Michelin Guide New York City," the boutique Hotel Metro delivers affordability, style, service and location. Only a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway station, Hotel Metro offers a host of great extras, including free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi, plus a business center, a fitness center, a library, an executive lounge, a restaurant and a bar with a rooftop terrace. Guest rooms feature elegant touches such as a marble bathroom.

Highlights

                                                                                                     

  • A location only a block from the Empire State Building and Fifth Avenue
  • Rooftop terrace bar, with a view of the Empire State Building
  • A library room with a fireplace

Location

The Midtown Manhattan Hotel Metro is a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway, and less than a 10-minute walk to Times Square.

Rooms

With traditionally sumptuous decor in an earthy palette, the contemporary-class guest rooms at Hotel Metro deliver comfort and cozy style. Each room includes free Wi-Fi, an iHome clock radio with an IPod docking station, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, a marble bathroom, a cordless phone with voice mail and premium cable. Renovated premier-class rooms add fresh and bold tailoring in addition to a pillow-top Serta mattress, a wall-mounted LCD TV, a Keurig coffee-maker, a granite work desk and a mini refrigerator. Both categories offer a two-bedroom family-room plan. One-bedroom suites and executive Jacuzzi rooms are also available.

Features


Start the day right with free continental breakfast and copy of The New York Times, or a workout at the fitness center. Then browse the serene library or relax in the Executive Guest Lounge. Metro Grill is open for lunch (except Saturday/Sunday) and dinner, and the rooftop terrace bar (open when weather permits) at Hotel Metro features a view of the Empire State Building.


Transportation

  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rockefeller Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.3 km)

Business

  • Free use of business center
  • Executive Guest Lounge for all guests
  • Free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access

Policies and fees

The hotel is now a nonsmoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.75 -73.9861
Area served
New York, NY Manhattan, NY
Nearby airports
1) La Guardia Airport 2) JFK Interntational Airport 3) Newwark Airport
Area description
In the heart of Manhattan, near attractions, shopping and the midtown business district, the Metro is an excellent location for both corporate and leisure travelers. Less than one block from Macy's and from the Empire State Building.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Metro Rooms

Contemporary Rooms
All Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV
Premier King
A large room with one king bed. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Contemporary Family Room
A large room with two bedrooms and one bath. The first bedroom has one double bed with a door that closes it off from the second bedroom which contains two double beds.
Premier Double
A large room with two double beds. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Premier Queen
Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Mini-Double
A small room (approximately 125 square feet) for one or two people sharing one double bed.
Contemporary King
A large room with one king bed. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.
Contemporary Twin
A lovely room with two single beds. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A conference room is available for small meetings or use as a showroom.

Dining

Metro Grill
The Metro Grill serves lunch and dinner M-F, dinner only S-S. Our bar and cocktail lounge are open until 11:00pm Sun-Thur, and 12:am F-Sat.
Rooftop Bar
The roof terrace is open seasonally for our guests during most daytime hours. During the evenings, weather permitting, a bar that is also open to the public operates and while guests are certainly welcome, they need to make reservations with the restaurant for a table. On rare occasions the roof is booked as a party space and access can be limited or restricted during those periods (usually just a few hours per event).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (410)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 410
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOJOE
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

NOT AGAIN

STAFF WAS TERRIBLE/RUDE. FOUND MOLD IN THE SHOWER, DIRTY TOWEL BESIDE THE DRESSER. CONSTRUCTION STARTED @6AM (WAS NOT ADVISED OF THIS). HEAT WAS NOT ADJUSTABLE, HAD TO OPEN THE WINDOW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HaviSue
San Diego, CA
Feb 21, 2012

Perfect location for walking Broadway, Times Square and Fashion Avenue

This was a great location. It was perfect for walking to the Upper East and West Side- to everything. Broadway, shopping and Central Park just a short walk. The Empire State Building and Macy's just a block over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chinchin
NYC
Oct 8, 2012

