$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hotel Metro

3 stars
View map of 45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
326 reviews
A New York Feel

Rooms are your standard small new york rooms to give it a classy New York feel and the overall... See full review

  • duongb
  • May 26, 2015
Clean, great Empire State view

Great view of Empire State view. Roof top view is great. See full review

  • Court H.
  • May 19, 2015

Hotel Metro delivers affordability, style, service and location. Only a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway station, Hotel Metro offers a host of great extras, including free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi access, plus a business center, a fitness center, a library, an executive lounge, and a restaurant. Guest rooms feature elegant touches such as a marble bathroom.

Location

The Midtown Manhattan Hotel Metro is a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway, and less than a 10-minute walk to Times Square.

Rooms

With traditionally sumptuous decor in an earthy palette, the contemporary-class guest rooms at Hotel Metro deliver comfort and cozy style. Each room includes free Wi-Fi, an iHome clock radio with an IPod docking station, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, a marble bathroom, a cordless phone with voice mail and premium cable. Renovated premier-class rooms add fresh and bold tailoring in addition to a pillow-top Serta mattress, a wall-mounted LCD TV, a Keurig coffee-maker, a granite work desk and a mini refrigerator. Both categories offer a two-bedroom family-room plan. One-bedroom suites and executive Jacuzzi rooms are also available.

Property features
Start the day right with free continental breakfast and copy of The New York Times, or a workout at the fitness center. Then browse the serene library or relax in the Executive Guest Lounge. Metro Grill is open for lunch (except Saturday/Sunday) and dinner.
Highlights
  • A location only a block from the Empire State Building and Fifth Avenue
  • A library room with a fireplace
  • Non-smoking property
Nearby attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rockefeller Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.3 km)

Business

  • Free use of business center
  • Executive Guest Lounge for all guests
  • Free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access

Transportation

  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

Policies

  • Unscheduled necessary works will take effect immediately on the hotel's rooftop terrace & bar. Renovation works will begin immediately and is expected to continue for approximately eight weeks. During this time, there will be limited guest access to the roof terrace.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Metro Rooms

Premier Queen
Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Mini-Double
A small room (approximately 125 square feet) for one or two people sharing one double bed.
Contemporary King
A large room with one king bed. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.
Contemporary Twin
A lovely room with two single beds. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.
Contemporary Rooms
The Contemporary Queen has one queen bed. All Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV
Premier King
A large room with one king bed. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Contemporary Family Room
A large room with two bedrooms and one bath. The first bedroom has one double bed with a door that closes it off from the second bedroom which contains two double beds.
Premier Double
A large room with two double beds. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Rooftop Bar
The roof terrace is open seasonally for our guests during most daytime hours. During the evenings, weather permitting, a bar that is also open to the public operates and while guests are certainly welcome, they need to make reservations with the restaurant for a table. On rare occasions the roof is booked as a party space and access can be limited or restricted during those periods (usually just a few hours per event).
Metro Grill
The Metro Grill serves lunch and dinner M-F, dinner only S-S. Our bar and cocktail lounge are open until 11:00pm Sun-Thur, and 12:am F-Sat.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A conference room is available for small meetings or use as a showroom.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 326
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnotherSally
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 4, 2011

They Couldn't Care Less

Staff unconcerned with visitor experience. Free in-room wi-fi never worked, during my entire stay at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Not worth the money

The hotel was rather expensive, but did not feel very friendly, and the amenities were lacking. It was the only hotel I have stayed in in a long time (other than bed-and-breakfasts) that did not have complementary coffee in the room, for example. (Coffee was available down in the lounge, but that is not the same.) There were hardly any electrical outlets in the room - and most of those were full of extension cords supporting hotel devices - I had a hard time charging my phone, Palm, and mp3 player. The elevators were being repaired, and only one was running, which made getting up and down very slow. Staff had obviously been directed by management not to speak to guests. If you tried to make casual conversation with one, they would smile nervously and avoid your eyes. Worst of all, the clock in my room was set an hour fast - which I didn't notice when I set the alarm, so it woke me up an hour early! If there was a way to reset that clock correctly, I couldn't find it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Korean restaurant next door to the hotel is excellent.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Elevator repair!

I have been to the Metro many times..Each time it seems to gets worse..The roof top deck has been closed for over two years..The elevator is still being renovated, which left it with just one working elevator and a service elevator. VERY BAD...If you are in a hurry and on a high floor you might as well forget it.. not sure I will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's very close!

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 1, 2011

ok but expected nicer

From the pictures advertised the hotel seemed ideal. The customer service was good but the room was extremely small and very compact. It was clean and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to many thing and it was easy to get a cab to other parts of the city at a very reasonable price.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 17, 2007

Very good location

The greatest benefit of this hotel is that it is located within a walking distance to many Manhattan sites (Empire State Building among them)and close to several underground stations which makes it very convenient for both business travelers and for holiday makers. Breakfast was good, if not varied, and the dining room was really beautiful with assorted tables and chairs. Our room was small but since we were out most of the time it did not matter. What mattered, however, was the most uncomfortable hard bed that gave both my husband and me a pain in the back. We travel a lot, spending about 5 month of a year on the road, so we have a broad base for comparison. Most of the hotel staff were OK but a few people were unsmiling and unwelcoming. Another unpleasant incident was when we came back to our roon on the Sunday night to find it propped open by a dirty towel - evidently the maid had forgotten to close it after cleaning. When I called the reception desk about it they did not even apologize, suggesting that probably we forgot to close it outselves (?!). I will not recomment it to a friend because I like to stay in friendlier hotels with helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very good shopping at Macy's nearby and 11% discount on almost all items for foreign nationals upon producing your ID.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

great location

Good value for the money. Near Herald's Square. Friendly desk staff. Gave me free upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busy Single Mom Exec
Business
Chicago
Oct 22, 2010

So So but great location

In for work. I was in a smoking room which I think ruined my entire experience. I also didn't realize they would put me in a room with single beds...that was probably my fault for not looking at the fine print. Would have liked the guy at the front desk to ask me my preference. What I really didn't like is the the there were no blankets. Just a sheet and then the comforter which I am assuming never gets washed. It would have been nice to have extra blankets and pillows in the closet. Comforters creep me out ... and with bed bugs these days that was my biggest concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 2, 2009

Convenient but Loud

The windows are so thin they might as well not exist - you could hear every word and sound from the street, especially the 1am garbage trucks, even from the 9th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station and Times Square are convenient.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 15, 2007

Needs some help

The Metro Hotels' roof garden was closed for repairs, the fitness center was closed, two of the three elevators were not working, and the staff was barely civil. A low price, but low performance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2007

midtown business hotel

Nice hotel, but not quite hip enough. Breakfast is good but crowded. Fitness center pretty good. Rooms very small. Convenient location if near meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many many restaurants withing a few blocks walk. Shopping too. Hotel is well located on an unattractive block.

Back to menu Return to top