This Isn't Union Square

I hate Times Square and when I booked this hotel it said Union Square. I made reservations at restaurants in Union square and come to find out - it was actually in Herald Square (near Time Square) which is my least favorite part of the city. The hotel itself was nice and the staff very friendly - but I would not have booked it had I realized the true location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
999999
wv
Jan 11, 2012

vacation

the hotel was comfortable but the location was off the beaten path.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nielson
Salt Lake City
Nov 21, 2012

Hotel Metro

Just fine - good price, liked having a complimentary breakfast, and location was perfect for us. Heating didn't work too well, and a couch or another chair would have been nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReasonableGal
Saratoga Springs, NY
Dec 10, 2012

Tough beginning.......

When I called in advance of arrival to ask for a room with two separate beds, the receptionist must have been having a bad day. She gave me a nasty reply about this being an reservation made through an online travel site so I'd have to take what I could get. Made me feel like a second class citizen and I hadn't even arrived yet! So upon arrival , I asked again for a room with two beds and was told that there weren't any. I went up to my assigned room which was the size of a postage stamp with a queen bed and the place reeked of bleach. Now I felt like a third class citizen. So I called down to the reception desk and asked for a room with a king bed and was told that for my online travel site reservation that this was not possible but one could be had for an additional upcharge. Which I paid to salvage the trip. The king room was very nice, a good size, quiet and with a nice bathroom. Similar experience with breakfast - the "included" breakfast was marginal but if you went to the attached bar through the lobby, you could get a decent breakfast which wasn't very expensive and made the start of the day much more pleasant. So all in all the hotel worked out for us, but I had to pay more to make comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No floor sleeper
Bountiful, Utah
Mar 13, 2012

Hotel Metro for a Mom and her teenage son

We checked in and there was no room with two twin beds, just one with a double. My son immediately said he would sleep on the floor. The front desk clerk overheard this and upgraded our room for free to a family deluxe. And deluxe it was! Super clean, nicely decorated, excellent beds, safe although on a side street near the Empire State Building. Simple continental breakfast was included in the price. We stayed there two nights with mostly European guests (British and German). Highly recommend this hotel as a little gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Globe, Arizona
Dec 24, 2010

great location

it was a great experience, the conceige was fantastic, he got us great tickets to the play Wicked and was more than willing to set us up for a great dinner our last night there, the breakfast was good everyday, the location was good, right in the middle of Manhattan, the staff was very helpful friendly (for the most part anyway). Altho our room was kind of small but they arent all like that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

try "Century 21" its the best kept secret in New York,

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MD
Mar 18, 2010

A great deal in New York City!

My teen aged son and I just returned from a 4 day 3 night stay in New York. I was looking for a highly rated hotel that was reasonably priced and I found just that with Hotel Metro. The hotel is extremely convenient to the subway (35th Street/Herald Square stop) and is less than a block away. This hotel is only a block away from Macy's Herald Square which is a really great store. Hotel Metro is in between 5th and 6th Avenues and a short walk to Bryant Square and Broadway. This property is in "Korea Town" and we had an excellent Korean meal one evening. There are not many other good places to eat close to the hotel (just fast food). You need to hoof it or take a cab somewhere else in the city. No problem for us. The hotel itself is an art-deco type of boutique hotel. I found it to be tasteful, very clean, and quiet. Our room was small but we were only in it to sleep. The bedroom was comfortable, clean, and above all QUIET! I had not trouble sleeping. This could change, however, because a building is about to be constructed behind the hotel and that could make things noisy in the future. I hope not. Hotel Metro offers and adequate continental breakfast in the AM in a comfortable dining area off the main lobby. Coffee and tea are always available. Free WiFi in room. Safe in room. Bathroom small but well appointed and CLEAN. I have absolutely no complaints about my stay -- except that I wanted 2 beds and we only got one (queen). I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's Herald Square is one block away. Great store!

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
May 29, 2011

Great central location!

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel: central location, clean , updated rooms, comfortable beds, great panoramic view, from the penthouse. Some street noise, but that's to be expected,due to the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top